We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beyond Excellent. A 7-star Experience!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Rosa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Agia Efimia, Cephalonia, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Greek first
Any
English first
Hannisze...
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Beyond Excellent. A 7-star Experience!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How do I even begin to describe this fantastic property to do justice to the every detail that the Owner has thoughtfully put into it? We have stayed at many holiday rental properties before this but never have we stayed at one which is as comfortable and sufficient like Villa Rosa.

Villa Rosa stands side-by-side with another villa called Villa Vada, both belonging to the same owner, an enterprising young man by the name of Damianos. His parents had bought the abandoned buildings left from the 1953 earthquake and his father, a builder, had restored them meticulously to their current glorious state. His attempt to maintain the historical Kefalonian architecture was evident throughout the villa.

Situated on a cul-de-sac enveloped by olive trees, the villa provided us with the absolute privacy we were hoping for. Its elevated and unobstructed position gave us a commanding view of the astounding beauty surrounding the area. We (4 adults and 2 teenagers) spent 7 nights at the beautiful villa and did not want to leave by the end of our stay.

Damianos had met us at the ferry terminal at Sami (12km away) upon our arrival to show us the way to the villa. All along the journey, there were signposts showing directions to the villas at every turn and junction. All the 3 bedrooms (1 double, 1 twin and 1 single) on the ground level have individual air-conditioners and the lower floor consists of a well-equipped kitchen and living room (which has a comfortable sofa which can be slept on), also with an air-conditioner. We dined mostly at the veranda outside the kitchen and even used the barbeque pit once.

In short, the villa’s design and décor is impeccably stylish and charming. However, what impressed us most are the tiny little details and thoughtfulness which Damianos has put in, to ensure utmost comfort for his guests. We were given luxurious toiletries, bedroom slippers, thick bathrobes and quality towels in different sizes – all equal to the standard of any 5-star hotels. Bottles of good quality wine produced by his family were also given to us for free to sample, coupled with some local delicacies, chocolate bars for the kids, fruits and even vegetables (“You will be tired and hungry by the time you arrive” – Damianos said).

The location of the villa is also perfect for our daily excursions around the island. It is merely 6km away from the famous Myrtos beach. The nearest ‘big’ village, Agia Effimia is only 4km away, where there are many restaurants, mini markets and shops to get your essentials.

We cannot find a single fault with this villa and can say for sure that our visit to Kefalonia was made more amazing by our stay here. This is a villa built for true comfort and not simply for making money. We have paid the same amount of money to stay at rental properties which provide much less than Villa Rosa. The effort which Damianos has put in for his guests needs to be applauded as he has gone beyond what was expected from so-called ‘self-catering’ rental properties like his. Throughout our stay, he had called and sent us messages to ask if everything is fine and to suggest places for us to visit, eat and swim. He even sent the cleaning ladies to clean the villa and changed the sheets and towels during our 4th day there!!

Staying at Villa Rosa is an experience in itself. We almost wanted to keep it a secret so that it will not be overbooked should we choose to return one day! Damianos told us he is thinking of building a pool to attract more guests and we hope he would not go ahead with his plan. With the best beach in the world (Myrtos) just minutes away, there is no need for a man-made pool to spoil the exquisiteness of the villa and its surroundings.

P/S: Oh! I forgot to mention that he also put lavender bags under the pillows to ensure that we all have a good night sleep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The thoughts put into making the villa a comfortable place
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanla O
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Villa Rosa was amazing!”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We've actually have decided to come to Kefalonia bc we've encountered online photos of Villa Rosa and immidiately loved the place. Villa Rosa turned out to be even much more better. Damianos, the host, was very friendly and welcoming, a great person to hang out with! He picked us up from the airport and drove through the island to Villa Rosa. Every little detail was well thought of; the lavender bags under our pillows, wine and fruits in the fridge, special candies from Kefalonia, WiFi, spare keys, parking spot and most of all the wonderful terrace and the view at nights. We just loved everything about the place and definitely come back sometime again. Thanx a lot, we will recommend it to everybody.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina198...
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The villa is really amazing - I don't even have enough words to describe our emotions! Everything, every little detail was thought out by host, we had a very, VERY good time there! It's surely the best place we've ever stayed in. View, facilities, personnel, location, comfort - all was just superb!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaaag
Argostolion, Greece
1 review
“Excellent Decoration”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in August 2014

We choose Villa Rosa because of the place. We want to stay in Ag. Efimia and when we arrive in this villa with a kind gentelman welcome us and was really helpful. We had lot of privacy, our own parking and the view was perfect. It was the best choise in our vications in Kefallonia. I recoment this place defenatly.
Thanx Villa Rosa.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kriss18
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Luxury close to the best beaches”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Rosa with our Italian friends in a company of four adults for 7 nights in September and enjoyed our stay immensely. The location was ideal for us, as our most important point of view in our choice was that the villa is situated not more than 15 minutes drive from the very best beaches of the island! Myrtos can be reached in about 10 minutes and Antisamos in about 20, plus our favorite small secluded beaches between Agia Efimia and Sami are really very close.
The property is a two level maisonette with three bedrooms surrounded by the mountains of Kefalonia. Drakopulata (the village) itself is a little off the beaten track, but once there it is totally restful and was for us the perfect place to recharge our batteries and enjoy the Kefalonian countryside in all its glory. It is just 3 km from Agia Efimia, which offers groceries, shops, restaurants and some small bars. Both the location and the villa are absolutely fabulous and peaceful with a garden and an outside dining area set among a great view where at night you can hear only the crickets chirping in the total silence. It was perfect for self-catering as it includes a fully equipped kitchen with all we needed for to make ourselves at home. The furniture and each object in the house are chosen with excellent taste and of the best quality possible.
This was our first villa stay and certainly won't be our last. Of course a car rental is essential if you stay here and there is no swimming pool yet (as the owner informed us they plan to build also a swimming pool in the next few years), but what to do with a swimming-pool when you can stay at the best beaches of the world!
Gorgeous holiday, I really would recommend this place to families and even larger groups of friends, as the owners has next door another villa of the same quality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard quaility and the location
Liked least: Everything was great
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing