We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional, faultless, superb!”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of The Diggers Store property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of The Diggers Store property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Front of The Diggers Store property
Pillow top orthopedic double bed
Shingle roof and antique wrought iron details throughout
Freshly baked organic sourdough on arrival
Books
Record player and a selection of vinyl
The orchard and the hens
Side of The Diggers Store
The grounds
Front of The Diggers Store
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castlemaine, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tamsen411
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
“Exceptional, faultless, superb!”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A beautiful, charming B&B that oozes character of the past. The food was outstanding - home made and organic everything and the quantity was generous to say the least. Just a beautiful place to stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rustic, romantic retreat”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Tina and Alex have created a lovely little space for a short get away. The locally sourced breakfast provisions were abundant and tasty. Sitting beside the open fire with a glass of red, listening to their collection of old final records was so relaxing. The little table in the garden was a great spot for a cuppa and watching the free range chickens roaming about.
The bed was comfortable and the decor had a real country charm. Tina and Alex were friendly and helpful and we would certainly go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire place and no TV
Liked least: The kitchen was quite small if you wished to cook meals
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babybooms...
1 review
“Tuscany with a touch of Provence”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My partner Janet and I stayed at the Diggers Store as we toured through Victoria on our annual winter getaway. We loved the place! It was the perfect, quiet escape we were looking for. We found it hard to go back to the 'big smoke'. Great place to stay, not far from Castlemaine where you can do just about anything! Eat, drink, relax. We will be back! PS. The free range bacon was divine!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirstin C
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Get-Away”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We visited Tina and Alex at The Digger's Store B & B in early November this year. As part of a trip to Melbourne from Auckland, New Zealand it was nice to get out of the busy city for a few days. We were so relaxed after a two night stay it felt like we were away for weeks! The grounds of the Digger's Store are amazingly pretty and peaceful and the brood of huge healthy hens are a lovely reminder you are out of the city. The accommodation is rustic but immaculate and beautifully decorated. Tina and Alex are excellent hosts, cool, friendly and relaxed! A highly recommended place to stay and a highly recommended part of Victoria to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beautiful grounds and friendly hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare R
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful country getaway”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We LOVED our weekend in Castlemaine at The Diggers Store. The converted barn is gorgeous: the fire was crackling, the supplied breakfast of bacon, home grown eggs and home made bread was delicious (Tina's baking is amazing!), and the beds are so comfortable I didn't want to leave. Tina and Alex made our stay very comfortable, they have thought of everything a guest may need, including an excellent selection of records on the turntable. There isn't a TV, which was a relief! The conversion from barn to cottage has been very tastefully achieved with period details, including the charming kitchen and bathroom. The garden is beautiful and provides an idyllic setting for the weekend. I'd love to stay here again and hope to soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing