We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for Family Get-Together with or...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Millhouse Green, Penistone, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
03WJK12
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for Family Get-Together with or without dogs”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

14 of us (age 4-80) and 4 dogs self-catered in this house for Christmas 2016 - there was a large, pretty Christmas tree which was a lovely touch. For such a dog friendly house it was in excellent condition and was very clean/did not smell. There were four rooms with comfortable seats in which to sit and chat (kitchen, dining, living, play), so the different age groups all had somewhere to go. The kitchen has four ovens and plenty of equipment, so preparing Christmas dinner was easy. There was plenty of fridge/cupboard space, so storing things was also easy.There are bar stools and an island, so several people can help prepare food at the same time, in a very sociable way. The dining table is huge. Sainsburys delivered our shopping, but there is an excellent Tesco in Penistone. The beds are almost all king/double, so we had decided which youngsters would need to share beds before we went. The play room is excellent, as is the large garden. The owner cares and when the tin-opener broke on Christmas Eve, a replacement was with us within ten minutes - excellent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartshe...
Thrapston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic luxury house”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed here for my 40th Birthday with the extended family . We stayed for 3 nights. The house is fantastic , luxury bedrooms and bathrooms. Extremely well equipped kitchen with four ovens and two fridges. Lots of TVs some with sky . A great games room with pool table , football table and table tennis table plus a TV with bean bag chairs . Lots of parking in driveway. Massive garden , great views. Owners left wine and after eights for our arrival. I would highly recommend this house to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space for all of us
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic return visit to our favourite place to get together”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently returned home from what I can only describe as a brilliant return visit to Hartcliffe View. For the last 8yrs a group of us have got together for a long weekend and we can honestly say that this is by far our favourite place we have stayed!! So much, we decided to return again this year. There is not a thing the owners haven't thought about. It's truly a beautiful house and a perfect setting for a large group as there's so much space and nobody felt on top of anyone. There's everything you could possibly need and more (See my previous review from our visit in 2015)! The pub is also only a few minutes walk away and the food is great if you didn't fancy cooking!
We are already looking at booking next years weekend here again. I just can't recommend it enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave!!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional House”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

There was a group of 16 of us that stayed here. Every single one of us was amazed by how beautiful the house was. It had everything you could need and more. Luckily for us the weather was nice so we could sit outside and have a BBQ. The games room was probably the most used room i the house, we had some great nights up there. I would definitely recommend to anyone whose looking for a week away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The games room
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah D
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best house we have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Can't fault Hartcliffe View at all! Our jaws dropped when we drove onto the drive and even more when we went inside, it was like living in a celebrity mansion for a week! The kitchen was great and contained everything we could possibly need, the bedrooms were all gorgeous and the bathrooms to die for, especially the huge jacuzzi bath! Amazing views from the top floor windows, and the games room was the star attraction, the whole family loved it. We could have quiet happily stayed in all week and not left the house! Special mention to how dog friendly the property is - as a dog owner this is key for me, and there were toys and treats for dogs and even a letter to the dog containing all the key information you would need. The garden was perfect for dogs, completely safe and enclosed and so big it was like a trip to the park right outside the back door. The information folder provided covered everything you would need to know about the house and local area, even maps of local walks (again great for dog owners). The owners were really friendly and considerate, sending emails and ringing up to check everything was OK, a real personal touch.
Overall we couldn't have found anywhere better for a large family get together, the house is absolute luxury. We have never visited the same holiday rental twice as we like to experience somewhere new, however Hartcliffe View will be the exception as I am certain we could not find anywhere that even comes close, so we will certainly be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Thank you for sharing this incredible review with us all, we are absolutely over the moon that you had such a wonderful time at Hartcliffe View. The owners have obviously done a fabulous job with the place, your jaw dropping reaction says it all! We will be sure to pass your compliments along to them. We shall keep our eyes peeled for your next booking, pleased that Hartcliffe View is the exception to the rule that you don't go back to the same property twice!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing