We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
22
14
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
14
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhiteface mountaineasy accesshigh peaksloushowerlakesite
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Objective: visit Whiteface Mnt. and nearby river and gorge at slow to moderate pace; relax on motel grounds; included 1 visit to Lake Placid; for a middle-class working family from suburbia

Objectives Met: Lovely pine trees behind motel; picturesque on side and in front (lawn, Adirondack chairs, swingset, flowers, Weeping Willow); refreshing pool 1/2 hidden from nearby road by foliage; not much traffic; picturesque view to the left as one sits outside room.
Room with two beds - clean but not immaculate, small but not cramped, excellent amenity is a very spacious shower that had easy access; pine trees outside bathroom windows, two windows in front open; no fan in bathroom but window opens wide/screen/cool air; air-conditioner; T.V. up high in corner of room, t.v. had good clarity.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Are S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Try to find a place to stay in the Adirondack Mountains in August on short notice - almost impossible. Except if you call The Grand View Motel in Wilmington and ask for the Owner - Lou. He had two rooms ready for us in no time. Beautiful setting, comfortable rooms and great hospitality. Better yet, the Grand View is a bit of a nostalgia trip, back to the good old days of a good road-side motel. Clean as a whistle. You're going to have to know to search the web or try AAA to find it. Not listed on any of the usual hotel search sites, but no matter. Lou and his staff will take care of recommendations for attractions and dining options. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, comfortable and clean
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank RJB060342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015

We stayed one night at the Grand View and were totally satisfied. Our reservation at another local motel had not been kept for us and Lou was happy to accommodate our needs for the night. The room was dated but it was very clean and pleasant. I would recommend this motel if you're in need of a decent place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryReineke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015

My wife and I stayed here this past weekend( Victoria Day in Canada). While the motel is dated it is very clean and the whole facility well kept.
There is an outside pool( not open yet-too early) and Adirondack chairs to sit under an ancient tree and watch the world go by.( Or see Whiteface Mountain just beyond)
We had a Queen bed room and booked their Internet special for May (2 nights $119USD +tax). Lou was very accommodating and we have assured him we'll be back for next season.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twowheelfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2014

My family and I stayed at the Grandview motel this past week, we had a great time, very clean, exceptionally friendly service. The fall foilage was spectacular. Lou the owner is always available to assist., Beautifully maintained property. This place is a must stay. Loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Patrice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews