We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Love this place - a perfect weekend escape”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of The Diggers Store property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of The Diggers Store property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Front of The Diggers Store property
Pillow top orthopedic double bed
Shingle roof and antique wrought iron details throughout
Freshly baked organic sourdough on arrival
Books
Record player and a selection of vinyl
The orchard and the hens
Side of The Diggers Store
The grounds
Front of The Diggers Store
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castlemaine, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
9999sarah...
1 review
“Love this place - a perfect weekend escape”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Tina and Alex were lovely hosts. They've put a lot of love into the space - filled with lovely vintage bits and pieces. It was comfortable, clean, and had everything we needed for the weekend.

Our hosts were very friendly upon arrival and didn't mind accommodating us when we needed a late check out.

Fresh bread, lovely garden produce, and a well equipped kitchen meant we were fully self-sufficient.

Lots of lovely outdoor areas to enjoy too including the patio area with grapevines for shade. We'd definitely recommend this place to other travelers.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1984Brend...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in Castlemaine!”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this converted stable so much! So much attention to detail. We adored the furnishings. The hosts were friendly, communicative, and always available.

The breakfast provisions were something else! With house-made sourdough, organic eggs, and the best granola we ever had!

We had absolutely everything we needed for an amazing stay. We couldn't be happier. We'd definitely stay here again given the opportunity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A1189LKch...
Boisdale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 nights. We told that hosts weren't going to be there, but that someone was going to meet us. We waited for nearly an hour before some one came out and showed us where to go. The accommodation left a lot to be desired. We slept with the light on as we were frightened of falling down the stairs. Another problems that there were no security lights on outside the house when it became dark. We had no contact from our hosts at all after our stay. Very disapointed

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Hi there - I'm quite confused by your review as this was two years ago! So I'm trying to remember the details!!

We always meet our guests where possible. My apologies if we weren't able to this one instance - we had just had a baby.

Instructions would have been left to call my father in law who lives one minute from the property. A one hour wait is unacceptable and I'm sure he did his best to get there as soon as you called.

If stairs are a problem for any of our guests (e.g. if there are toddlers or babies joining the party) we have a gate that can be closed at the to of the stairs. There is no need to leave the light on while you are sleeping! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jc2207
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rustic Charm”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Very charming and quiet B & B just a few kilometres out of Castlemaine. The hosts, Alex and Tina, were very friendly and obliging but also, after making sure we were comfortable and had all we needed for our 2 night stay, left us to enjoy the converted stable.

The bedroom was clean and very comfortable and the provisions were great, fresh, local produce. The bathroom was spacious, but the shower does not have a guard so don't put the water full blast or you will have a small flood!

We would definitely stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamsen411
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
“Exceptional, faultless, superb!”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A beautiful, charming B&B that oozes character of the past. The food was outstanding - home made and organic everything and the quantity was generous to say the least. Just a beautiful place to stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing