We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Admiralty Lodge Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
USD 112
USD 109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfront Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
USD 111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
USD 90
USD 87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 197
USD 173
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albert Number 6(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
USD 75
USD 73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachfront Resort(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
USD 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Oceanside Motel Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 100
USD 97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Oceans Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
USD 105
USD 102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Marlin Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
970 Lonely Bay(Whitianga)
USD 422
USD 410
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
314
27
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
27
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbath househidden valleyfire pitglow wormsswimming holeoutdoor bathspa poolwaterfall walknative forestwalking trailsmagical placecommunal kitchenhidden treasuregreat escapegravel roadcity lifewonderful hosts
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

I don't give places a 5 star rating but this place deserves it. Friendly owners. Something very special. I will definitely be going back. For a romantic chill out stay this is it. Some nice short walks and a number of relaxing areas to sit and relax.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank martinaud37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbaumi, Owner at Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi Martin. Thanks so much for the 5 star review... that is really something! Look forward to your return. Cheers Debbie @ Wairua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

What a true magical place it is. Walking trails, swimming holes along a beautiful river, fire pit with Adirondacks with wool and a big jar of marshmallows to roast. a communal kitchen and living area open to the outside to meet other fellow travelers, hot tub and more. The owners are great people and there for every need. They helped us in planning our days to places we would never had found on our own, special beaches, restaurants down roads you would never think of. Your breakfast orders were ready every day....man I am going on and on. Why? because I would say if you are in the Coromandel area you have to stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms are small, but very comfortable. They have kitchenware, toaster, plates, cutting boards and a refrigerator. We were very happy there.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbaumi, Owner at Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi Dana. Thanks so much for the great review. We loved having you both here! Great to hear that you enjoyed Wairua and the Coromandel so much... it is a magical place with lots of hidden treasuers - like Wairua! All the best to you and Sharon. Debbie @ Wairua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Warm welcome, wonderful introduction to the lodge facilities and trails by Debbie. Rooms and bathrooms with everything you need and more. This is a very special place and I smile every time I think of it. The communal kitchen and indoor/outdoor eating areas worked so well and we enjoyed our interaction with a Dutch couple, an American couple,and a German couple.
Talking around the open pit fire,late into the night,roasting marshmallows, searching out the glow worms, watching the night sky,we found fun and friendships.
If quiet solitude is what you want then the lodge will also suit,the grounds are extensive and swimming holes inviting, Trails are short but set you amongst lush vegetation and towering trees.Nearby is the Kauri Grove and Wairua Falls both worth visiting. I am still smiling, a very special experience.

Room Tip: Equally excellent
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnHatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbaumi, Owner at Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

HI there Lynn. Thanks for the great review! So glad you and Steve enjoyed Wairua so much. Must say, we smile when we think of you both! Was so nice to see you both making the most of the place and connecting with the other guests who where here at the time. Hope your venture works out! All the best to you both & hope to see you back! Cheers. Debbie & Ernst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

A beautiful location, a warm welcome, and a chance to get in touch with New Zealand's natural side. Swimming in a river, scrambling up slopes. An amazing bathroom looking into the forest. A superb communal kitchen. Informative owners. Breakfast of your choice with delicious home-made bread delivered to your room and can be eaten in the garden. Extensive DVD library. All this more than compensates for a slightly scary drive (at least, it was for someone from Southern England!) .

Room Tip: 4 rooms all seem very similar facing the front.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nigelf632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbaumi, Owner at Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hi there Nigel. So glad you both enjoyed Wairua so much and got out there and did all the exciting things on offer. All the best to you both. Cheers Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

A unique and magical place surrounded by nature with super-helpful hosts and well-equipped cabins. Home made bread and local honey among wide range of breakfast choices. I particularly liked the swimming holes in the river which were both large enough for proper swimming and much less cold than anticipated.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbaumi, Owner at Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Hi Steven. Thanks for taking time to do the reviews. Really appreciate it! Glad you enjoyed Wairua and all it has to offer... all the best to you both! Cheers... Debbie & Ernst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews