We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
62
70
25
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
70
25
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews twin room the kitchen across the road hot water beach private rooms are family room cathedral cove beautiful beach two nights living area free wifi town centre self contained unit new zealand beds were comfortable coromandel peninsula a great stay
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Had a great stay with friends in the very spacious and well-appointed Family Room. Really clean and comfortable, unlike the usual backpacker places. Location is very convenient - right across the bus stop if you're coming off the Coromandel Adventures/Mana Bus service or boarding the InterCity service. We took 15mins to walk to the town centre but it's a super easy, flat and pretty relaxing walk parallel to Buffalo Beach. The Four Square and New World supermarkets are the nearest to OtBBL. A relaxing place, atmosphere was chilled out and not rowdy at all. There's a 20NZD deposit (cash only).

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

We had a twin room in a unit where we shared a kitchen and bathroom with only 4 other people. Cleaning staff were amazing and our place was spotless. Friendly and efficient staff...thanks Sue and Sally. Sure enjoyed our stay with you.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ananda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Very pleased with the clean and tidy apartment - 2 bedrooms, well equipped private kitchen and spacious lounge with TV. Bathroom was adequate.
Our room was at the front of the complex with lovely sea view, car parking right at the door, and free WiFi.
Limited hours to access laundry each day as staff washing hostel bedding etc. Lots of machines so could see no reason why they shouldn’t allow guests to continue using a couple of them.
Otherwise everything was ideal... although I have to say the manager was inclined to be a little abrupt in her manner and came across as unapproachable. Power went off in our room so we went to reception to check if they were aware, and she was clearly stressed and snapping at guests. This aside we would perhaps give it another try if we were in the area.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joanieoanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

I had booked a double room with shared bathroom and kitchen, and got upgraded to a ensuite room, which was very nice surprise, since I had a little flat for myself. The staff is really nice and helpful. The ensuite was clean, quiet and well equipped. The garden is really nice, with beautiful plants and flowers around the buildings. The only shortcoming is that wifi was really bad and kept disconnecting so if you really need to access it (like I did to plan the rest of my trip), it can be an issue...on the overall I'd recommend this hostel.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 335paulinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

This was a great place we stayed in Whitiangi, and it was also the cheapest on our whole trip! Some other places we stayed at were twice the rate and had less to offer. We had a family room with two bedrooms. The room/appartment was spacious and very well equipped. Easily the best equipped kitchen! And I love that they encouraged recycling! Located right across the road from the beach, the only downside is that you have to cross the road. Parking can be a little bit tricky, and if you're unlucky, you might have to park on the grass curb by the hotel. We had a downstairs room, which suited us fine. There's a BBQ you can use, but since it's a YHA, expect everyone else to be cooking their own dinner too.

Room tip: Have your dinner early to avoid having to queue for the BBQ!
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kiwigirl341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews