We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pictures don't tell the whole story”
other travellers have booked this property
Watch Ships pass by in the sunset. Ocean and Intracoastal waterway views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Watch Ships pass by in the sunset. Ocean and Intracoastal waterway views.
Only 500 feet from the beach and 900 feet from the club house and championship Golf Course. Large living room and wall of windows offers water views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Watch Ships pass by in the sunset. Ocean and Intracoastal waterway views.
Only 500 feet from the beach and 900 feet from the club house and championship Golf Course.
Large living room and wall of windows offers water views.
Lots of seating and entertainment for the entire family. Austrailian cypress hardwood floors.
View from the Dining room into the living room.
Large kitchen complete with dishwasher, frig.with ice maker, microware, stove, oven, and disposal.
Guest bedroom 1- with Queen bed and twin bunk beds, cable TV, DVD player and X-box video games.
Guest bedroom 2- with queen size bed, cable TV, DVD player and walkout to large porch.
Huge Double size master Bedroom with cable TV, DVD player, walk out to covered porch and Master Bath
Master Bedroom has 2 Cribs and High Chair in closet,
Large and Private Master Bathroom with tub and shower.
Hallway connects guest bedrooms with large bathroom including bathtub and shower.
Lower level has covered porches that almost completely surround the house/many tables and chairs.
Upper floors have covered and screened in porches. Views of ships, Light Houses, Ocean, and Golf.
Brick coblestone driveway leads to the 2 Golf cart garage along with
Screened porch is located for outdoor dining off the kitchen
Beautiful decorations abound throughout the house making it a true coastal experience.
One of many Bald Head Island views of the golf course and ocean.
Maggie\'s Place is very centrally located to bothe the Golf Course and the Beach.
The Non-Denominational Chapel next to Old Baldy overlooks the 12,000 acre Marsh, ideal for weddings.
The Maritime Market has a complete wine and food section along with fresh fruit, vegitables and meat
The market also has a breakfast/lunch cafe that offers sandwiches, coffee, donuts and bagels.
The Bald Head Island Club has a heated pool, tennis and croquet greensward
The Clubs Pro shop offers a 4.5 star 18 hole golf course, driving range, and fitness center
The Club house is only about 900 feet from our home and take only 3 minutes door to door.
The Bald Head Island Club is complete and is perfect for corporate gatherings or special occassions
The Clubs Banquet and dining along with lounge can accommodate hundreds of guests.
The BHI Clubs heated swimming pool has a snack bar for hot dogs, pizza, ice cream and shakes.
BHI playground is fun for the kids and is very close to the house.
The Shoals Club and it\'s heated pool is about 15 minutes away. It also has a restaurant and lounge.
The Shoals Club also has a seperate shallow childrens pool.
The Shoals Club is convenientls located near the beach and provides free chairs and umbrellas.
Bald Head Island provides you with 14 miles of uncrowded beaches. Only 3 miles have homes nearby.
Walkways lead from the Shoals Club out to the Beach and Frying Pan Shoals.
Another view of Maggie's Place to refresh your memory. It is very centrally located.
Wildlife abounds on the island. It is on the migratory routes of many rare and unusual species
Old Baldy is always the center of focus on the Island.
Nearby the Lighthouse you will find the Post Office, Village Hall, Museum and Gift store.
In the Village you will find the Ferry Dock, stores, Eb and Flows and the Pilot Restaurant.
The 18 Hole George Cobb designed Golf Course will provide a challenge to any golfer.
The Island holds many picnics and artistic events year round.
From the porches and beaches local seabirds fly by.
Sport fishing and huge freighter ships go past the Island.
Bald Head Island features 12,000 acres of Marsh that will remain forever natural.
Visit Old Baldys museum at the base or climb to the top where coastal views are breathtaking.
Even the birds find time to take in the sites and to just relax.
Boats are always busy doing their business.
The beaches are great for surf fishing, shelling, and watching the Loggerhead turtles hatch.
Nature tours are provided by the Bald Head Island Conservancy.
You can always make new friends on Bald Head Island.
Even if you come to Bald Head Island Crabby you will leave relaxed and happy.
Bald Head Island has a long history of sunken ships, pirates and buried treasure.
Old Baldy Lighthouse 1817 is the oldest lighthouse in North Carolina.
The evenings afford many beautiful sunsets.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bald Head Island, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ADang2
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pictures don't tell the whole story”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Maggie's Place is a a great place to stay.

The pictures really don't do justice to the actual size of the house. It's a lot bigger than the pictures would indicate. It can easily sleep the 8 as advertised and then some if allowed.

Normally when looking at vacation home pictures they are taken from the top corner of the room to make it look bigger. No need here. The bedrooms take up the second floor and use the entire footprint of the house.

The third floor can easily hold everyone staying in the house and more it's deceptively larger than expected. Almost too much for just four people.

Richard was the perfect host supplying us with hoards of information, actually more than can be digested.

He was in contact with us making sure that we pack everything we needed to enjoy our trip, and when the late season tropical storm came he was in contact to make sure we were ok.

The amenities were as advertised and more.

The BHI club membership was great, a beautiful pool and snack bar and bar made the afternoon a very relaxing time.

Our week unfortunately ended early with a late summer storm that closed the island. But it didn't dampen our trip.

If they trim back some of the trees to open up the view they would be charging double.

An easy distance to the beach and pool. A great time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
Thank you Armand for your kind review. It is amazing how we feel in hearing how much our guests enjoy our home and the island. We get almost as excited as if we were there ourselves.
We constantly try to improve. I have thought about cutting back some tops of trees, but the island has regulations that make cutting trees almost like getting Politicians to behave. We have also realized that cutting the tops of trees on our property would only provide a view of the tree tops of neighboring properties. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Maggies Place was a great place to stay”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Maggies Place was a great place to stay. It wasn't right on the water but that was only a minor inconvience. The house itself was phenominal. It had everything we needed for a vacation from a well stocked kitchen to everything you needed for the beach to babies. It was also very spacious. They provided 2 golf carts in great condition as well as a plethera of bikes for our use. They even have a running stroller for the baby. The house sat a couple of hundred yards from the beach but there wasn't a water view but it was an easy walk to the beach and even easier by the provided golf carts. There were also porches all around the house, one screened in and two others open air. It was very enjoyable drinking my coffee on the porch before anyone woke up in the house on the 3rd floor open air porch. The beach closest to the house is on the west side of the island so the beach faces the mainland. The water was very calm there so it was actually good for the baby. The East side beach was about a 10-15 minute golf cart ride through very picturesque neighborhoods. None of the beaches were crowded at all. The East Beach had nice waves to boogie board or body surf. I think the highlight of our visit was watching the Bald Head Island Conservancy do a turtle nest excavation. There are marked Turtle nests all over the island. They go in and count how many turtles have hatched and release any baby turtles still in the nest. The night we watched they found 39 baby turtles that they then released into the water on the beach. It was very interesting.
Richard, the owner, was also very helpful from emails leading up to our vacation, telling us where to go and what to see. He was also very attainable if there was an issue. I could email or text him with questions and he got right back to me. He was also very good about the property. The AC had an issue before our arrival and he made arrangements for a portable AC to be brought in. He made me aware of the issue before our arrival and then first thing Monday morning a technician was there to fix the system. So overall, I would highly recommend Maggies Place as a place to stay on Bald Head Island

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was great
Liked least: It wasn't on the beach but that proved not to be an issue
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2016
Thank You very much Bob, it was a pleasure having great renters. I am very happy that I was able to make your vacation a memorable one. We had a motor on one of our two central Air Conditioners go out right at the weekend turnover. Getting a part picked up and installed on an island over a weekend is nearly impossible. Luckily our great maintenance crew carry some backup equipment for these special occasions in the way of a portable A/C that sits on the floor of the room. We had our upstairs A/C running the first thing Monday morning. We can't help it when "Murphy's Law" or "Mother Nature" takes over, but we try our best to minimize the problems. Please come back and visit with us soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cher489
Westerville, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The property owner was extremely helpful with communication in advance of the trip. Everything I needed to know about the ferry, house and things to do on the island was provided before our vacation. This made it less stressful and made the trip go smoothly. The house is located near everything and is very easy to get to the beach, club house, store and restaurants. The house was very clean and had enough space so the 6 of us could enjoy some alone time. The golf carts at the house were a luxury convenience and we liked having them to get around. The tram service is excellent also they were always on time. All of the restaurants had excellent food. We really enjoyed the fish Tacos at Mojo and also the pizza was excellent at Delaphinas. I think we took advantage of everything the island had to offer hiking, biking, pool, beaches, food and shops. I would recommend Maggies place because Richard provides all the information you need to have and communicates very well beforehand, We had NO issues with our trip. Wonderful time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The golf carts being included with the home.
Liked least: We have no complaints at all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
askmeanyt...
Rockville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Happy Time at Maggie's Place”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Outstanding support by Richard in the weeks leading up to our vacation, a return to Bald Head after many years away. The morning blog from the Maritime Market was great for information and to get us in the mood. The house was perfect for our group of five--grandparents, parents, grandson. The beach is an easy five minute walk or golf cart ride, depending on which side of the island you prefer. It was a very pleasant vacation, and a happy return to Bald Head Island. Many thanks, and we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable in the house
Liked least: Weather--we were a week too early
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Thank you very much Chris for the kind comments. Our goal is to try very hard to provide our guests with as much information as we can so that they will be comfortable in our home and on the island. we try to treat our guests as if they were friends and family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harveyg42...
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All as represented”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Comfortable even in a monsoon
If there is any question Richard is there.
Did I say comfortable just like home and he gives you access to a great golf course (just don't play 9 holes)
We had a fine time and our dog would go back in a heart beat and so would we.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Thank You, Harvey and Erika. We hope to see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing