We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too slow on busy day ”

Rottnest Island Pedal and Flipper
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Wish we had booked the bike with the ferry. It would have been cheaper and we not wasted 45 mins in there queuing with just 2 staff on. And we were lucky. We had headed straight there from the ferry. Others who had dawdled were queuing out the door. Seemed an antiquated system of payment/ manual bills etc.

The bikes were good and easy to ride. Saddle uncomfortable so get a seat pad I wish I had!!

Well worth having the bikes, just not sure would do again from here.

Thank IncognitoJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rottnest_Island, Manager at Rottnest Island Pedal and Flipper, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your review Incognito Jones.
As you haven't stated the date that you visited I am going to assume you visited on a day when 3 staff called in sick. We were therefore short staffed and acquiring replacement staff is very difficult logistically on an island. I do apologise that this impacted your experience. There can always be a wait when, at times, several hundred visitors arrive in a queue. Than you for your patience.
We are glad that you liked our bikes and the ease of riding. Hiring from Pedal & Flipper does give you the opportunity to hire gel seat covers and other numerous additional items that are not offered elsewhere. We hope you hire a gel seat cover when you next visit Rottnest Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"electric bikes"
in 6 reviews
"pre book"
in 4 reviews
"staff member"
in 4 reviews
"ferry company"
in 4 reviews
"upon return"
in 2 reviews
"flat tyre"
in 2 reviews
"hotel rottnest"
in 2 reviews
"rent a bike"
in 2 reviews
"within minutes"
in 2 reviews
"the bus"
in 4 reviews
"gel"
in 9 reviews
"helmets"
in 20 reviews
"locks"
in 6 reviews
"brakes"
in 4 reviews
"equipment"
in 5 reviews
"tie"
in 3 reviews
"battered"
in 3 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

None of the bikes have baskets. Most of the bikes have a basic rack behind the seat and old bike tube tires are provided to use as tie down straps. You might want to bring a backpack.
Also, if you do have a bike helmet - bring it - the helmets have seen better days.
However, the service at the Pedal and Flipper was great. Adam was amazing. While I was faffing around at the desk deciding how many days I wanted the bikes, Adam smiled warmly and said "we want to make sure you are happy". Wow...fabulous service at Rottnest ..... that's rare. Keep an eye out for Adam.

Thank IBenevolentDictatorI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rottnest_Island, Manager at Rottnest Island Pedal and Flipper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback.
We don't have baskets on our bikes as when we do, we can only fit half the numbers of bikes into our shed, therefore running the risk of no availability for our visitors. We do, as you have pointed out have old tyre tubes available free of charge to assist riders to tie their backpacks to rear rack of the bike.
You are correct that our hire helmets look less attractive than people personal helmets. The helmets are included in the hire price and are sprayed after each wear with a tea tree solution to cleanse them. Picking one up after spraying make lead to hirers thinking they are 'sweaty'. They are replaced after each busy season or alternately when deemed no longer safe.
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback regarding our staff member Adam. We do appreciate you taking the time to include this. Your feedback has been passed onto him.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Maybe we were lucky cause it was an overcast Sunday, but we got off the Sealink ferry and went straight to the hiring desk with only one couple in front of us in the queue. We had booked online. Staff very friendly but rushed and I would have liked a saddle height adjustment and, being inexperienced, didn't think to ask. You choose your helmet from a huge array, none of which seemed to be in good shape and all of which looked grubby. Staff on return of bikes were very friendly, but again, rushed off their feet.

Thank cliffordchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rottnest_Island, Manager at Rottnest Island Pedal and Flipper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

We do get busy when the ferries arrive and visitors arrive all at once. Thank you for your patience.
Our helmets whilst not as pristine as a personal helmet are replaced annually or prior if damaged.
Spraying our helmets after every use can lead to some smudges on our helmets unfortunately.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rottnest Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

My partner and i personally had no problems hiring a bike. We went to rotto for 3 nights and hired bikes for one day which we thought was plenty long enough. On arrival at 8:30am there was no queue leading us to collecting our helmets and bikes within 5 minutes. A $50 deposit per bike and then $30 hire for the day. Choose a comfy seat unless you have a bum used to bikes! You can purchase gel seats also.

All in All brilliant service and i personally thought the quality of bikes were more than adequate. Just the helmets, definitely need a change

Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rottnest_Island, Manager at Rottnest Island Pedal and Flipper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

A number of our 'extended stayers' do welcome the comfort gel seat covers when riding for several days whilst staying on the island.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rottnest Island very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018

In summary, hired two bikes for a day and must of missed a ferry drop off time as walked straight in! Easy to complete the necessary tasks to book out bikes. Bikes were good but helmets were battered and disgusting - In need of replacement. Would use again in future for $30 per bike.

Advice to readers:
> Probably do book online or if not, lookup ferry arrival times and get your bike in-between! When you arrive, go and get a coffee, then get your bikes! Also get bikes on a cloudy day as this is nice and cool to explore island.
> Honestly think you only need one day to explore the island as its not that much of a trek. A good accomplishment if you make it to the other end! Just get the bus the other few days as you can then focus on swimming, chilling out etc.
> Pick a helmet that fits well and doesn't look like it's been dropped or battered as these will most likely be useless in an accident. After being dropped and battered, the internal structure which is the vital part may be broken but is completely invisible.
> GET A COMFY SEAT OR PAY EXTRA FOR THE GEL SEAT.
> The mountain bikes have a good range of gears with a very low hill climbing gear.
> Upon getting the bike, try and change through the gears just outside the shop to make sure everything works as planned. If not, phone the call out service! You've paid for it!

Good points:
> Quick, effortless setting up
> Large selection of bikes (we went for the hardtail Giant bikes)
> Fairly priced with instant call out option
> Bikes in good working order. Girlfriends bike had slight issue of gear changing but with biking knowledge, soon sorted this out.
> Friendly staff with a smile

Points to improve:
> In desperate need of new helmets. Most are battered, icky and just disgusting.
> Probably clearer explanation to customers of what sort of bike while suite the island. If you have clear signs, most questions will be covered which will let staff get on with their job!
> Support the Island in providing clearer signs and navigation throughout the island. This is an optional, but will possibly increase customer satisfaction.

Thank Jankoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rottnest_Island, Manager at Rottnest Island Pedal and Flipper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Jankoos
Thank you for your comprehensive feedback which I will endeavour to respond to in order.
With regard to your helmets, whilst they are not as attractive as a personal helmet they are checked and disposed of if they are damaged. They are also sprayed with a tea tree solution after each hire to ensure cleanliness, and are replaced annually unless damaged.
Thank you for advising that hirers should test bikes prior to riding off for the day. Our Terms and Conditions of hire state this.
Thank you for the great feedback regarding our staff. We appreciate you taking the time to include this.
As stated above, you may have picked your helmets after they had been sprayed leading you to describe them as 'icky' or disgusting. The spray cleanses and disinfects the helmets.
All our bikes are suitable for island conditions.
Did you have a copy of our "Essentials Guide" which includes a map and other relevant information for getting around the island.

Again thank you for your great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rottnest Island very soon.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rottnest Island Pedal and Flipper also viewed

Rottnest Island, Cockburn
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
Rottnest Island, Cockburn
 

Been to Rottnest Island Pedal and Flipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing