We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great spot and good food ”
Review of Thomsons

Thomsons
Price range: USD 4 - USD 37
Description: Thomsons offers a fresh and exciting approach to Rottnest dining. We are proud to be Western Australian and showcase all that is great about WA produce. We source local wherever possible supporting WA producers and suppliers. We have a seafood focus, however there are great food options for all, including those with specific food requirements.
Restaurant details
Description: Thomsons offers a fresh and exciting approach to Rottnest dining. We are proud to be Western Australian and showcase all that is great about WA produce. We source local wherever possible supporting WA producers and suppliers. We have a seafood focus, however there are great food options for all, including those with specific food requirements.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Managed to bag a great table at the front overlooking the bay to watch the comings and goings. Had some sharing plates which were tasty (except the flavourless quinoa salad). Not over the top outstanding but tasted nice, washed down with some cold lager after 16km cycle it was most welcome. Shame you can’t drink outside on terrace but I understand why not. There are other restaurants on the island but this one appealed the most.
The pizzas looked good but we were having Italian that evening so didn’t have one.

Thank IncognitoJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, Manager at Thomsons, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear IncognitoJones,

Thanks for taking the time to review us at Thomsons. We are glad you enjoyed the sharing plates and some cold beers, just what you need after a 16km cycle! Patrons are welcome to enjoy a drink on the outside areas with the exception of the seating directly opposite the children’s playground which is not licenced. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

A slightly more chic restaurant/bar right by the ferry pier at Rottnest. Great views over the harbour, from inside but especially from the verandah.
I had the prawn cocktail and a side of fries. Both good.
Gets busy but service is efficient.

Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, Manager at Thomsons, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Sarah,

Thanks for posting your review and pictures on TripAdvisor. We are a very busy venue and its often tricky to predict the busy times.

We are pleased you enjoyed visit and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Had a great lunch. Awesome views.

Ordered steak and it was not cooked right, we let them know and they handled it really well. Within minutes we had the steaks cooked perfectly. I find that If a solution is found and I am treated well with any problem I will always come back again.

The wines are great with a very heavy emphasis on WA local wines which made me happy. We stayed and lapped up the view and the great weather. Very clean place and I enjoyed it a lot.

Rottnest island is great. Look at the view from our table in the attached pic.

Thank CultOfOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, Manager at Thomsons, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear CultOfOne,

Thank you so much for your detailed review. We understand we may not get it right every time but we will certainly always try and rectify any problem and ensure that our customers leave happy and wanting to return. Service is very important to us and we are glad that you felt looked after.

We pride ourselves on sourcing locally and sustainable and showcasing WA produce to our customers in this magic location.

Thank you also for uploading your photo.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We try hard to support local business but I was very disappointed to find that in just 4 months from our last visit thompsons has deteriorated. Last night I ordered food asking specifically for no sugar or gluten in our food etc. I then ordered the mussels thinking they are safe from gluten etc . How disappointing to find that the tomato sause the basis of the mussel stew had sugar added to it. How to ruin something so simple. It was really sweet.

My son ordered the calamari and even the breadcrumbs had been sweetened. The ginger soy dressing to my asian slaw also had sugar in it.

We try hard to teach our children about good food so to corrupt everything with sugar is in my view unacceptable.

Thompsons please try and provide healthy food options without sugar added. Good food doesnt need that.

You have the best view in town and helpful staff so please keep an eye on that.

Thank aussiebrititalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, Manager at Thomsons, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear aussiebrititalian,

We are so disappointed to read your review and understand that you were not happy with our food. We certainly do not add extra sugar to any of our produce. Over the previous 4 months our kitchen team has remained unchanged still managed by our same Senior Chef team.

We apologize that you did not enjoy your food. We have discussed your comments with the team and thank you for sharing your opinions about sugar. We would encourage all our customers who have very specific dietary requirements to talk to us at the time of ordering so we can assist and provide the information you need on our menu. We are able to alter any dish on our menu or offer a suitable alternative.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We lounged in a lounge on the deck with a bottle of Pinot Grigio and a cheese board. Great venue, food is good (not brilliant) and we’ll price for a tourist hot-spot and wine list good too. It’s a go to place on Rotto.

Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, Manager at Thomsons, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Warren,

Thank you so much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are please that you found our food value for money. We try hard to provide customers with great prices despite the costs of operating in such a challenging location. We welcome all guest feedback and will try hard to ensure you find the food not just good but brilliant, when we welcome you back next time.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thomsons also viewed

Rottnest Island, Cockburn
 
Rottnest Island, Cockburn
 
Rottnest Island, Cockburn
Rottnest Island, Cockburn
 

Been to Thomsons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing