We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
25
8
3
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
8
3
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camp fire denver jennifer creek shearing track camping power australia sites corrugated fossils van
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2020 via mobile

When we arrived, we loved this place. The surroundings are amazing. This is a true Australian experience. We loved the horses, goat and dogs. In the evening the owner took us out to show some neighbouring kangaroos which was awesome.

We stayed in the family cottage which was pretty outdated. Some maintenance is really needed. We nearly died of the heat: it was 43 degrees and in the living room the air-con did not work properly (only blew out warm air) and in the kitchen there was no air-con. The two bedrooms in the cottage did have pretty decent air-conditioning, but not nearly enough to cool down the rest of the house. The third bedroom that was adjoined to the cottage did only have air-conditioning between 7 PM and 9h30 PM. This all resulted in a temperature higher than 40 degrees in the house. The pool was a good one to cool off in, but it was not very clean.

If you are a clean freak: don't go here. I am definitely not one, but even I felt necessary to wash all kitchen supplies before using them after giving the sink a proper cleaning. Some kitchen equipment did not work like the toaster and oven.

I did not fully comprehend that you need to clean the whole place before leaving, I thought that cleaning was included in the price.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank 749inger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jennifer blake, General Manager at Giralia Station Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Thank you for your review. You mention you were looking for "a true Australian experience", unfortunately part of that Australian experience in February can be drought, cyclones and high temperatures which equals dust and heat. You might have noticed that we have had a lot of bush fires on the property, therefore, when the wind blows, dust blows with it! We did notice that you had the windows open in your accommodation at the same time you had the air con going which is probably why the air cons didnt work properly!! No, there isnt an air conditioner in every room - you just have to open the door from the lounge to the kitchen to let the air con flow through Im not sure what you mean by no air con in the third bedroom, maybe it wasnt plugged in? The oven and the toaster both work! We have just repainted the pool at Christmas time but we cant stop the dust and dirt blowing in to it (perils of summer in the outback). Re having to clean the accom when you leave, I think you will find that most self contained places require you to leave them as you found them. We're not asking anyone to do a full on clean, just wash and put away dishes and sweep the floor. Maybe it would have been a good idea to have done a bit more research before your trip, that way you would have known that February in the outback is extremely hot and dusty (even without the fires). I ts such a pity you didnt mention these issues when you were here talking to us, instead of waiting till you left and then going on social media. If you had told us, we would have tried our best to rectify the problems. The last thing we want is an unhappy guest. Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the heat!! I hope your trip down South was cooler for you and this experience hasnt put you off our wonderful Australian Outback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2019

We towed our van from Goulburn NSW across the Nullabor thru mid WA and up the west coast to Giralia Station. This is red sandy spinifex country and used to be a huge sheep grazing property. Owners Denver and Jennifer Blake are typical 'no problem' type people from the bush. Nothings is too hard. My partner and i took the role of Camp Hosts and met so many people around the camp fire and at the pictures in the shearing shed. Beach sites great, fishing was sensational. Loved doing a few farm jobs whilst there. Very relaxing. Reading books. Huge star filled skies at night. Warm days. Gotta go back. We visited Exmouth town, Ningaloo reef, Coral Bay and Onslow whilst staying at Giralia. Some phone & WIFi available in places. Thanks Denver & Jennifer. Missing you both.

Room tip: This is a farm stay for camping and vans. Not a 6 star hotel. Does have single rooms for a night or 2
Date of stay: June 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2019

DON'T GO
Hi this place is not up to standard. The beach is about 28 kls away from the farm stay we were put next to the shed and our solo panels would not work,and we were told no generator as other vans were very close.

Date of stay: August 2019
3  Thank hooksey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jennifer b, Owner at Giralia Station Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2019

Dear Hooksey,
Im not sure what sort of standards you were expecting? We are accredited by the Tourism Association and have regular inspections from the Health and safety department. Yes, the beach is 28 kms away from the homestead (as advertised). You were specifically put behind the shed because you asked to be out of the wind. We did not say 'no generators' and we also offered you free power for 5 hours. And as I recall, we gave you your money back. Have a wonderful trip around the rest of Outback Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2019

Great place. Wish we had known about it before as we would have stayed a couple of days. Very friendly. Hot showers and clean toilets. $12.00 per person. Walks, old shearing equipment and sheds. Can drive to beach and also camp there.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Rocky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2019

we stayed overnight with friends so didn't really experience all of what is on offer. We were able to watch the AFL in the shearing shed on a huge screen with a comfortable lounge and a cold drink in hand.

Date of stay: April 2019
2  Thank Munrodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews