We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
33
15
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
15
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast toast yogurt tea and coffee friendly hosts national park stirling range self serve ensuite room access door a great place to stay beautiful property stay there again stayed for nights alpacas homestay lounge
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was just a room with ensuite. There were 12 rooms in this large purpose built bed and breakfast. Breakfast was in the form of continental well maintained in large dining room with TV and lounge.
Rooms were very small no chairs and lighting was poor. Ensuite was small but adequate ... you had to ask for hairdryer.
Rooms were clean and quiet, parking right outside own access door on to verandah. Very convenient.
Overall good value for money but no extras.
Enjoyed the farm animal experience.

Room tip: Take a back room if possible no noise.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rayanne_10, Owner at Rayanne Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your review it was lovely meeting you both, and it looks like you got home safe and sound:-). we have a large variety of rooms from budget rooms at $88 (the one you had) to large self contained rooms at $120, but can I please remind you all, that when you book through visitors centres, they add so much commission on, and then a credit card charge, it is not a true reflection of the value for money as the customer ends up paying way more than the rack rate, so if you can always book direct. Safe travels and we hope to see you back in WA again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our friends booked out Rayanne as our home for the weekend for a wedding at Alkoomi winery in Frankland River - $80 per night gets you honest country hospitality. The owner ear lovely and the grounds nice and quaint - donkeys, geese and llamas wander around the grounds. Was nice to sip a beer on the verandah as the sun set. The decor is typically country motel from the 1980s with hilarious pink carpet - biggest downfall is the thin walls. Extremely thin walls - you can hear EVERYTHING in the rooms adjacent.... And I mean everything! Breakfast was simple but reflective of the warm hospitality. Walking distance to town.... All in all a pretty good place to stay. No frills

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camerachameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just returned home from our first visit to Mt Barker and a stay at Rayanne Homestead. What a pleasant surprise to stay somewhere that rates highly in every area. Owners were helpful and welcoming, the premises, spotless and nothing was too much trouble. Price was very reasonable with no need to take anything but your clothes. Just take one thing extra, the resident black muscovy duck would love you to pack a loaf of bread, he is awesome, very tame, and loves to be fed.
Looking forward to our next visit, well done Rayanne Homestead!

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rayanne_10, Owner at Rayanne Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed being in Mount Barker. The muscovy has now taken up residence under the mulberry tree , looks like he likes jam with his bread :-). Safe travels and we hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is situated on the road to Porongurup National Park just out of Mount Barker so that you avoid the noise from the road trains which pass through on the Albany Highway. There are 10 rooms arranged around a central courtyard. The whole place is in immaculate condition, neat, tidy and well maintained and the owners are friendly and helpful. All the rooms have a door to the outside and one onto the central passageway and also a communicating door to the next room. The rooms themselves are small- just about adequate for a double bed, which was extremely comfortable,and a shower room. There is however, a lounge with coffee making facilities and TV which is available all day and where you serve yourself with breakfast. Our only reservation about this accommodation is that it could be very noisy – the walls are very thin and the central corridor allows the easy transmission of sound throughout the building.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedTeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rayanne_10, Owner at Rayanne Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hello RedTeds and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, it is very much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and discovered the beautiful Great Southern. Safe Travels from all of us at Rayanne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just a short message to register our disappointment and at times disgust during our stay on the 11th and 12th of October for the wedding we traveled to mount barker for we enjoyed the premises the place was clean and tidy but unfortunately the hospitality left a lot to be desired. The way one of our family members was treated and spoken to at different times was totally unnecessary. It left a very sour taste after what should have been a most enjoyable weekend I will not stay there again and would not recommend it.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janicewilliams2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rayanne_10, Owner at Rayanne Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

We were most surprised to read your review and are more than happy to reply. You booked a room for three people and were charged accordingly. During the course of the afternoon we counted 12 people on the premises who were not guests at Rayanne, most of whom used your room to shower and change. Yes 12, that we know of. You brought children onto the property who were not guests and then left them running around the road side of the block, and we were the only adults making sure they did not go onto the road. The youngest being about 4. You then smuggloed two children into your room to sleep over at night, and then brought them into the guests lounge for free breakfast, only when I asked who's children were they, did it become apparent they were sneaked onto the property. At no point did any one come to reception to tell us about the extra guests, or offer to pay for them, or the other people you allowed to use our facilities. Throughout all this we kept cool and handled the situation politely and respectfully. At any time we could have reasonably asked your party to leave, but endured your total lack of respect so as not to spoil the brides day. We are very happy that you will not be returning to Rayanne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews