We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean basic accomodations”
Review of Grand View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand View Motel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Basic roadside motel. Pleasantly surprised to find it very clean & well maintained. Free wifi, refrigerator. Close to Whiteface Mountain which is why we stayed here. Very good restaurant in town too. Basic accomodation, would stay here again.

Room Tip: No frills, but clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2015

Objective: visit Whiteface Mnt. and nearby river and gorge at slow to moderate pace; relax on motel grounds; included 1 visit to Lake Placid; for a middle-class working family from suburbia

Objectives Met: Lovely pine trees behind motel; picturesque on side and in front (lawn, Adirondack chairs, swingset, flowers, Weeping Willow); refreshing pool 1/2 hidden from nearby road by foliage; not much traffic; picturesque view to the left as one sits outside room.
Room with two beds - clean but not immaculate, small but not cramped, excellent amenity is a very spacious shower that had easy access; pine trees outside bathroom windows, two windows in front open; no fan in bathroom but window opens wide/screen/cool air; air-conditioner; T.V. up high in corner of room, t.v. had good clarity.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Are S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Try to find a place to stay in the Adirondack Mountains in August on short notice - almost impossible. Except if you call The Grand View Motel in Wilmington and ask for the Owner - Lou. He had two rooms ready for us in no time. Beautiful setting, comfortable rooms and great hospitality. Better yet, the Grand View is a bit of a nostalgia trip, back to the good old days of a good road-side motel. Clean as a whistle. You're going to have to know to search the web or try AAA to find it. Not listed on any of the usual hotel search sites, but no matter. Lou and his staff will take care of recommendations for attractions and dining options. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, comfortable and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank RJB060342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015

We stayed one night at the Grand View and were totally satisfied. Our reservation at another local motel had not been kept for us and Lou was happy to accommodate our needs for the night. The room was dated but it was very clean and pleasant. I would recommend this motel if you're in need of a decent place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryReineke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015

My wife and I stayed here this past weekend( Victoria Day in Canada). While the motel is dated it is very clean and the whole facility well kept.
There is an outside pool( not open yet-too early) and Adirondack chairs to sit under an ancient tree and watch the world go by.( Or see Whiteface Mountain just beyond)
We had a Queen bed room and booked their Internet special for May (2 nights $119USD +tax). Lou was very accommodating and we have assured him we'll be back for next season.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twowheelfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
1.8 km away
Cadence Lodge at Whiteface
Cadence Lodge at Whiteface
#4 of 9 in Wilmington
42 reviews
1.7 km away
Mountain Brook Lodge
Mountain Brook Lodge
#1 of 9 in Wilmington
301 reviews
19 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
18.5 km away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
125 reviews
18.9 km away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Motel

Address: 5941 Nys Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997-2510
Region: United States > New York > Wilmington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: $163 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand View Motel is located in Wilmington, New York. It has been family owned and operated for 25 years. We are perfectly located between all of the area attractions. You can enjoy magnificent views of Whiteface Mountain from the comfort of your room. We have all of the amenities you would need - A/C, cable TV, large pool, basketball, playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing