We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good, prices reasonable, service could have been better.”

Puerto Nuevo Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 159 Restaurants in Boone
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 August 2017

It was a Wednesday night not too crowded but we had a wait for the food. The fish tacos were very good and the chicken burrito was ok. No salsa was served with the chips or the meal which I found strange for a Mexican restaurant. We never saw the waiter after the food was delivered and we had to ask for the check.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Myrna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

We took a chance on this place in the old Golden Corral building and it really paid off. The large size of the place is a little deceiving in that you might think it is a chain but it certainly does not seem that way. Friendly service, friendly people and the food is nothing short of great. I was pleased with the portions as well as the prices. Maybe most impressed with the prices. They have a nice bar area and I could not complain about anything, really, it was all good. Lots of seafood dishes!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank harpman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

This is a converted Golden Coral that the owners have done a nice job decorating. We stopped for lunch and had the chicken queasadia's. The quesadias were in a large tortilla, but was not pressed closes as we normally have this dish. It came with rice and retried beans. Decent, but not great. The service was prompt as this restaurant was not busy until we finished the meal. Then our server disappeared. The bathrooms and facility were clean and looks no at the kitchen it was spotless and the workers were clean.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank bsorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

we were returning back from another town and happen to land this place in Boone.It had good size seating with bar. It was around 12.30 noon on Sunday and restaurant was 50% full. We ordered Margarita pitcher for 5 adults as it was better than individual drink order.
For food we ordered chicken Fajitas/vegetarian Fajitas
One combo which included special burrito,one mixed tostaguac
and one chicken enchilada.One of the person who was pure vegetarian complained about a chicken piece in her platter.But overlooking this problem food was good and even restaurant manager came and asked if food quality was to our expectations.So service was timely and good and food not so expensive for the quality of food served to us

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ashoksaxena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We ate in and did take out all in one week. The fatjitas were good but needed salsa to make them perfect. My husband love his chicken dish and especially the margaritas. The regular margarita was very good, but the Organic Margarita is perfection.
I had a chicken chimichanga for take out and it has tons of perfectly cooked chicken and my husband devoured his beef enchiladas.
Why not 5 stars: Health inspection score below 93, I believe it was about a 90. Also th booth we sat in had well worn padding that needs to be replaced.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laurel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puerto Nuevo Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Puerto Nuevo Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing