We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Anne K
Brisbane, Australia

Fantastic! Fantastic! Fantastic!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Dec 2016
Do yourself a favour and just go there!
I had the wonderful opportunity of organising my sister's recent 60th birthday celebration. We all felt so privileged to stay at The Fides at Kangaroo Beach Lodges. Everything about the stay was SPECTACULAR - from the breathtaking view over our private beach, to the beautiful and fabulously equipped 4 bedroom 3 bathroom house, to the delicious meals provided. Nestled above the ocean on a beautifully maintained 8000 acre property, we could have quite happily not moved from this idyllic location. Just go! Anne
Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
leahellis, General Manager at Kangaroo Beach Lodges, responded to this review
Responded 15 Dec 2016
Hello Anne, Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad it was everything you had hoped. I do hope your sister had a 60th Birthday to remember. Please visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
our cabin, hakea
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$111
  • Priceline
28.1 km from Kangaroo Beach Lodges
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    AU$265
  • Hotels.com
60.5 km from Kangaroo Beach Lodges
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
60.8 km from Kangaroo Beach Lodges
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kids' suite
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
34.3 km from Kangaroo Beach Lodges
    64.8 km from Kangaroo Beach Lodges
    Free parking
    Dolphin and Seal Spotting from the Balcony
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    71.1 km from Kangaroo Beach Lodges
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Sky House at night
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    • Expedia.com
    20.6 km from Kangaroo Beach Lodges
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    72.1 km from Kangaroo Beach Lodges
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Gosse
    Reviews (48)
    Filter reviews
    48 results
    Traveller rating
    45
    1
    2
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    45
    1
    2
    0
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    13 - 18 of 48 reviews
    Reviewed 14 November 2016

    Every review is absolutely spot on and this Lodge and its location went beyond our expectations .
    We stayed in The Fides ,one of three perfectly placed over looking the private bay but 400 meters from the others . Beautiful design,well fitted, so comfortable plus the stunning views and wonderful isolation.
    We should have booked here for our four day stay on KI as this was proper luxury far superior to Sea Dragon Lodge - see review ( we did two days in each ) .
    Do not stay anywhere else it's worth every penny .

    Date of stay: November 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Douglas C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    leahellis, General Manager at Kangaroo Beach Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

    Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to read your comments. We do hope to see you return one day.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

    The reviews are all true! We had a gloriously relaxing four-day break, and absolutely loved every minute. The design, quality, privacy, comfort, views, and wildlife (including koalas, kangaroos, echidna and an amazing variety of birds) were stunning.

    Amy's food was delicious and beautifully presented, and showcased some of the fantastic island produce. The needs of our vegetarian family member were thoughtfully catered for, and Amy packed a generous picnic hamper for the day we drove down to Flinders Chase to experience the Remarkable Rocks and Admirals Arch. Along with Amy, we also really appreciated Ryan's friendly helpfulness, which was never intrusive.

    The lodge was incredibly well equipped - we could not imagine needing anything that was not already available.

    Arrival tip - We caught the first morning ferry across, and as it was a lovely day we drove down to Seal Bay for a tour of the sea lion colony, and then up to KBL, arriving at 3pm. A really nice introduction to the island.

    Date of stay: October 2016
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Soni64
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 September 2016

    It's hard to know where to begin when describing our stay. We had a huge personal lodge with a large bedroom and bath and a very, very large mixed-use room (kitchen, living, dining). And every room faced the ocean and had large floor to ceiling windows. You are situated up a large hill above the ocean and surrounded by hills used for grazing by sheep, kangaroos, wallabies, and other native animals. It is absolutely and totally private and peaceful. There is no one nearby. We chose to have our meals catered by the lodge's managers and they did a fantastic job and always gave us gourmet meals and too much of them. We wanted for nothing. The lodge is located on an enormous, private farm (which is also managed by the same couple that manages the lodge). It is well off the beaten path and you've got to make a bit of a trek to get there. But, if you want true beauty and peaceful solitude, this is where you'll find it. And, you're not really that far (by car) from the island's attractions. Just beware and don't drive after dark, at dawn, or at dusk. That's when you'll find the kangaroos and wallabies own the island and its roads and when you're very likely going to run into one (not kidding). Unfortunately, the locals have a lot of jokes about what you can do with road kill and if you don't want to do a kangaroo in, stay at the lodge after dark and marvel at your view of the southern sky. Unbelievably nice!

    Date of stay: February 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ArlingtonDavid
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    leahellis, General Manager at Kangaroo Beach Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

    Thank you for your extensive feedback, we are so glad our property has created a lasting impression. We do hope to see you return one day.
    Best regards Leah

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 September 2016

    A view and accommodation that sustains me until I can get back here again. KBL is truly the very best place I have ever stayed. Amy's wonderful food and Ryan's friendly attention made our stay even better this time. The lodges comfort is only surpassed by that view and the feeling of appreciation of nature that comes from being able to just relax whilst in the midst of the wildness of KI's coast line.

    Date of stay: August 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Susan G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    leahellis, General Manager at Kangaroo Beach Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

    Hello Susan,
    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are so pleased you had another lovely experience with us and took the opportunity to enjoy our catering this time. Your feedback has been shared with the team. We hope to see you return on another occasion. Regards Leah

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 May 2016

    two nights was too short however did not take away from the outstanding KB Lodges. We stayed as a couple which is quite indulgent and cherished every moment in the stylish and wonderfully located Eagles Nest. We pretty well forgot the rest of the Island on day 2 and happily relaxed and wandered down the hill to the beach which only had our footprints.
    Watching the weather coming across the ocean while cosy in front of the fire and a glass of KI Shiraz....nothing much else needed.
    This is a very special place with wonderful hosts. Would be as good for family or groups as it was for us as a couple.
    Thank you to the owners for sharing such a unique property.

    Room tip: Any of the lodges would be great.
    Date of stay: May 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Noel P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews