We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
45
1
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
45
1
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stunning views the kitchen combustion heater local produce house loo remoteness windy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Every review is absolutely spot on and this Lodge and its location went beyond our expectations .
We stayed in The Fides ,one of three perfectly placed over looking the private bay but 400 meters from the others . Beautiful design,well fitted, so comfortable plus the stunning views and wonderful isolation.
We should have booked here for our four day stay on KI as this was proper luxury far superior to Sea Dragon Lodge - see review ( we did two days in each ) .
Do not stay anywhere else it's worth every penny .

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leahellis, General Manager at Kangaroo Beach Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to read your comments. We do hope to see you return one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

The reviews are all true! We had a gloriously relaxing four-day break, and absolutely loved every minute. The design, quality, privacy, comfort, views, and wildlife (including koalas, kangaroos, echidna and an amazing variety of birds) were stunning.

Amy's food was delicious and beautifully presented, and showcased some of the fantastic island produce. The needs of our vegetarian family member were thoughtfully catered for, and Amy packed a generous picnic hamper for the day we drove down to Flinders Chase to experience the Remarkable Rocks and Admirals Arch. Along with Amy, we also really appreciated Ryan's friendly helpfulness, which was never intrusive.

The lodge was incredibly well equipped - we could not imagine needing anything that was not already available.

Arrival tip - We caught the first morning ferry across, and as it was a lovely day we drove down to Seal Bay for a tour of the sea lion colony, and then up to KBL, arriving at 3pm. A really nice introduction to the island.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Soni64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2016

It's hard to know where to begin when describing our stay. We had a huge personal lodge with a large bedroom and bath and a very, very large mixed-use room (kitchen, living, dining). And every room faced the ocean and had large floor to ceiling windows. You are situated up a large hill above the ocean and surrounded by hills used for grazing by sheep, kangaroos, wallabies, and other native animals. It is absolutely and totally private and peaceful. There is no one nearby. We chose to have our meals catered by the lodge's managers and they did a fantastic job and always gave us gourmet meals and too much of them. We wanted for nothing. The lodge is located on an enormous, private farm (which is also managed by the same couple that manages the lodge). It is well off the beaten path and you've got to make a bit of a trek to get there. But, if you want true beauty and peaceful solitude, this is where you'll find it. And, you're not really that far (by car) from the island's attractions. Just beware and don't drive after dark, at dawn, or at dusk. That's when you'll find the kangaroos and wallabies own the island and its roads and when you're very likely going to run into one (not kidding). Unfortunately, the locals have a lot of jokes about what you can do with road kill and if you don't want to do a kangaroo in, stay at the lodge after dark and marvel at your view of the southern sky. Unbelievably nice!

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArlingtonDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leahellis, General Manager at Kangaroo Beach Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Thank you for your extensive feedback, we are so glad our property has created a lasting impression. We do hope to see you return one day.
Best regards Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

A view and accommodation that sustains me until I can get back here again. KBL is truly the very best place I have ever stayed. Amy's wonderful food and Ryan's friendly attention made our stay even better this time. The lodges comfort is only surpassed by that view and the feeling of appreciation of nature that comes from being able to just relax whilst in the midst of the wildness of KI's coast line.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leahellis, General Manager at Kangaroo Beach Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Hello Susan,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are so pleased you had another lovely experience with us and took the opportunity to enjoy our catering this time. Your feedback has been shared with the team. We hope to see you return on another occasion. Regards Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

two nights was too short however did not take away from the outstanding KB Lodges. We stayed as a couple which is quite indulgent and cherished every moment in the stylish and wonderfully located Eagles Nest. We pretty well forgot the rest of the Island on day 2 and happily relaxed and wandered down the hill to the beach which only had our footprints.
Watching the weather coming across the ocean while cosy in front of the fire and a glass of KI Shiraz....nothing much else needed.
This is a very special place with wonderful hosts. Would be as good for family or groups as it was for us as a couple.
Thank you to the owners for sharing such a unique property.

Room tip: Any of the lodges would be great.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews