We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are 5-star people, but we LOVED this Inn.”
Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homestead Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 February 2010

My husband and I needed a last minute get-away, so we booked a trip to Blowing Rock, NC. Our main mission was to escape the children and go snowboarding. I was extremely hesitant to book the Homestead Inn, because typically we stay in fancy hotels. Since our trip was unplanned and last minute, we decided to go on an adventure and save a few bucks.

I spoke with the Innkeeper, who guided me to trip advisor. My main concern was cleanliness. After looking at several places, my husband and I decided on the Homestead Inn, almost as a joke...expecting it to be terrible. It was not terrible at all. We loved it.

The Innkeeper looked like a California transplant, fresh off of a surf board. He was more than helpful, and down-to-earth. His wife was on vacation and he was left to tend the Homestead with his three sons, even with that, he was awesome. No lack in service at all.

Our room looked like a grandmother's bedroom, but was IMMACULATELY clean. Big plus. It was unique and cozy. The heating and air was outdated, but in great working condition. The bathroom looked new and renovated, with outstanding water pressure. The bedding was comfortable and clean. There WAS coffee, a coffee pot, a refrigerator, microwave, and flat screen tv...and NO bugs. The room was NOTHING like what we usually book, but it was great!

My husband and I spent our 2 days snowboarding, and our two nights at Six Pence Pub. Everything was in walking distance...except the snowboarding, which was just a short drive. I LOVED the fact that the snow was piled high and the town looked like Christmas in February. We are taking our children back in March for their birthday's, and we will most definitely stay at the Homestead Inn.

Save your money and book here!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mk1amber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 406 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2009

We rode our bicycles in off the Parkway in a pouring rain. The owners were great. They had no problem with us keeping our bikes in the room. The hotel was full. I don't think we saw any other hotels\ motels that were full. One of the other guest even volunteered to drive us out to the main strip to get some beer cuz it pouring and we were on our bikes. Unbeleivably beautiful room ! The jacuzzi tub came in handy after a long day of cycling the Parkway in the rain.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

I and a group I carry on journeys throughout the southeast just stayed at the Homestead this week for the first time. The place is immaculately clean, cozy, and has probably the best location in Blowing Rock. One is steps from anything that matters. For a very modest price the rooms were well appointed with gas fireplace, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, Wi-Fi, fridge, microwave, and a very pleasing knotty pine mountain ambience. The owners know what true hospitality is about and even arranged reservations for eateries which provided very fine experiences in themselves. The furniture is all real wood homey stuff, not your standard particle core hotel furniture. My room had a couple of nice rockers in it. The room was rather spacious, perhaps 14 x 16. The bathroom was small but spotless with nice big fluffy towels and hair dryer. The owner is meticulous about building maintenance and takes pride in creating a little botanical paradise as well. There were many fine blooming plants throughout the little motor court - with a most pleasing sensibility. I recommend this quaint little inn without hesitation and I have stayed in places in 41 countries.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Castleseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We have been staying here for many years for our weekend getaways to Blowing Rock. Caroline and her family are wonderful. We have NEVER had a problem staying here and have always had a wonderful time. Be sure to get a room with a fireplace, they are great. Within 1/2 block of the main street, the Homestead Inn is literally minutes from all the shops and restaurants in Blowing Rock. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BuddhasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

My wife and I stayed here 6/22 - 6/24, $89.00 plus tax per night, we have stayed in many motels in the past 5 years and this was one of the most cleanest places we have stayed at yet, our room #6, had a king bed that was very comfortable, a fireplace that we didnt use, an air conditioner that we did use and it worked very well, also it had a 25" Television and also a DVD player, small refrigerator, microwave, single person jacuzzi tub, phone and was plenty big enough for 2 people, all the rooms are non smoking. When we arrived the nice lady at the office let us see 2 differnet rooms that we had the choice of, the rooms were not musty smelling at all, the inn grounds were beautiful with flowers everywhere and there were even some big tomato bushes there also, to sum it all up, it was a great room with a great price for the area, was walking distance to just about eveything in Blowing Rock and evryone was just as nice as they could be, we will be returning here again and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank terrynnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.8 km away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
637 reviews
0.5 km away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
2.1 km away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.3 km away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
371 reviews
0.3 km away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Hillwinds Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Address: 153 Morris St, PO Box 1030, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9026
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range: $93 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Homestead Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestead Inn is awesome! Rooms are quaint, cozy, and immaculate! Rooms include Highspeed internet fridge, micro, coffee pot,flat screen tv with DVD players, hairdryer. Some rooms have fireplace, and or jacuzzi, efficiency. All newly remodeled rooms for 2011. We are located in a beautiful setting in walking distance to downtown. minutes from the ski slopes and all other Blowing Rock attractions,including the Blue Ridge Parkway We provide a swing, gazebo, picnic table and grill area.We are known for our award winning gardens and flowers. Come stay at the Homestead, your "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing