We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you are going on an adventurous holiday.”
Review of Potshot Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Potshot Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Ningaloo is one of the best places to snorkel or dive with Whale Sharks, watch dugongs and whales or just snorkel in crystal clear lagoons. The Pot Shot is a low key but well laid out place with pools, bars, burgers, and things that make a lazy tropical adventure fun for the whole family. There are other more expensive places around Ningaloo, but the reasonably priced ones lack the atmosphere and facilities of the Pot Shot (although they are probably quieter at night) and the chic Eco-lodge, while beautiful, is so astronomically priced that I suspect one's fellow guests would not be nearly as fun as those at the Pot Shot.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pickytraveller1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for Potshot Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 203 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed here with our two young kids for 3 nights. The 2 bedroom units are spacious with a back/front and bbq. Also a pool close by which was great for the kids. Aircon in both bedrooms and main room. Servicing of the rooms could have been a bit better but at least she knocked on the door both mornings to ask if we needed anything. Perhaps the cars with big boat trailers etc could have an allocated part of the car park away from the rooms as we found we constantly had to park a bit away due to inconsiderate boat owners. Otherwise all good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Lovely location and ambience, sat outside on the deck which had table service. the waitress that served us was very attentive and friendly.

BUT whatever you do don't order the curry. We ordered a lamb rogan josh and a beef madras and the waiter commented that you couldn't tell which was which when he put them on the table but that the chef had assured him that they were different meals. Guess what they both tasted and looked the same - very dissappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank MnMWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

It would be fair to say that we were very disappointed with the initial room assigned to us on checking in at the Potshot. It was a Homestead room. These rooms are built out of corrugated metal and arranged in blocks. They are fairly small, dark inside and the furnishings look well used. Our room was clean but that did not offset the initial disappointment. It felt like Cell Block H!

We guess these are primarily for itinerant workers rather than holidaymakers/tourists.

We paid to upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment which was much better. The restaurant food was OK but the layout and furniture was canteen style. There was space and plumbing for a washing machine in the bathroom but it looked as if it had been removed.

The Potshot caters for a variety of guests so ensure you book the type you require.

We ate at Pinnochios, an Italian restaurant a short drive away. The food was very good. Please note the portions are big enough so that two people could share one starter and one main course.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

I would try somewhere different if I returned to Exmouth.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Iantravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed at Potshots for 1 night then across the road at Ospray for another 3 nights. The rooms @ Potshots are ok they are clean but the bathrooms need more attention, I think they may be wiped rather cleaned, surface clean I would call it. Tea/coffee available, no hairdryers!!
The air conditioner is so loud, even with ear plugs I couldn't sleep.
Across the road at Osprey we paid an extra 25.00 per night for exactly the same room but it had a spa, which we didn't use as the bathroom really needed a good scrub. Dirt and grim in the shower and on the floors and walls, and no space for toilitrey bags. No hairdryers.
When we asked the about the vertical blinds that were missing slats they came and hung a sheet over the window making it hard to get in and out of the sliding door.
The staff at the reception are very good and helpful and the pool bar/ and restaurant are fantastic for meals and late night partying.
They do accommodate for backpackers as well.
These motel/apartments are ok .
They had air conditioners which are more updated and quite good, bedding was fairly good.
The staff at the front desk are very good and helpful

Room Tip: Right in town and the pool restaurant is great
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ducati748af
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
4.9 km away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
795 reviews
3.1 km away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
2.0 km away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#4 of 6 in Exmouth
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
152 reviews
36.4 km away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
1.1 km away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potshot Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potshot Resort

Address: 1 Murat Rd, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: $134 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Potshot Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer Exmouth's premier holiday accommodation, come and relax at the Potshot Hotel Resort where we can cater for all your holiday needs. Choose from our 1, 2 or 3 bedroom deluxe Osprey Holiday Apartments, 2 bedroom standard self contained apartments, standard or budget hotel rooms or choose our Backpacker style accommodation featuring single, double, twin, family or dorm style. The Potshot Hotel Resort caters for all. Enjoy a relaxing Beer in our front bar named after Cyclone Vance which completely destroyed it in March 1999. Open from 11.00am to late 7 nights per week. Full TAB facilities, Pool Table and Jukebox available. For a more relaxing feel, our Pool bar is the place to be. Sit back in the glorious sunshine, or in the shade beside our pool or take a dip. Dine on the deck area and enjoy full table service from our friendly staff. Enjoy a Stone Grill which is an exciting new dining experience. Our restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 365 days per year. Our on site bottle shop is open 7 days per week for all your take away needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Potshot Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potshot Hotel Exmouth
Potshot Resort Exmouth, Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing