We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Quality Accommodation”
Review of Aiyana Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aiyana Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent 3 nights are the Aiyana Retreat in Denmark, staying in the two bedroomed Leela cottage.

Aiyana Retreat is on the edge of Denmark, a couple of miles from the town centre near the end of a cul-de-sac, so little passing traffic. There is a path all the way in to town, but I suspect it is poorly illuminated at night, and it’s a bit of a hike, so a car is handy to get in to town and explore the area.

Leela cottage forms one end of a small block of cottages (3, I think) . There is ample parking at the back. There is an enclose private patio at the back with a table and chairs, an outdoor shower (with a door through to the main bathroom) and access to the laundry room (with washer and dryer) . There is also a patio at the front which is open to the open area in front of all the cottages and the Aiyana Spa. The front patio sports a mains gas powered barbeque, which was very clean and we make use of after visiting the butcher shop in the village.

The retreat is very quiet. The cottage and all the furniture, fixtures and fittings, soft furnishings and all equipment therein was of excellent quality, well maintained and absolutely squeaky clean. It's a shame that Tripadvisor don't offer more than 5 stars for cleanliness, because the whole place was absolutely spotless.

The main room of the cottage housed lounge, dining area and kitchen and is rustically furnished with good quality stuff. There is a breath-taking array (well maybe I exaggerate) of kitchen equipment which included nice touches like initial supplies of milk, tea, coffee, kitchen towel, sweeties etc. There was a nice big TV with cable and a small stock of films on DVDs. There were also some board games that would have suited both adults and kids. The main bedroom was again simply, rustically but elegantly furnished. The main feature was a nice big comfy bed. There was nowhere to lay out clothes, so I think we ended up taking through a dining chair for that purpose.

The second bedroom had twin beds. We didn’t use them so can’t vouch for their comfyness.

The photos on Tripadvisor and other places are pretty accurate but don’t always show the Leela cottage.

As previously mentioned, there was wifi but the signal wasn’t strong and it was a bit flakey if you moved away from the end of the lounge nearest to the Spa, where the aerial was located apparently.

We didn’t see any staff other than the owner, Gadi an extremely polite and helpful gentleman who welcomed us when we arrived , invited us to contact him if there was any issues, said goodbye as we left but otherwise left us to it. Thank you

Room Tip: No tip. If the other cottages were as good as Leela, then they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gbarak, Owner at Aiyana Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a detailed review. we are utterly thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and "noticed' all the high standard items which we carefully and thoughtfully used in our chalets. we especially enjoyed reading your statement which said " Leela is well maintained and absolutely squeaky clean. It's a shame that Tripadvisor don't offer more than 5 stars for cleanliness, because the whole place was absolutely spotless!!!
Both of us ( myself and my wife) are quite fanatic about the way we present the villas to each and every visitor. we instruct our cleaners and care-takers to never look at the watch when doing their job. On average we are paying 300% more than any other provider in the southwest to get our accommodation ready for you, and we are happy to declare that this was an excellent decision.
This is our 4th year with impeccable record receiving the Certificate of Excellence winner!
for the last 12 months we have had 83% occupancy rate.
So, thank you and keep coming back. We love rolling the "red carpet" again and again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Tao Chalet. It was everything we hoped for. The Chalet itself is lovely, spotless and thoughtfully designed for a comfortable and luxurious stay. We loved ending a day of wine tasting on the couch in front of the very cosy gas fire!
Gadi and Lalita were very welcoming and we were even treated to some of their home grown exotic fruit.
This is the place to stay if you're after a relaxing, private self contained chalet with a pretty outlook. We made the most of the on site wellness rooms also. The massages were amazing!
Looking forward to our next stay.
Peppa and Wade

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeppaWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Wow, this place was fantastic. Beautifully designed, spacious bathroom and spa, very comfy king size bed, extremely quiet, private, and peaceful setting by the bush, and excellent massages (by Ginny). We only wish this type of accommodation could be found in more places.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 96ChrisAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had the 3 night and massage package for Rumi. Accomodation was exactly as the photos. The remedial masseurs were fantastic that my partner got another massage before we left. They also do the massage for the entire quoted time unlike some places that say 60 mins but really only 45mins being massage.

The location was easy to get to and nicely nestled into the bush. It was quiet and we could only hear a muffle from the neighbors in the building next door.

Overall a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tzeeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I don't usually trust my husband with sourcing places to stay, but I did on this occasion and he excelled himself.
We both loved Aiyana Retreat. It is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The owners have thought of everything in trying to provide a real haven. We loved the use of wood, it adds a real warmth to everything. Gad I was friendly and helpful with lots of suggestions. A lovely touch was the fresh flowers in the cottage. There was a beautiful scented rose from the garden, amongst others.
We can't recommend Aiyana highly enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rumi, which is perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RosemaryLSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denmark hotels
16.3 km away
Sensational Heights Bed and Breakfast
4.4 km away
Chimes Spa Retreat
Chimes Spa Retreat
#3 of 33 in Denmark
217 reviews
14.1 km away
William Bay Country Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Koorabup Motel
The Koorabup Motel
#1 of 3 in Denmark
163 reviews
3.9 km away
Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa
4.2 km away
Celestine Retreat
Celestine Retreat
#5 of 33 in Denmark
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiyana Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiyana Retreat

Address: 28 - 38 Anning Rd, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Denmark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Denmark
Price Range: $234 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aiyana Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Retreat provides 4 self contained accommodations; Tao (the path), a luxurious spa chalet, Mira (Look Within!)a luxurious spa chalet, Leela (meaning playfulness) a premium two bedroom spa retreat, and Rumi (the famous Sufi Poet) a deluxe one bedroom studio. All have been stunningly designed, built and decorated by some of Denmark's finest artists and craftsmen, using local timber, stained glass windows, and handmade tiles, marble, granite and mosaics. Situated in the heart of Denmark's unique natural environment, 200 meters from Wilson Inlet, surrounded by natural bush reserve and right next to the Bibbulmun Walking Track. Aiyana Wellness, is another fantastic addition to your well being experience while staying at Aiyana Retreat, offering assorted massages carried by the best therapists in Denmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aiyana Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiyana Retreat Denmark, Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing