We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
45
1
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
45
1
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stunning views the kitchen combustion heater local produce house loo remoteness windy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2019

A trip to Kangaroo Island requires some planning. The attractions are mainly to the west and south of the island. Staying in Kingscote on the north east means a lot of driving. Only the main roads are sealed and some of the dirt roads are heavily corrugated so staying on the western end of the island is an advantage. Kangaroo Beach Lodge is at the end of a 25 minute dirt road on the north coast, towards the western end, but it is worth the effort. 50 minutes to the main Flinders Chase Visitors Centre in the south west. It sleeps eight and is self catering so you have to bring all your own food, but linen, kitchen and toilet stuff are all supplied. The lodge is fantastic. A really great simple design, but the most stunning thing is the view, absolutely fantastic. You are surrounded by wildlife and look over your own Snug Cove. After a day of walking you can come back to the lodge grab your towel and go for a swim at your own beach. Stayed for 5 nights and loved every one. You will love it. One tip, be nice to the property manager.

Room tip: Go with a group and book out the whole lodge, eight people
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Geoff1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2019

Beautiful setting, but the houses don't seem to be maintained as they should be. When we arrived, there were dead insects on the kitchen floor, urine drips on the toilet seat in one of the bathrooms, and many of the dishes had not been washed very well. I rewashed every dish, pan and utensils in the kitchen before using them. A a sliding door came off its track, nearly crashing to the ground. The "road" to the private beach is treacherous, even for a 4WD SUV. There's no air conditioning, and not many screens, so 2 of our 4 nights there were too hot for comfortable sleeping. The caretakers were initially friendly, but when I had a question, the man became surly.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Explore787966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2018

This is the second time that we rented the Lodge. We loved it so much the first time that we returned exactly two years later. This time we rented both the Fides and Headland for a week. The care takers two years ago was a young couple and she was a excellent cook who provided us with prepared meals. This had to be prearranged of course.

The caretaker now was older and the property was not maintained to the same high standards.
Despite this the facilities were excellent and the views stunning.

These lodges are usually rented by families and they did provide a high chair and a portacot for our one year old. However with an open fire in the living area they should provide a fire guard.
The bedroom are quite cold at night and provision of electric blankets would have helped greatly

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
6  Thank Vinod K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We spend 3 days in Paradise at Fides. Although the pictures are fantastic, they still do not do the place justice. It was beyond anything we expected from beginning to end. Everything was easy -- from booking, to arriving and even leaving. The place itself is gorgeous -- very comfortable, plenty of room and all the amenities you could want. The wallabies and kangaroos roaming the grounds are not to be believed, the beach is amazing. We would go back in a heartbeat and recommend it to anyone!!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y3996MJmichaell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2017

7 of us spent 4 nights in one of the beautiful 3 lodges situated above the amazing Kangaroo beach to celebrate my 60th BDay
Pure serenity,your own beach with first class accomadation and nature abounding including Koalas,Kangaroos,possums and birds
Must be one of the worlds best kept secrets we will be back to Kangaroo beach and Kangaroo Island
We got to meet the owners magnificent hosts and a pure delight to spend time with
Peter,Bev and crew

Room tip: 4 rooms to choose from 3 with ocean views
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Prest0n26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews