We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jeff S
Perth, Australia

The dark 70s

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 July 2017via mobile
A last minute change meant we needed a place in Kalbarri for the night, in school holidays! This was one of the only places available so we took it.
Friendly greeting on arrival. Then we entered the time machine (our villa) and went back to the 70s. Dark timber, old kitchen, old lounges, a wooden floor upstairs (noisy), an old bathroom, original 70s bed lights and furnishings.
We weren't cooking which was lucky because if the cutting board and microwave were an indication of cleanliness, we were in trouble.
The place was so dark and gloomy even with all the lights on.
All the towels had multiple holes in them.
Anyway.... the location was great and we walked to dinner and back, then fell asleep with the sound of distant surf.
At 7am we were woken by the sound of burnouts and fighting from the council housing over the road (not the villas fault), followed by a lawnmower guy who turned up to mow lawns at the villas well before checkout time.
Overall.... we were lucky to get anything at all, but if I'd booked this exact villa for a family holiday I'd be VERY disappointed.
Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$206
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$186
  • Agoda.com
    AU$171
  • Hotels.com
    AU$206
0.8 km from Kalbarri Reef Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$134
  • Vio.com
    AU$146
0.3 km from Kalbarri Reef Villas
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$367
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$367
  • Expedia.com
    AU$349
  • Hotels.com
    AU$354
4.9 km from Kalbarri Reef Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Kalbarri Reef Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
POOL
StayForLong
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
0.9 km from Kalbarri Reef Villas
Free parking
Pool
Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Kalbarri Reef Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.3 km from Kalbarri Reef Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Solar heated pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.1 km from Kalbarri Reef Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.1 km from Kalbarri Reef Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.4 km from Kalbarri Reef Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kalbarri
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
13
23
9
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
13
23
9
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of days in my holiday.
The hotel is very clean and close to the beach.
The pool is amazing as well.
And the lady on the reception is very polite and helpful.
I would definitely come back.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2016

The villa appears to be designed to avoid direct sunlight presumably to keep the villa cool, however, it also did not have closing windows, just slats which tilted but did not seal on any windows. It was windy when we stayed and the wind whistled through from back to front moving the curtains.

Downstairs the ceiling is dark wood and the lights had to be on during the day but with only 3 wall lights they didn't offer much light. The building facing the road had shrubs to provide privacy, which is a good thing, but they were tall and dense so prevented the light entering. The stairs are open tread which may not be great for small children?

I spent a long time choosing where to stay and had read about the kitchen not having full sets of items, so was prepared for that. The oven took a long time to heat up, and eventually we took turns standing next to it pushing the door so it closed. The villas were full so something must be working, my choice was price driven so maybe it is the cheapest? There was far more accommodation in the town than I expected from searching online.

Given a choice we would have moved, but we had paid for 2 nights so got through it. If you are passing through for a night and not spending much time here, then it is fine.

On a positive note, a dirty towel was changed quickly with many apologies, the wifi was great, the pool looked good although we didn't use it, it was walking distance to the IGA store, it was walking distance to the Pelican feeding and the River front.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank txdch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We enjoyed our stay in the Reef Villas. Value for money was there but there is definitely room for improvement. For example, shampoo would be nice and daily replenishment & cleaning of the villa. I also agree with other reviews that downstairs was way too dark during the day. There must be some way via a modified skylight to brighten up the place. The main bedroom also had a large wardrobe that got in the way when I was moving to my side of the bed. WiFi was also rather hit and miss at times - not sure why? The place could definitely do with a face-lift. But the staff were very friendly and helpful. The poor manager though seemed a little run off her feet and hard to get hold of at times. Overall, if you are on a budget it would be a place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank wesleyb326
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Beautiful garden it seem to be in a real jungle, full of coloured parrots and other birds.
The apartments were big. The location is very good to visit the Kalbarri National Park.
The fully equipped kitchen was comfortable. The staff was really kind.
Unfortunately the bathroom was not so comfortable and the house not so clean.
Anyway I seggest it as a quite good accomodation to visit Kalbarri.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OspreyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Accommodation is a 2 bedroom townhouse in a complex of 9.
Very friendly management, no charge for laundry, free wifi in room, Foxtel & pool all situated in a tropical garden serving.
The river is a short 100 metre walk & pub is a 5 minute walk down the road. Local IGA supermarket around the corner.

Room tip: All rooms have good facilities in kitchen / dining / sitting area
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews