We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“caravan holiday”
Review of Ayr Sailean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denmark
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ayr Sailean
australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“caravan holiday”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The ablution blocks were new and very clean, the camp kitchen was brilliant with plenty of seating and cooking facilities.The owners were friendly and informative and had an excellent web site with information about the local area.The water was discoloured but safe to drink and rainwater was available at the camp kitchen and at the office for larger quantities.We enjoyed our 7 day stay in our caravan.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandy18australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    17
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
22
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haines
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed two nights here in late November. We had almost the whole place to ourselves and thoroughly enjoyed the quiet tranquility of the place. The kitchen and bathroom facilities are the best and cleanest we've seen in all of Australia or New Zealand. We found the owners to be very friendly and helpful and we regretted not being able to stay longer. The cabin was a standard room with three beds and a fridge. It was clean and comfortable and served our needs.

If you're seeking a quiet and unique place where you can enjoy some quiet and open fields, then this is the right place, but there isn't much else to do on the premises. It's a good location for exploring the surrounding areas as long as you stock up on food in Denmark or along the way. It's a working farm and feels like a farm, which we really enjoyed as well, but if you're looking for a 'resort,' look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank realalaskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Our family stayed at Wool Cottage and I can not imagine a better place to have an affordable family holiday, we were 2 families and we all fit comfotably. The kids had a ball roaming the farm. It is a historical building and isn't Las Vegas. I think you would do well to remember that when booking and coming down sight unseen. The furniture and bedding was not new and flashy but it was clean and comfortable. We had a roof over our heads and it didn't cost us all our savings. We were warm and happy and had a lovely holiday. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kolanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Booked to stay here for 3 nights with my family from Perth, which included our 84yr old Grandmother, 7 month old baby and 4yr old niece. It was booked under the advertisement of 'County Luxury'..... what a joke! The place is a tin shack with worn carpets and old, well used mis-matching furniture. It was dirty, with rat poison left on floor in kitchen along with rat/mice dropping in the kitchen and main bedroom!

When we arrived no one was around to greet us, and even after we eventually got through on our mobile and requested the cot, they said they would only be'an hour' yet arrived 2 1/2hrs later.

When the owner arrived, he bought along a cot and a high chair and complained to us that we hadn't actually requested a high chair when booked (surely one assumes that when you need a travel cot a high chair is also required!) When we pointed out the mice droppings and poison, he was hardly bothered and replied 'ok I'll clean it up'. When we stated that we would only be staying one night (due to the fact it was late and the little ones were tired) he hardly seemed suprised.

We also asked why there was no hot water - and curtley told that it needed turning on! How silly of us to assume they would have thought to do that for us. We ended up filling the bath for the kids with the hot water from the kettle (3 times), what luxury indeed.

Even silly things like no bowls (?!) for our cereal in the morning, 1 teaspoon between 7 of us, an ancient kettle which took 10 mins to boil..... I could go on but you get the picture.

We couldn't get out of there fast enough in the morning, and the owner wouldn't refund the deposit of $250 as we had stayed one night - what a joke. They also wanted to charge $825 for 3 nights, which makes my so angry when you see the state of this place.

I write this in the hope that people will be warned before booking, as the website description and leaflets are totally misleading - don't waste your money. We ended up staying in a beautiful log cabin, 3 times the size, infinitely more beautiful and cheaper to boot. (Williams Bay cottages for those interested).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank moudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gailguth, Owner at Ayr Sailean, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Wool Cottage - one of the units of Ayr Sailean - is rated 3.5 stars by AAA Tourism, and therefore is certainly not a Tin Shack. The carpets are pure wool with minimum stain being only 5 year old, and that having been caused by the open fire. An apology has been given to the guests concerned that a mouse invasion had occurred prior to their arrival. We are sorry they were not happy even though this was cleaned up as soon as possible once we were notified.
Ayr Sailean is a working farm, and despite being requested to notify us of their arrival time, the guests failed to do so. The unit had been left open for them so that they could move in even though we were not there. Our stock well fare must come before anything else, and they cannot communicate as humans can. Had we received the requested phone call, not only would the hot water have been turned on but they would have been notified of arrangements. The one night fee of $305 for the party of 7 was reduced to the $250 deposit paid. Once again we are sorry these guests were not happy with the unit or service received, but this completely contradicts the many happy guests who have used this cottage, loving the cosy atmosphere in the quiet surrounds of the farm. Our guest book is testament to this.
We urge people to study the photos of the diverse accommodation on our web site and make up their own mind, not be influenced by one unhappy guest. AAA Tourism does not hand out its star ratings lightly, and our rated accommodation ranges from 3.5 stars to 4 star.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denmark
25.2 km away
Coalmine Beach Holiday Park
3.8 km away
Tree Elle Retreat
Tree Elle Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bow Bridge
55 reviews
17.7 km away
William Bay Country Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 km away
Misty Valley Country Cottages
30.3 km away
The Koorabup Motel
The Koorabup Motel
#1 of 3 in Denmark
159 reviews
23.3 km away
Scotsdale Valley Studios
Scotsdale Valley Studios
#1 of 1 in Scotsdale
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayr Sailean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayr Sailean

Property: Ayr Sailean
Address: 1 Tindale Rd | Bow Bridge, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Denmark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Denmark
Price range (per night): $50 - $220
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by giant granite boulders and native bush on a working farm, Ayr Sailean is the ideal spot to get away from it all. Located mid way between Denmark and Walpole, it is central to numerous attractions including the Valley of the Giants & Tree Top Walk. Accommodation choices of Studio Spa Chalets where you can enjoy an indoor spa under the stars, or enjoy the view over the Wilderness Coast; Wool Cottage in a rural setting; Inverell Home at Nornalup on the Frankland River, backed by thousands of acres of forest; or the Camp Ground and Camp Ground Cabins give a wide variety to suit all requirements and budgets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ayr Sailean Denmark, Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing