We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mike C
Los Angeles, California
Great Lodging for Exploring Ningaloo
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Aug 2023
We are an American couple who stayed at the Exmouth Escape for 6-days in May 2023. It was our first visit to Australia and we were eager to experience the most fascinating Ningaloo area. According to tourist guides, we used Exmouth as our home base to explore the Cape Range National Park and the coastal waters. The Escape definitely suited our needs and we enjoyed our stay very much.

Our one-bedroom apartment, with a porch area, was very spacious and clean. Although our stay was not during the hottest summer months, the air conditioner still provided much comfort. Having the washer and dryer was a plus - we were able to wash and (mostly hang) dry our clothing and gear from daily trips and excursions. Our busy tourist’s schedule did not allow much time to cook. Thus we never used the BBQ. We did use the kitchen for breakfast and some lunch preparations, as well as putting together side dishes and salads some evenings for dinner. What did we have for dinner? Half of the 6 nights we ate at the on-site Whaler restaurant, the other nights we had leftover from the huge entrees from the Whaler.

Yes, the Whaler restaurant was worth writing home about. They served large portions of quality dishes, including outstanding seafood. The Whaler took up the center the Escape’s grounds and had a fabulous setting next to the pool. We were glad to have enjoyed three dinners and one lunch there.

The whole Escape property appeared to be nicely managed, from the tidy grounds to prompt housekeeping. We had good exchanges with the staff, most of whom were young foreigners working in Australia. We got good support and advice in several areas – pick-up and drop-off of our rental car, daily loans of beach gear and cooler (Eskie), as well as check-in and check-out.

The location of the Exmouth Escape was not exactly in the middle of town. When we first arrived, it took us 35 minutes to walk to the grocery store in the central part of Exmouth. The closest place to get dinner would be a 10-minute walk to the Whalebone Brewing Company’s outdoor dining area. After picking up our rental car, it was much more convenient to go to town and beyond. From the Escape, it was a 40-minute drive to reach the Milyering Visitor Center of the Cape Range National Park. We loved these trips to the Lakeside beach just beyond the visitor center. On days when we were on guided excursions, the operators’ bus pick-up at the entrance to the Escape was straightforward. We were able to have good conversations with fellow visitors while waiting for these bus pick-ups.

All in all, the Exmouth Escape was a perfect lodging choice for our visit to Ningaloo.
Date of stay: May 2023
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Pool
Vio.com
AU$377
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.8 km from Exmouth Escape Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$132
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$132
  • Vio.com
    AU$132
  • Agoda.com
    AU$132
1.2 km from Exmouth Escape Resort
Free parking
Pool
Osprey Holiday Village Pool
Booking.com
AU$238
  • Priceline
    AU$238
  • Vio.com
    AU$79
  • Expedia.com
    AU$238
2.0 km from Exmouth Escape Resort
Free parking
Pool
The Creek
Booking.com
AU$156
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$156
  • Agoda.com
    AU$156
87.5 km from Exmouth Escape Resort
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
82.4 km from Exmouth Escape Resort
Free parking
One Bedroom
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.0 km from Exmouth Escape Resort
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.2 km from Exmouth Escape Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
42.3 km from Exmouth Escape Resort
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.4 km from Exmouth Escape Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Exmouth
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
907 results
Traveller rating
575
244
52
23
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
575
244
52
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whalers restaurant deluxe villa washing machine car hire outdoor bbq excellent place to stay the kitchen on site restaurant self contained bedroom unit pool area definitely stay here again in town great restaurant stayed for nights family holiday visiting exmouth
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 907 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2023

Very clean, contemporary and spacious apartments.

Well designed - nice walk into town but has all the creature comforts of a modern apartment.

Pool was lovely and the restaurant served amazing local food in good portions.

Lots of space to entertain with our large group.

Ample parking and very safe.

Would definitely stay again and highly recommend when visiting the town.

Room tip: There is a clothes line on the side of each villa.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank charlene_veverka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Exmouth Resort, General Manager at Exmouth Escape Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

Hello Charlene, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and it was a memorable one! We hope that you are able to stay with us in the future here in Exmouth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2023

I was looking forward to staying at Exmouth Escape Resort as it was the only place that I had booked for our holiday that had an onsite restaurant. The restaurant prices were a bit expensive for dinner, but we ordered some items from the poolside menu to take back to the unit and these were a bit cheaper. The food was quite yummy and the portion sizes were reasonably generous.
The two- bedroom unit was comfortable for our group of 4 adults. We stayed for two nights and did a trip to Yardie Creek and a whale shark swim with Three Islands Whaleshark Dive which was awesome.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Travel4me070
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Exmouth Resort, General Manager at Exmouth Escape Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2023

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we are so glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay! There is so much to see and do here in Exmouth. The restaurant is a separate entity from the resort, but we will make sure to share your feedback with the team as well. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2023

Disappointing, Appalling,
We go to Exmouth every year for our family vacation, and we always stay at Exmouth Escape as it has always been clean, tidy and comfortable, but my god hasn't it gone downhill in the past 12 months.
First impressions when you drive in are good, well maintained and tidy, but when it comes to the unit the sink wasn't clean, there are stains all over the couch, the rangehood literally had fat dripping of it (we had to wipe the stove and clean the splash back before we could use it), the cupboards are in disrepair, there were potato chips and fingernails under the cushions, the exhaust fans need cleaning in both bathrooms and the outside lights don't work.
Other things we noticed was the electric frying pan needs to be thrown out and replace and the floors need a good clean, I had my son go around with the dustpan and brush and sweep up the dead cockroaches.
The office staff are good and happy to help except one, a blonde lass with a foreign accent, she thinks she is better than she actually is and needs to open her mouth when she talks and not through clenched teeth, we did not eat at Whalers this time as the menu is now getting too expensive, but I have no doubt it would be the same high standards we have experienced in the past
Summary,
Exmouth is always enjoyable, but it was the accommodation that was the downfall and definitely needs a revamp for the price. We will always go back to Exmouth but will look at alternative accommodation elsewhere.
Thank you.

Room tip: The grounds and quiet and safe for families with young children
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank joffa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Exmouth Resort, General Manager at Exmouth Escape Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2023

Hello Jeff,

It is lovely to speak with you again.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we are sorry to hear that you feel this way about your stay, and we appreciate your feedback.

We do pride ourselves on offering our guests a memorable stay here in Exmouth and doing our best to assist with our guest’s needs, this is including booking once in a life time tours, offering car hire to see all Exmouth has to offer, as well as assisting guests with fun and family friendly self-guided tours that can be done all around Exmouth.

The mentioned state of the villa you have provided are not within the resort’s general high standard of cleanliness nor customer service that we provide.

It seems that we did not have any of the mentioned issues or complaints noted to reception upon your arrival nor during the entirety of your stay, nor during the interactions that did incur with reception, which leads to question the integrity of some of the photos and the time during the stay they were taken.

If there are ever any issues as mentioned upon arrival or any other issues that we may assist with during your stay, please feel free to contact our reception office immediately or please come in during our office hours and one of our lovely staff members will be here to assist right away and to make sure your stay is an enjoyable one.

Additionally, we do not appreciate you publicly insulting one of our staff members. The owner of this resort does not take this too kindly either and this can be seen as defamation to character to our lovely staff members who have gone out of their way to assist with your general inquiries and booking you into local tours and even were able to offer these tours at discounted rates for being a guest at the resort.

We do feel that we have provided a quality experience and have held up to our standards, however we will make sure to share your concerns with our housekeeping supervisors to ensure that our standards are being met at all times and we are able to offer a quality experience to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2023 via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom unit. It was clean & well maintained, parking onsite, with its own washing machine & dishwasher. Even though the resort was full, our room, 24b, was quiet. We stayed for 10 days, longer than most visitors.

The room is self contained, with linen & towels changed every 3 days, which is fine with us. Excellent beds, pillows, & shower. There is a table & BBQ at the front of the unit. The 2 bedroom unit has 2 bathrooms.

It’s a 5 minute drive to the centre of town. As far as I know bus groups to it aren’t common. No water views but not far to those.

The place may attract groups of visiting fishermen who could be noisy, but we didn’t have that problem.

Our only negative is the poor standard of recycling, there are only three bins, which are quite hard to find, and do not allow for separated recycling of cans & paper.

Whaler’s, the onsite restaurant, looks nice & is pricey.

Definitely would stay again.

Room tip: Ask if there are any groups staying at the resort so you can ask for a room away from them. You might want to take your own groceries.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mark_in_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Exmouth Resort, General Manager at Exmouth Escape Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2023

We always enjoy hearing what our customers have to say, Mark! We’re glad we could be of service and appreciate the kind words and we are glad to have provided a memorable experience!

Unfortunately, there are not a lot of options available in Exmouth for recycling at the moment and the closest recycling center is in Karratha. We do pay additional for our recycling bins on site to provide better options for our guests and to help ease the strain on the environment. Unfortunately, at the moment it is only offered for aluminum cans, glass, and plastic bottles, but we look forward to new recycling options coming to Exmouth soon! If there are ever any issues that we may assist with or if you are in need of anything during your stay, please feel free to contact our reception office or please come in during our office hours and one of our lovely staff members will be here to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2023

What an amazing way to end a long and tiring work trip. Well appointed cabin, super clean and comfortable.. The shower was perfect! The kitchen has everything you could possibly need plus there is a BBQ too. The staff have amazing customer service, so friendly, efficient and knowledgeable.

Was truly a pleasure to spend a night here.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tartlet_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Exmouth Resort, General Manager at Exmouth Escape Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2023

Hi Tartlet77,
Greetings from Exmouth Escape Resort. Thank you for your lovely review, we appreciate your feedback and are very happy you had an amazing stay with us.
We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
The Exmouth Escape Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews