We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Floss40
Wanneroo, Australia

Something Special

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Jan 2016
This place is quite special; a large peaceful and serene bush block with plenty of privacy between the other chalets and owners home. The hosts David and Anita are friendly, welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. DVDs to loan in the office was a nice touch. The warm banana bread on the first morning was very gratefully accepted and possibly best ever tasted.
The chalet photography does not do the place justice, a quirky hexagonal layout, spotlessly clean and very well maintained (stayed in a lot of accommodation in this area). Quite dark inside but attractive all the same and low lighting to our taste. As a nurse I noticed rails and 'wet room' style bathroom that might make this a disabled friendly place?
Attention to detail like quality soft towels, handmade soap, comfy beds and pillows and soft leather couches. The breeze from the windows and sliding doors kept us beautifully cool (stayed in Summer), 2 fans also provided. I imagine equally comfortable (and cosy) in Winter due to the fire.
Outdoor table and chairs and clean bbq made for a delightful setting for brunch and evening bbq or just sitting with a glass of wine overlooking the beautiful natural bush and birdlife. Dog friendly and has a stunning 2.7km boundary walk which we made full use of; a great asset to the property for dog owners. Children's swing set well used and our greyhound enjoyed the company of the owners dogs and space to roam.
Great location, 7kms from Augusta for groceries etc and half an hour from Margaret River to the North. Beautiful Hamelin Bay very close with the famous stingrays which we were lucky enough to see.
Overall, a bargain, not fancy or huge but no need, the ambiance and service were 5 star and we had a wonderful break, hope to return one day.
Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
sunset over the bell tents
AU$142
  • Agoda.com
    AU$154
7.2 km from Wrenwood Chalets
Free Wifi
Free parking
This was our room!
AU$161
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$195
  • Vio.com
    AU$176
  • Trip.com
    AU$195
9.3 km from Wrenwood Chalets
Free parking
AU$110
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$110
  • Vio.com
    AU$110
  • Agoda.com
    AU$110
9.7 km from Wrenwood Chalets
Free parking
Restaurant
Chalet 5
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
6.9 km from Wrenwood Chalets
Free Wifi
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
34.5 km from Wrenwood Chalets
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
61.1 km from Wrenwood Chalets
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
34.5 km from Wrenwood Chalets
Free Wifi
Free parking
36.2 km from Wrenwood Chalets
Free parking
Spa
Our secluded - Private - Chalets.
Contact accommodation for availability.
57.6 km from Wrenwood Chalets
Free parking
35.3 km from Wrenwood Chalets
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Augusta
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
71
10
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
71
10
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Clean, comfortable and well equipped accommodation situated in a rural haven perfect for self-catering, a cosy, romantic getaway or a fabulous family holiday. The owners gave us a warm welcome and even made a birthday cake for my Daughter whose birthday was the reason behind our last-minute long weekend getaway. We were delighted to have our dog with us in this pet-friendly accommodation and thrilled to get back to nature with kangaroos hopping past and a wide variety of birds at home amongst the gorgeous naturally wooded bushland, relaxation at its best! Can't reccommend enough and will definitely be returning. Thank you David and Anita for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jobe1kenobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We spent a night at this remote chalet between Hamelin Bay and Augusta. the accommodation is not on Google maps and there is only one road sign to mark the entrance to the dirt road to the cabin. our chalet was well equipped, clean and ok for a one night stay. the surrounding bushland is pristine, rich with wildlife and the owner is friendly.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank LZ_Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David N, Owner at Wrenwood Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

There are two shire approved road signs on Caves Road pointing to Wrenwood Chalets. You cannot miss them and we have never had a guest say they couldn't find us.Wrenwood is located on Caves Road and is only 2 kms from the most famous tourist attraction in the region, Jewel Cave. We are on Google Maps so I am not sure why the guest could not find us. We are also on GPS coordinates. Wrenwood is only seven minutes from the centre of Augusta town and is not "remote". There are no dirt roads at all on the property. The roads are all bluemetal and well maintained. Guests are always saying they wish they could stay longer. An overnight guest and his wife said just last week that they are coming back for three weeks next year. Our average guest stays for four nights. We have an amazing number of regular guests who stay with us several times every year.Definitely correct about the pristine bush, chalets and friendly hosts so I fail to understand how this could be rated as only average. Please note that the other 36 reviews on Tripadvisor are five star.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

We were 10 women who stayed 3 nights in 2 chalets as part of our Cape to Cape hike in Western Australia..this worked really well..(economical but not cramped.) We arranged for David to provide us with a lovely cooked brekky and lunch pack for the hike...fantastic. We also arranged for drop off with our mini bus, then David took our bus to our destination...this saved us a lot of time. Highly recommend Wrenwood chalets when completing the southern section of the hike. Agree with all the wonderful reviews.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Absolutely gorgeous chalet nestled in the bush, a million miles from the cares and stresses of city life. From our front porch we watched the wax eyes flitting among the pin cushion hakeas and grevilleas. David is a gracious host, lighting our fire the evening we arrived and bringing us coffee the morning we departed. The property is set in the bush, with a 3km trail around the perimeter providing the perfect start to my mornings, walking my dogs off lead in the bush. We slept forever, enjoying the sound of the rain on the roof, and waking to birdsong and cows in a nearby property. The kitchen is well equipped, so we self catered breakfast and dinner. As a bonus, David and Anita have a sensational DVD collection, which made for perfect evenings in! Highly recommend a long weekend at Wrenwood.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenPerth967
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed for a couple of nights with my partner and it was just perfect. The cottage was clean and very cosy with a wood burner fire place and an impressive DVD library. Tucked away amongst the trees on a huge property, we were encouraged to take a walk around the property which we did and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is the perfect place for a couples get away. We'd happily stay again.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lillly_renae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews