We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday”
Review of Whalers Restaurant

Whalers Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 17 - USD 33
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Whalers Licensed Restaurant is located amongst the landscaped gardens of the Exmouth Escape Resort. We offer the perfect relaxed dining experience to complete your visit to Western Australia's world famous Ningaloo Reef. A la carte breakfast and dinner is available. Liz Minniear and executive chef Paul Minniear have owned and operated Whalers Restaurant since 2007. In early 2014 they moved the restaurant from Kennedy st to the Exmouth Escape Resort where they can now offer a more comfortable, modern and lush setting for their diners' pleasure. They continue to pride themselves on fresh, honest flavours and source the finest local seafood, steaks and produce available. Live music is a regular feature at the restaurant with solo or duo acoustic acts playing on the deck while you enjoy your meal. Whalers also caters for functions including Weddings, birthdays and business functions which can be catered for off site or at the restaurant.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Went because of great trip advisor reviews. I thought the restaurant was good but not great. I know the choice is limited but felt the oysters were not the best and the fish was over cooked. Would still recommend but not too have too high expectations. As others have said the restaurant is too hot and could do with air con upgrade.

Thank 68foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 88 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Went to Whalers for a birthday dinner. They asked for the occasion when we booked but this was not acknowledged at any point of the meal in any way, shape or form so not sure why they needed to know this!

Anyway, when we arrived, we were eventually seated by one of the staff who pulled herself away from a conversation with another staff member to serve us. After quite a while, she returned to take our order. We ordered one entree and two mains and were sitting in the restaurant for nearly two hours from the start of our meal to the finish. Incredibly slow service. The restaurant was incredibly noisy too, made it hard for us to chat.

On the plus side, the food was delicious. Couldn’t fault the flavour at all.

Five stars for food, one star for service.

Thank MarnieinMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth M, Owner at Whalers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear MarnieinMelbourne,
Thank you for taking the time to review Whalers. I am so glad to hear that you found your meals delicious and enjoyed the flavours created by our chefs.
I am sorry to hear that the service was off that night and you had to wait so long for your meals. While it is not in our nature to make excuses we were experiencing some major staff shortages that evening with our floor manager and 2 kitchen staff absent due to illness. This was terrible timing considering how busy the long weekend was and the staff on the night did their best to keep up.
While we are not a fast food restaurant we do pride ourselves on timely, professional and friendly service. I do hope you get the chance to visit Exmouth again to have a more satisfying experience.
Liz Minniear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Whalers Restaurant is located onsite of the Escape Resort. Reservations are recommended. The staff are excellent and made our last night at the resort most memorable however, they were not aware that we were leaving the following day.

We ordered the garlic foccacia grilled with tomato basil salsa and Parmesan and the seafood medley that was for two and added the porterhouse steak. There definitely was more than enough for two people but we wanted to try the “Australian” seafood and beef, it was amazing. The young lady that took care of our table even suggested a non-alcoholic beverage that would give me the “Australian” drink experience and I must admit, the drink was excellent as I had three. I appreciated that she took the time to provide me with this drink option.

We had a table outside and to the side where the plants were and it was perfect. It gave us a bit of privacy. This was a perfect ending to a perfect trip.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrannyAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth M, Owner at Whalers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback GrannyAC. We are so please you enjoyed your night and service provided. We wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Had a great meal with family and friends....great food and service even though it was a busy night (good friday)...

Thank Aln49KBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth M, Owner at Whalers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Happy to hear you had a great night out! Thanks for taking the time to review us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We had been warned not to go hungry due to wait times. The food was great when it arrived, however it took 1h 45min from the time we ordered.

Thank Ronstocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whalers Restaurant also viewed

Exmouth, Western Australia
Exmouth, Western Australia
 
Exmouth, Western Australia
Exmouth, Western Australia
 
Exmouth, Western Australia
 

Been to Whalers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing