We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Choice in Woodstock”
other travellers have booked this property
Lalita's Guest House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lalita's Guest House
Perfect area for morning coffee and a book Bright breakfast nook
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Lalita's Guest House
Perfect area for morning coffee and a book
Bright breakfast nook
Queen size bed
Chill out room
Bedroom has view of Tannery Brook
Clean and efficient
across the street
Back view of Lalita\'s
view from bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Woodstock, Catskill Region, New York

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
123degree...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Well positioned 1/2 house near town and stream”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This stay comprised one house divided into two. Our cottage was Citrus the other Plum. Ours was on the darker side which was good in summer as it was hot. But Plum would have better light . The house is an old weather board and has uneven floors and 12 very steep steps upstairs where 2 bedrooms were. They got very warm but had air and fans although these were loud and the fan clicked and rattled on high speed but OK on lowest setting. The toilet is downstairs so if you have bad knees and a weak bladder this may not be the bets place for you. Downstairs side entry had a table for 4 looking out onto a pleasant triangle garden . But neighbours have noisy dogs which , on our first day barked for over an hour whilst we sat in the garden. Lovely birds visit, again same neighbour has little bird boxes and we watched baby birds being fed, hummingbird and a red cardinal flew by. The kitchen was adequate, no dish washer and sitting room had a comfy couch and arm chair. The TV didn't work due to some code needed and the owner didn't get this fixed during our stay. Basement had a table tennis table but was musty so we didn't use it. The washing machine was coin operated but didn't work when I put money in. The outside furniture had 2 wooden chairs , one fell apart when I sat on it but 2 other wicker chairs were available.. On the plus side it was 75 yards from the local swim hole and 150 yards to the town centre which was wonderful. The place was very clean, beds comfy enough and despite these small annoyances we enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and proximity to town and swim hole
Liked least: Uneven floors and dark lounge room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Hi Janet-
Thank you so much for your feedback and kind words. I inhereted my neighbors and their dogs when I took over the property. I also inhereted the washing machine as a coin op. Coins are usually in a cup -- sorry if they got all used. Time Warner cable changed how they deliver cable. I checked into what was going on, and order the component so there will be no future cable issues. It was more than a code as that would have been an easy solution. I never received a memo from them about needing this piece. But all resolved.
Have a nice rest of your summer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy265
Parkton
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Choice in Woodstock”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The guesthouse was a lovely spot. If you've always wished that you had a Great Aunt Edna who left you her charming Catskills cottage you are in luck! Yes the wood floors slope a little, the doors are not perfectly plumb, and the furniture is not from The Pottery Barn or Ikea- but that is a good thing! What is absolutely lovely is the huge bathroom with a super deep tub and plenty of hot water, the swimming hole a 1 minute walk from the house, and Main Street a two minute walk. You could not be more perfectly situated...great for giving the kids some freedom! The kids enjoyed the Wi-Fi and the cable tv..I enjoyed the babbling brook and shady yard. Linda is an attentive host with an eye on the details!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & Charm...its a tie!
Liked least: Our short stay?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russian-s...
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a Weekend trip”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed at Lalita's Guesthouse over a peak fall foliage weekend in October 2013. The area is just gorgeous. The house is 1-2 blocks from the main street in Woodstock, makes for a nice amble. I also walked around the neighborhood a lot and there are 2 streams within feet of the house. The setting cannot be beat.

I chose Lalita's mainly because she accepted my small dog. I must add that I emailed up to 10 owners, and Linda of Lalita's was one of 2-3 who even responded. From the initial contact, Linda answered my queries promptly and was available by cell. I found her very easy to deal with and would not hesitate recommending Lalita's for a getaway.

The Guesthouse is 2 floors, with the bedrooms on the 2nd floor. Something to keep in mind if you have difficulty with stairs. Lalita's was spotless and showed a lot of care. I would guess a lot of work has been done to the house to get it into shape -- the floors looked recently sanded and the exterior and interior of the house recently painted. The bathroom is a stand-out -- it is a beautiful remodel.

I am not a huge fan of the thrift store furnishings -- although the recliner and kitchen chairs were comfortable. I think the reason I would recommend this for a weekend relates to the overall comfort of the living room/kitchen -- for a longer stay I would prefer sofa and chairs a little more comfy. The beds though, were really nice.

I would not hesitate to recommend to a friend, or to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Furniture could be a little more comfortable
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahfait...
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“immaculate, perfect location vacation rental”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Immaculate, well maintained, perfect location rental, one block from main street, but feels like you're in the country with trails to explore and a nearby brook. Owner very helpful and responsive. Parking right outside, a great deck, well-stocked kitchen. Favorite place to stay in Woodstock. CAn't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, having a house to ourselves, immaculate
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing