We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricey but good food”

Stonewalls Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little pricey but good food”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We were one of the few people eating in the restaurant at the time. (It was the "off season" and many of the restaurants in the Banner Elk area were closed. My husband and I both had the strip steak which was "hand cut." Both steaks were cooked exactly as ordered. Our waiter, the son of the owners, was very friendly and made us feel welcome.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mstein2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    112
    60
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad food, worse service”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We ate at Stonewalls tonight. The good: french onion soup, bread. The bad: The jack daniels sirloin steak. Cold and nasty. Tasted like cheap chili powder. The ribs also were awful. If you love ribs covered in cold ketchuplike sauce- this is your dish. The ugly: the service. We walked in at at 625, and got our food at 742. We had three young kids with us! We had to constantly walk back to the servers' area to ask for refills, or our soup... the service was bad bad bad. We left at 823... after waiting forever for our checks... and then our cards. We didn't eat the food or take it home. Not worth it. PLEASE do your family a favor and SKIP THIS RESTAURANT!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“After hearing about the restaurant for years, finally visited and the blackened chicken was the best I have ever eaten.”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Fresh, top quality food, wonderful service, perfect atmosphere

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank packed2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mint Hill
Level Contributor
163 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The Prime rib is world famous”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Prices are creeping up too much for the current economy. Even though we have eaten here for years, we will likely look for places where our dollar buys more. So sad.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good place for a night out”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I'm not sure what "atmosphere" the other reviewers are refering to. It looks ok, kinda like a run of the mill steak house. They always cook the foods ordered to your specifications and provide the diner with a reasonable variety of side options. I've never had anything there that I didn't like. The prices are comparable to other steakhouses. You may be able to get a fancier steak elsewhere, but restaurants that serve fancy steaks are not to be trusted. As any good beef eatter knows, a steak doesn't need much dressing, just a good slap and sizzle! Its the quality of the meat that you taste at stonewalls, not a bunch of junk piled on top to cover up a crummy piece of meat (like some other places in town).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank troutainiousX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stonewalls Restaurant also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Stonewalls Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing