We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
USD 87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albert Number 6(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
USD 73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanside Motel Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
USD 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Mercury Bay Holiday Park(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
USD 85
USD 50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Admiralty Lodge Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
USD 109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceans Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
USD 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachfront Resort(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
USD 109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
USD 86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Marlin Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
USD 82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
350
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskupe suitedavid dmitrimercury bayevening drinksfreshly baked breadnew zealandstunning viewstui suitedavid hallother guestslaid tablelovely accommodationsperfect balancegracious hostseach morningprivate deckplaces to visit
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

David has absolutely nailed it. The location is simply spectacular, the views mind blowing.

I had my reservations about bed and breakfasts when booking this accomodation online, but as soon as i did, within five minutes of booking the phone call i got, welcoming me for my future arrival to recommending booking my dinner spot for the evening upon our arrival, we knew straight away we had made the right choice.

We arrived to a magical location with spectacular breathtaking sea views infront of us and a beautiful great sized room, high end high quality furnishing's , our own private full bathroom, private lounge and private decking area.

As well as the main areas to relax in, the decor is so superb i would have to say top designers would drool to take in the sheer thought of the layout, furniture and settings.

We were offered canapes and wine on the deck before our pre planned dinner by our hosts which itself was incredible experience.

David recommended a fantastic restaurant which we enjoyed on our first evening as did every other restaurant he recommended.

He planned our days activities based on what we wanted to do, which included detailed driving instructions down to the T which included pictures of the turn offs to take to get to our destinations.

The morning breakfast's were even more spectacular. I am a big boy and i can eat alot just ask david and i was left completely full with all the breakfast options available and david cooked me a breakfast that top rated restaurants in auckland couldnt compete with daily.

The remainder of the stay was much of the same class and service.

I have stayed in fine resorts and 5 star hotels over the years and nothing compares to the level of service, we got at bayview.

I wont consider staying anywhere else should i return to the location on future trips.

Check out that breakfast layout in my below pic, where else in NZ could you get that

I have recommended your facilities to family and friends.

Well done team !! Absolutely nailed it.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank K6815LPjohnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview at 91, Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear John, I was lovely to meet you both and thank you for choosing stay at Bayview 91 Whitianga and we are delighted that we were all you had hope your stay to be and more. It is our pleasure to welcome our guests the way we do, Service, as they say, is an art but when given is a joy to receive and it was our pleasure to assist you during your stay.

I was so pleased you like our Breakfast Service, we feel what we offer from a lovely table setting to fresh fruit salad, homemade bread, choice of cereals, Preserves and local Honey, along with eggs if required, is the perfect way to set off and enjoy all that the Coromandel Peninsula has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you both again on your next visit to Whitianga

Our Kindest Regards David and Dmitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

There is no Bayview at 91 without David and Dmitri, they dedicate all their time and hard efforts into creating a little piece of heaven wherever they go. When we arrived we had drinks with these two handsome men, they were elegant, humble and humorous. Red wine and spectacular appetizers were served, every piece of article beautifully selected to fit the attire of their humble abode. Antiques, crystal glassware, chandeliers and paintings.


Your whole world disappears when you stay with the boy's on the hill. A place to fall in love, listen to tranquil music and observe the ocean as the sun sets.


Breakfasts are an exciting surprise, a table laid out with crystals, fruits, spreads, bread and chef-made breakfasts especially on Sunday's. David and Dmitri have a fastidious work ethic and integrity, they assist and attend to every need of their clientele and make you feel as thick as thieves. I wouldn't want to be anywhere else but here.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview at 91, Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Donna, It was a pleasure to meet you both and thank you for being so kind to review your stay with us,

Our concept is simply we Welcome Guests to our Home and so like all we do, meeting and enjoying time to hear their stories from far Auckland to far distant lands, Our wish is for all our Guests to enter Bayview at 91 for this to be a place of sanctuary, calmness and that their stay to be all they hoped and more. When its time to retire to one of our contemporary suites, that this is a place, which is both private and a place one can relax.

We are so pleased you enjoy your stay at Bayview 91 in our Tui Suite and that we will see you again in the, not too distant future.

Our Kindest Regards David and Dmitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Two charming hosts in David and Dimitri.
Lovely clean rooms and accommodation.
Helpful tips including maps and printed instructions for days out.
Other guests have mentioned the breakfast portions, and while I can understand their comments to a certain degree, it was absolutely fine for us.
Enjoyed the evening drinks with the hosts and other guests.
Thank you D and D.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank yaryar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview at 91, Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you Both for taking the time to review your stay at Bayview at 91 Whitianga, It was a joy to have you stay with us and we wish you both well, Our thanks David and Dmitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

David and Dmitri made our stay on the Coromandel memorable. Our suite and the overall accommodation was of a very high standard and comfortable. David and Dmitri were very helpful in suggesting itinerary for each day. Their hospitality in the evenings enabled to us meet other guests which was great. Breakfast was first class.
A joy to stay here which lived up to its high reputation.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mikeguest57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview at 91, Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Mike, It was lovely to meet you both and thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was, it is always a joy for us to know our guests enjoyed their stay with us and that you found your Suite to be comfortable and the service and Breakfast was of a high standard. We wish you both well and look forward to seeing you again should come back to New Zealand. Our Kindest Regards David and Dmitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Bayview on 91 is a hidden gem located on the Coramandel Peninsula in Whitianga. From the moment we arrived, the utter professionalism of our host was astounding. The room we booked (Mercury Suite) is very well appointed and immaculate. Fully equipped for your every need including a safe, coffee making area, small fridge, seating area and a TV that has a myriad of stations. The bed was a welcome surprise and the pillows sumptuous. Excellent bay and sea views from the room and the private deck. The private deck is right off the suite with very comfortable lounge furniture, so inviting, I wish we had more time to just sit and enjoy the view. The grounds are lush with a variety of plantings to accent the property. The continental breakfast was delicious with a good variety of cereals, bread of the day, juice and really good coffee – barista style. Our hosts provided us with information on activities in the area, distances and recommendations for dinner and then make the reservations for us. The property was exceedingly clean, comfortable and immaculate. Did I mention the happy hour every night for all the guests…. Such a treat to unwind after that busy day. Our host, David Hall is also a travel specialist that can provide you with all of your travel needs (I wish I had found this our prior to our trip). If we go to New Zealand again, Bayview on 91 will definitely be on our itinerary. Highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Mercury Suite is great if you are on the go. For longer stays try the lower fully equipped apartment
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CalgaryBonnie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview at 91, Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Bonnie, It was a joy to meet you both and to hear that you had a lovely stay in the Mercury Bay Suite, we thank you for the time to give us feedback on your stay and are delighted that you found all aspects of your stay from your suite to the service and Breakfast to be an enjoyable experience. Our goal is to enable our guests to feel welcome for their arrival to their departure, that their suites be a place of solace to unwind and relax in the comfortable surroundings. It's our pleasure also to help our guests to see the very best of the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula and assist with local dinner reservations.We wish you both well and look forward to seeing you again some day - Our Kindest Regards David and Dmitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews