We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
45
1
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
45
1
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stunning views the kitchen combustion heater local produce house loo remoteness windy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2016

This is truly an amazing place - I can't even describe it. We stayed 5 nights which was perfect - time to enjoy this beautiful house and area and see some sights as well. The peacefulness of the house and area is just amazing - really a place where you can relax, enjoy wine and food.

This is truly a luxury stay - the house is open, bright, beautiful, etc - just like the pictures. The kitchen and living room are totally open with amazing views of the ocean. All the windows and doors are screened so you can open the whole house up and hear the ocean - even from the bedroom. The house is stocked with everything you can think of - champagne flutes, oyster shucker, coffee, tea, fresh bread, eggs from the hens on the farm (you can visit them and feed them too), beach chairs, umbrellas, picnic baskets, yoga mats,etc.

We saw so much wildlife while we were there - dolphins numerous times from the house, sting rays, kangaroos galore (they graze right by the house), sheep, cattle, koalas, etc.)

We picked up fresh food upon arrival to the island (lamb at South Rock Lamb; yogurt and cheese at Island Pure; honey; fresh fish and seafood at Ferguson, fresh oysters, etc.) So we had amazing views, house and food.

There are 2 private beaches - you can hike to both - they are quite a climb coming back up - and you can drive to the main beach. Make sure you rent a 4WD car as the roads getting to the lodge are unpaved. the beaches are beautiful - white sand, clear water (no seaweed). It was a bit cold when we were there but still managed to swim.

Booking was easy and replies to our inquiries were always prompt and helpful. The operators at the lodge are really helpful and are there to help with anything during the stay.

We truly loved this place and can't wait to return one day. It is definitely worth the price and travel to get here.

We stayed in lodge # 3 - the one that is featured in all the magazines and promotions. I do think this one has the best views but we did not get any afternoon sun - just the morning. I think I would want to stay at lodge 1 which is further from the beach but gets the afternoon sun.

Room tip: I think lodge #1 may have better sun exposure even though lodge #3 probably has the best views.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MillerCorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2016

I have just returned form a wonderful 4 night stay here with a group of girlfriends. We rented 2 adjacent lodges and were all blown away by our accommodation and the wonderful views of the beach. The facilities were great and we loved seeing kangaroos right outside our windows. Very comfortable rooms, even a great view from the loo! Enjoyed swimming at the private beach everyday. Well looked after by the caretakers. Hope to be back again soon.

Room tip: All rooms have a good view
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nkwalter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Just spent 4 nights here and already planning to return next year! Having read the reviews and seen the pictures we were anticipating something special, but the reality exceeded all expectations. Amy and Ryan were welcoming and helpful and the accommodation is wonderful. Very well designed and equipped with everything you could possibly need. The drive to the lodges was a bit of a challenge for a nervous driver but definitely worth it. This is our 25th holiday in Australia and our stay at Kangaroo Beach Lodges has to rate as the best experience so far.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

This is special! Wild north coast kangaroo island, secluded beach, well equipped house(brilliant really), fabulous walks to De Mole river, brutal walk to Snug Cove(but wow), kangaroos, Eagles, seals, fish ...and so much visual beauty!
Ryan and Amy, very helpful but discreet. Every little detail,attended to.
The owners share their property with passion and generosity. Our holiday was purchased as fundraising item...3 nights accommodation. Very generous...we will be back to support kindness and because we really loved it. Do it...great for couples and groups of friends.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paspas83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Amazing, what more could you ask for. Beautiful facilities, more than we could ever have expected. The views are amazing and having access to the secluded Kangaroo Beach was fantastic. We experienced one of the best family holidays we have ever had here and look forward to returning with other family so we can share this beautiful experience with them too. Thanks for allowing us to experience all that Kangaroo Beach Lodges has to offer.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B6979BLnatalieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leahellis, General Manager at Kangaroo Beach Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Hello Natalie,
Thank you for providing this very valuable feedback. We do hope to see you return soon.
Best regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews