We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
124
84
13
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
84
13
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peppermint trees bush setting glamping tents camp kitchen camper trailer recreation room great playground clean facilities great facilities ablution block great spot ensuite cabin playground for kids boat ramp campers kitchen local knowledge powered site
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent three nights in a well supplied and comfortable ensuite cabin that could sleep 4 so we had lots of room to spread out. It was very well stocked with supplies, including salt/pepper, tons of coffee/tea/sugars, and even cookies! The kitchen supplies were very adequate and included 'sharp' knives which was a bonus! The pots were in good shape. We had a barbecue supplied for our needs which did require a good cleaning by us before we used it but we were glad to know that this is not acceptable and management made note of same. The bed and pillows were comfortable and lots of blankets were supplied for the cool nights. Towels were thick and fluffy and I appreciated the face cloths which is becoming a non-item in some places. It's wrong! Lovely bath mats too. The park is well tree'd and seems to be very popular. Nice beach. Short ride to local attractions. We would highly recommend!!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoalmineBeach, Owner at Coalmine Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the ensuite chalet & Park. Thank you too for bringing to the attention of our team at Coalmine the condition of the BBQ. Thank you too for mentioning those little touches which can make all the difference. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We stayed for the last week of summer school holidays. It was the first time camping for the kids. They had a ball. Great facilities, beautiful campground. Well protected from the southerly winds. The kids also saw wild kangaroos which they loved.
So nice we've booked for the same time next year

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoalmineBeach, Owner at Coalmine Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Wonderful to hear you will be coming back again next year. We hope it is the start of many happy family memories at Coalmine for you. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Had a 4 day break here in our camper trailer. If your after lawned completely flat bays, don't stop at coalmine, but if your after a nice leafy park, with lots of trees around for shade, that bring in the magpies, kookaburras and kangaroos this is the spot. Ablutions are adequate, several clean bbqs around, great playroom/tv room with ping pong table, kids playground that was very popular. Fire pits in every other bay, with wood available in the on site shop.
Walpole is a 2-3 km walk away through a scenic walking trail. We walked the Knoll scenic drive, about 4 km trip, which starts and finishes just outside the park.
Weekend was fairly busy in the park as it was around Australia Day, but was very quiet midweek.
Had a look at the knew glamping tents. Very nicely set up, family tent has 4 bunks, queen bed , lovely bathroom and kitchenette. Very roomy.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lalapurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoalmineBeach, Owner at Coalmine Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you for your informative and very comprehensive review of our Park. As you point out, our Park is set in the bush and provides an authentic camping experience with a few creature comforts. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

In an age where kids are obsessed with technology this is our yearly 'technology free' getaway.
There's never been a complaint from the kids about the 'no technology rule' (9 and 12) as they're too busy riding their bikes around or hanging out and having conversations, yes verbal conversations, with new friends that they've made.
We've watched the kids become independent and enjoy the simple things, like giving them a couple of $ and saying ride up to the office and pick out an ice cream or the excitement when we say ok lets head out for some fishing or a quick dip in the estuary.
Staff are great and this was our 7th year in a row, hopefully our kids, when the get older ,have their own kids and will say to them "I remember when we were younger we used to go camping, we should do it".

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jarradjohn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoalmineBeach, Owner at Coalmine Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our Park. During the holiday season, it is a wonderful place for kids to find their own adventures and have a little independence. We love getting to know the kids when they come up to the shop for ice cream, ice and bait. It is the simple things as you say. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

I hesitate to write this as I would like it to remain a huge secret but credit where it is absolutely due. The 6 person luxury eco tents are a triumph. The ensuite bathroom is huge, with waterfall shower, and you can overlook the inlet while you brush your teeth! Kitchenette is small but has all the basics. The idea is to prep and cook food over in the nearby shiny new camp kitchen which is very well kitted out. The deck was large which for our family of 4 was perfect for drinks in the evening. The lamps and throw rugs were super cozy. Towels were fluffy and the linen was crispy and fresh. These are only newly opened and i hope they keep up the high standards. Congratulations on your great innovation and I hope it's a huge new drawcard for your park.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Alisom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoalmineBeach, Owner at Coalmine Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

We are so pleased you decided to share the secret of our Luxury Tents and are glad you appreciated some of the finer details. It is our aim to maintain them at the level you valued. Our vision was and is to provide families and individuals with the opportunity to experience camping with a little bit of luxury thrown in. Please come and stay again and thank you for such a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews