We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun on the Nantahala”

Rolling Thunder River Company
Ranked #2 of 15 Tours in Bryson City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Rolling Thunder River Company has provided exceptional river trips for almost 40 years. The family-friendly Nantahala River in western North Carolina has become a favorite river for hundreds of thousands of rafters each season. We offer Guided/Follow-A-Guide/Non-Guided options. Family-owned and operated.
Reviewed 3 September 2018

From the ladies at the desk to the bus driver and guides, these folks did an outstanding job to make sure our trip was fun and safe. You could tell they love what they do and do what they love!

Thank jtodd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbye M, Owner at Rolling Thunder River Company, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Jtodd4, we do love what we do and we’re very glad you could tell. Thank for your great review. -Bobbye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rafting trip"
in 32 reviews
"guide assisted"
in 13 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 28 reviews
"awesome pictures"
in 3 reviews
"first timers"
in 10 reviews
"great trip"
in 14 reviews
"other companies"
in 9 reviews
"awesome adventure"
in 5 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 3 reviews
"blue ridge"
in 3 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 10 reviews
"guided raft"
in 4 reviews
"class rapids"
in 6 reviews
"cold water"
in 5 reviews
"the entire staff"
in 4 reviews
"an absolute blast"
in 4 reviews
"can't wait to go again"
in 3 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2018

We get together every year, we live all over the US. We look forward to our 2-4 days together all year. This year, 2018, we decided to start celebrating seeing each other every year by doing something new, sharing experiences and creating memories. This year we stayed in Bryson City, NC and reserved a rafting trip through Rolling Thunder River Company. From the time we called to reserve to the time we got our to the river, we could not have been happier with the customer service, the equipment, the instruction, BUT ESPECIALLY OUR GUIDE, LUJON!! I hope I've spelled that right, not sure as we called him "BOBBY"! (He will understand) Our reservation got added to a different day via a clerical error, but the staff went above and beyond to get us on a trip on the day we showed up, and we were very happy! During the bus ride to where our rafting trip would begin there was a horrible crash ahead of us. "BOBBY" literally entertained us the entire time! During the rafting trip we heard tales from "Jamaica", as well as tales about so much "river history" all of which kept us in stitches we were laughing so hard, because we were NEVER sure whether they were true or just "tales", but TWO things we were sure of was that "BOBBY" was the best guide ever AND we are SURE he isn't being paid enough for what he does! GREAT JOB ROLLING THUNDER AND "BOBBY", WE WILL BE BACK! Debbie, Christine, & Kathie

Thank Curious698243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbye M, Owner at Rolling Thunder River Company, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Debra, thank you! We loved your review and Bobby appreciates your glowing words. Bobbye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Our family had a blast with our guide (Nick) from Rolling Thunder. They make the best out of every situation, are very capable of handling emergencies, knowledgeable, friendly, and welcoming to any first time rafters. We enjoyed our time and can’t wait for our next trip! Thanks Nick-we appreciate your kindness and will see you again soon!
Art & Carrie Miller
09/02/2018

Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbye M, Owner at Rolling Thunder River Company, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Art and Carrie, thank you! Join us again when you can.-Bobbye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

White water rafting for the first time. Had great time. Staff so personable & fun, felt completely safe. Got us in the last minute. Would recommend. Beautiful scenery. Reasonable price.

Thank Auntmimi2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbye M, Owner at Rolling Thunder River Company, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Aunt Mimi, thank you for your kind words of praise for our staff and rafting trip. Glad you had a great time with us. Check us out on Facebook and stay in touch.-Bobbye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

I haven't been White Water Rafting in 20 years. This was a great experience after being away for so long. The guides were nice, funny, and down to earth.
We stayed over night in the cabins. The cabins and bathhouse were dirty and unkept.
Spiderwebs everywhere. But we didn't mind so much and we made it work.
We will be back next summer.

Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbye M, Owner at Rolling Thunder River Company, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Charles, thank you for your review. We're very glad that you enjoyed your rafting trip. We are definitely looking into the issue with cleaning standards that you mentioned.-Bobbye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rolling Thunder River Company also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Rolling Thunder River Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing