We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and quirkiness”
Review of The Midland Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castlemaine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Midland Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Castlemaine B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the style of this unique, historic ,charming building and were delighted at the unexpected luxury and space and welcoming atmosphere. We came up from Melbourne with our bikes on the train and crossed the road to this very unique yet economical hotel.

Room Tip: 22 was exceptional with view,spaciousness,style and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine120157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Do yourself a favour and visit Castlemaine by rail. The Midland is an easy walk from the train station, and within walking distance of everything the town has to offer. If you don't feel like walking around too much, The Midland has many spaces in which to make yourself comfortable with a great range of drinks and small dishes. Mauro is a welcoming host who ensures the place, including your room, is perfectly set up and ready to go. He's an attentive host who also makes sure not to interfere with your enjoyment of the hotel. Each time I've visited it's been during the cooler months, and relaxing in front of the wood fire in the main lounge room and the gas fire in the gorgeous, enormous reading room has been a highlight. The garden courtyard is perfect for a bit of afternoon reading, or for a chat over a wine or coffee. Every time I've been, I've noticed something new in the architecture and the decor; The Midland Hotel is such a beautiful treasure. I can't wait to visit during summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

There's a lot of great things about Castlemaine, but my favourite has to be The Midland Hotel.

I found it originally after alternative accommodation options were full, and I've never been so happy to miss out on my first accommodation choice. It's literally a minute away from from the V-Line Railway station, and just a couple of minutes away from the wonderful restaurants and attractions that Castlemaine offers.

Mauro is an accommodating and gracious host and The Midland very much reflects his personality and outlook. Each time I've stayed, he's showed me through the hotel and its wonderful rooms (the reading room/library is a personal favourite) through to our room and private bathroom.

The decor is a mix of styles, reflecting the classic nature of the hotel, with some sections reflecting gold-rush era Victoria, with others showing (slightly) more recent Art Deco flair.

The rooms themselves are large, comfortably furnished, and thankfully have no televisions in them. And why would you need one? You're in Castlemaine – get out and see the town, the vintage railway, and some of the other wonderful hotels.

If the weather's warm, make sure you take some time and relax in the courtyard, and if the weather's a touch inclement, well, there's plenty of fireplaces to sit by and read or have a quiet drink.

All told, this is one of my favourite places to stay in Australia and it's only 90 minutes from Melbourne by train.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A great place with a bit of flair but not over the top, sure beats a drab run of the mill motel, owners were very nice, were expecting us and accomodated us quickly, cosy rooms with a private bathroom with the best shower I have EVER had, and I travel alot. But the clincher is the downstairs living room area, my goodness, next time I'm arriving early and spending the afternoon by the heater reading a book feeling like Gatsby himself.
Kris.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This was a lovely experience. We arrived by train for our short break in Castlemaine and The Midland was directly opposite the station. It is a magnificent old two story, balconied corner hotel from 1879 that has never been a pub. At street level from the corner there is a vintage button shop, a gentleman's outfitter and then The Maurocco wine bar and cafe - all very eclectic and charming.

All of the hotel including the accommodation upstairs is furnished with romantic period charm. The double rooms cost $150 and although each has it's own bathroom, you do have to walk down the hall to it, so pack a robe. We had the corner room which was very attractive and although it was fully furnished with period pieces, it was not so you were afraid to put anything down in case it was lost in the clutter, which is the case in some B'nBs.

There was no television or fridge in the room and why would you need them when there is so much to do downstairs in Castlemaine? The bed was very comfortable.The heater had been turned on in preparation for our arrival . There was an enormous and magnificent guest lounge downstairs which was almost like stepping into a National Trust property.

There is a pretty garden at the rear outside the wine bar. Breakfast was cereal and toast or toasted sandwiches with real coffee served in the wine bar/cafe.

On Friday nights an enthusiastic young band plays jazz funk from 7 to 9pm. There are snacks for purchase as well as good local wines and expensive cocktails. It is a nice scene that is obviously embraced by the locals.

If you are up for the cost, I can't think why you would want to stay in a motel when this much more interesting experience awaits.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castlemaine hotels
0.9 km away
Newnorthern
Newnorthern
#2 of 9 in Castlemaine
36 reviews
2.6 km away
Albion Motel Hotel
Albion Motel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Castlemaine
38 reviews
0.2 km away
Fig Cafe & Accommodation
Fig Cafe & Accommodation
#4 of 9 in Castlemaine
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#6 of 9 in Castlemaine
17 reviews
1 km away
Castle Motel
Castle Motel
#3 of 9 in Castlemaine
66 reviews
0.5 km away
Campbell St Lodge
Campbell St Lodge
#2 of 3 in Castlemaine
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland Hotel

Address: 2 Templeton St, Castlemaine, Victoria 3450, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Castlemaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Castlemaine
Price Range: $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland has welcomed travelers to stay since 1879 and now also incorporates shops offering fashion and gifts for men and women, a espresso lounge and a wine bar. It is a most stylish but very much lived-in place." Grand yet unpretentious - Stylish yet homely." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Castlemaine, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing