We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Youngmargaret
Hampshire

Dreadful room but great kitchen

Review of Ningaloo Lodge
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 June 2023
The room we stayed in was frankly awful. The first thing that hit us was the smell of unwashed bedding. To be fair, the sheets were clean and fresh but goodness knows when the cover was last washed. The room itself was very small, the carpet stained and the bathroom flooded whenever the shower was used. No shower gel, just a bar of soap and no hair dryer. The soap dish was scummy and the bathroom cupboard scruffy. Although there were two bedside tables, there was only one bedside light. Walls were extremely thin. The wifi provided in the rooms was poor but there was better connection in the communal areas.

Why then, is the rest of the property such a contrast? The kitchen facilities were the best we've come across with exceptional cooking facilities and a wide range of oils, herbs and spices provided. There was tea, coffee and milk readily available.

The communal areas, especially the outside space were comfortable and pleasant.

Unfortunately, though, it's the room you sleep in that matters the most. We were planning to return for one night after a trip to the Karijini National Park but cancelled and stayed elsewhere. It was to be our last night in Australia and there was no way we wanted to spend it back in Ningaloo Lodge.

I can't help wondering if this was a former back packers' hostel? If so, the rooms desperately need upgrading to be worthy of a lodge.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Ningaloo Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.6 km from Ningaloo Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Ningaloo Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Ningaloo Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Osprey Holiday Village Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Ningaloo Lodge
Free parking
Pool
    14.0 km from Ningaloo Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
      43.3 km from Ningaloo Lodge
      Beachfront
      Bar/Lounge
      Go to your Happy Price
      • Agoda.com
      0.5 km from Ningaloo Lodge
      Free parking
      Pool
      The Creek
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      88.9 km from Ningaloo Lodge
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Exmouth
      Reviews (257)
      Filter reviews
      257 results
      Traveller rating
      67
      111
      47
      23
      9
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      67
      111
      47
      23
      9
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews games room rooms are small communal kitchen communal areas air con own meals great kitchen great facilities laundry wifi appliances
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      10 - 15 of 257 reviews
      Reviewed 12 April 2023 via mobile

      Although the rooms are small and basic the other facilities compensate. And if you are anything like us you'll only be using the room to sleep after energetic days snorkelling Ningaloo marine reserve.
      Every small detail has been considered. Full stocked communal kitchen with so much provided. Economic laundry. Plenty of spaces, indoor and outdoor to hang out.
      This was my second visit and I thoroughly recommend.

      Date of stay: April 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank eastland
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 20 December 2022

      The rooms are simple and the outdoor area is a gorgeous, shaded haven full of beautiful animal murals. When at the Lodge, my boyfriend and I spent most of our time by the pool relaxing or having a swim. There is a fantastic and well stocked kitchen if you want to cook for yourself.

      This place is also much closer to town than other resorts and we could comfortably walk wherever we needed to go without hiring a car.

      Date of stay: December 2022
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank sophiebergs
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 5 November 2022 via mobile

      Outstanding, really great value but comfortable accommodation whilst on a dive trip to Ningaloo reef.
      Perfect accommodation in all respects. Great facilities, comfortable, friendly staff and ideally located. Couldn't fault anything really. Well appoinoted kitchen, multiple key appliances, induction cooktops. Really well appointed. Rooms comfy, beds good, aircon tops, shower hot, so no complaints. Highly recommended.

      Date of stay: November 2022
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank W6287PHmichaelp
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 16 October 2022

      Great, unfussy, clean and tidy resort. Really well equipped kitchen and dining area. Smart and cool separate TV lounge and games room. Friendly, helpful no dramas staff. Short walk to the metropolis of Exmouth town. Yes the rooms are rather basic, but have air con and en suite bathroom with shower. No it doesn't have a restaurant or bar but then neither do they have hordes of drinkers or music playing into the evening.

      Date of stay: October 2022
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank RobbieThomas
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 15 September 2022

      Whilst the outdoor area is very nice, lots of tables amid the greenery and a very well equipped kitchen for food preparation the rooms are tiny and in need of updating. You could hear people in neighbouring rooms talking and using their bathroom facilities.
      There really wasn't room to put suitcases and no kettle and cups in the room. I felt quite claustrophobic.
      We were quite disappointed and felt it was more backpacker accommodation.

      Date of stay: August 2022
        • Location
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank AllanJane_11
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews