We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, on busy & noisy road”
Review of Hotel Carmencita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carmencita
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OK, on busy & noisy road”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Carmencita is along the main auto road through Anacapri (Via De Tommaso), which is paralleled by the main pedestrian walkway (Via Orlandi). It is much better to be on the pedestrian walkway as it is much quieter. Our room was at the very front of the hotel, closest to the road and the scooters and three-wheeled carts are just so loud, as was the music from a restaurant/club nearby.

The room itself was definitely a bit dated in terms of the furnishings, but it was very clean and decent-sized. The bathroom was large for European standards. There is no elevator so if you have heavy luggage and you get the second floor (2 stories up), it's a haul.

We did not use the pool, but it looked very nice, like it had been recently renovated.

Room Tip: Be as far away from the road as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FwaysGreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCarmencita, Direttore at Hotel Carmencita, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Guest

thanks for you review and for tell me somethings that you didn't like about my hotel and many other that you liked.

About noisy of road you're right and i want to tell you that we haver only 3 rooms on roadside and we are planning to soundproof next year.

About the lift, we solved this situation. Now we have a guy and his name is Sanjeewa.
He will pick-up you at the port with our free shuttkle service and will help you with luggage to go in the room. You will not to do any effort .

Thanks a lot

Fabrizio Gargiulo, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    104
    39
    18
    20
See reviews for
74
115
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is a nice and clean hotel, with good service and reasonable price. It was good to wake up and smell croissants just baked from my room. It can be a bit noisy sometimes because of traffic but really not that much to change the good experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cikay72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCarmencita, Direttore at Hotel Carmencita, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Cikay

many thanks about your good review.

I will tell your nice words about croissant to my mother and she will be very happy about this.

She rise up at 6 am to prepare a fresh baked pastries and croissant for our guests.

About noisy of road i'm very sorry about and i want to tell you that we are planning to soundproof the only 3 rooms that we have on road side.


Thanks a lot

Fabrizio Gargiulo, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed in Carmencita for one night. Booked the night before using Hostelbookers.com and paid 40 euro for a single bed. Hotel is 5 minute walk to center of Anacapri and very close to the bus stops for the Blue Grotto bus and buses to Capri and the Marina Grande. Hotel needs to be remodeled. Can hear through the walls, basic breakfast in the morning, no windows in rooms, very hard bed, but all of those are understandable for such a cheap rate. However, what really bothered me about this hotel is that the staff leave the hotel keys on the front desk for anyone to take. There is no one sitting at the front desk at night or the daytime to ask your room number and hand you your key from behind the counter. I have stayed in many hotels and hostels in Europe and have never encountered this situation before. So, be careful with which expensive possessions you bring and leave in your room!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlev908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCarmencita, Direttore at Hotel Carmencita, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear guest

first of all thanks for your review and to tell me our error.

We repaired our problem (for example we have now a good reception 24h).

You're right about cheapest rooms: we have two types of rooms.

Standard rooms that we sell only on biggest websites like booking.com (with balcony etc).

And we have economic room (only 2) that we sell only on hostelbookers and these rooms are very cheapest because don't have a comfort and services same as the standard room. But everythhing that i told you now is writed on hostelbookers.com.

I hope to see you again to try our new services and mission.

Fabrizio Gargiulo, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I booked this hotel because it was in Anacapri where the mass tourism doesn't get to. I enjoyed this little hotel because it was quiet and peaceful. The decorations are a little bit old and some are tacky but I don't care about those things. The room was very clean and had a wonderful smell. The staff is absolutely wonderful and that for me is the best. To be honest is very close to Anacapri's center. There are bus stops just out of the hotel that can take you back and forth to Capri or any other place you wish to go.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skunkar002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCarmencita, Direttore at Hotel Carmencita, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Google Translation
Caro ospite

grazie tante delle parole che hai speso per noi.

Siamo sicuri che aiuterai tante persone nella scelta dell'hotel ad Anacapri .

Hai colto davvero bene l'essenza dell'isola di Capri scegliendo Anacapri ed avendola apprezzata.

Anacapri è la vera isola di Capri

Grazie mille

Fabrizio Gargiulo, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kings lynn
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed two nights in september as a couple.

Room was large, good shower, little balcony area, cleaned each day and very tidy on arrival.

Breakfast was crossoaint fest each day nothing else wich was a bit limited.

I think it is a couple that run the hotel and the lady cant do enough for you and was very tollerant of my poor Itallien, the man however is quite rude and very unhelpful. He would not even consider the possibility of keeping our bags for a couple of hours which is fair enough but needless to say he is pretty horrid if your not Italien.

Probably would stay here again if i went back to Capri as its one of the cheapest options in Anacapri and was pretty good considering the relative price. There is a bus stop outside the hotel which is nice and cheap so you dont have to pay the 25 euro's a go rip off taxi's up and down to and from capri!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rproudfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCarmencita, Direttore at Hotel Carmencita, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Guest

very thanks about your review.

We have a good news about transportation. Even though we have bus stop here, we have also a free shuttle service from port to hotel and return and you will save a lot of money of taxirides.

About the man, we're very sorry about and we talked with him about this and he is very sad about and he apologize and he has changed his philosophy of customer approach thanks to you.

In our hotel now you can leave your luggage for how many hours you want for free.

Thanks a lot

Fabrizio Gargiulo, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
1.5 km away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.7 km away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#6 of 18 in Anacapri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Il Girasole
Hotel Il Girasole
#10 of 18 in Anacapri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#15 of 18 in Anacapri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.3 km away
Albergo Senaria
Albergo Senaria
#8 of 18 in Anacapri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmencita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmencita

Property: Hotel Carmencita
Address: Via T De Tommaso 4c, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Anacapri
Price range (per night): $152 - $560
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmencita 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gem of the Gulf of Naples, for centuries Capri enchants for its wonderful combination of blue skies, landscapes, sea and light: an extraordinary mix of nature, art, culture and beau monde which have acclaimed the myth of the Island of Capri for its unchanged charm, still successful between tourists and visitors from all the corners of the World. The elegance of Capri, the fashion on Capri, the beautiful life style... are all statements with a common and unique denominator: the charming union between the landscapes of rare beauty and the warm and radiant atmosphere that filter into every aspect of daily life. A cup of coffee or an aperitif in the famous Piazzetta, great shopping opportunities in the typical shops and exclusive boutiques, a boat trip to discover the impressive Faraglioni and the prismatic colours of the Grotta Azzurra, a visit to the famous Villa of Axel Munthe and a romantic sunset on the beach: Capri is this and more...! In this charming and uncontaminated Paradise, the Hotel Carmencita is waiting for you, situated in a central location at short distance from the island's beaches and the local bus stops, and the most renowned tourist and cultural attractions, an ideal departure point for all the major touristic destinations of the Blue Island. The friendly and familiar atmosphere, the professionalism of the staff and the modern swimming pool will make unforgettable your stay in Capri. Hotel Carmencita provide free wi-fi connection in structure and in all rooms for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Carmencita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmencita Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Carmencita Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing