We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Olive Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olive Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Agia Efimia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed here in September and had a fantastic week, just wished it could have been longer.
Firstly, the hotel is in a great location. Agia Efimia is a very peaceful village and the views from the balcony across to Sami and Ithaca are stunning. There are several excellent tavernas and bars (none of them noisy) all less than 5 minutes stroll away from the hotel.
The rooms themselves are typical Greek studios in layout, but very well equipped, very comfortable and easily the biggest of this type I have stayed in before (even without the balcony). They are also spotlessly clean, in fact the whole hotel was gleaming.
Amalia and the staff certainly work hard to make sure every little detail is taken care of - thank you very much and hope to see you again next year.

P.S. Must also mention boat hire from Kefalonia Travel Office in the harbour. I was a bit apprehensive having never taken a boat out to sea alone before, but 15 mins tuition in the harbour and you're off. What a brilliant day out, cruising up the coast towards Fiskardo and stopping off at all the secluded coves on the way back - unforgettable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rjwiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

Excellent position for local amenities with lovely staff who were very helpful The accommodation was very good with all rooms face the beautiful bay. Very close to all the little beaches and tavernas. A lovely library of books available to all guests. Agia Efimia is a lovely resort with very friendly people and we enjoyed our stay enormously. Amalia , was very helpful and each request was sorted for us. The room was very nice and had everything we needed. If I had a any criticism it would be that the mattresses were so hard, however many people may like very firm mattresses. Overall we had a great holiday and loved the position of this hotel and would return.

Room Tip: all rooms have a view of the bay and there is a lift so don't worry about being on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We spent 4 nights there in sept and were pleasantly surprised.
The rooms were spacious, spotless and serviced every day.
This family run hotel, although not on the sea front was central to everything in the village.
Amalia and her mom gave wonderful service and no request or enquiry was too much trouble!
We just loved the quieter position and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Agia Efimia is the best of the small resorts in Kefalonia. Fiskardo is also very good but smaller and feels more crowded. The Olive Bay Hotel is an apartment hotel and is set back about 150 metres from the sea. The rooms on the first and second floors have very nice sea views. The hotel is family owned and run, and is scrupulously cleaned every day. The apartments are large, comfortable and well equipped and have free reliable wifi. In 30 years of travelling in Greece I have never stayed in a better apartment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel and we just love it. It is very central and takes only a minute or two to walk to the beach and restaurants yet it is really quiet and peaceful and surrounded by beautiful hibiscus and other flowering plants in pots. Amalia is lovely and really helpful. It doesn't have a pool but there is a big hotel a monents walk down the road which you can use, so it is ideal We would not stay anywhere else in Agia Efimia having found this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJGolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Efimia
0.6 km away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#3 of 6 in Agia Efimia
307 reviews
0.2 km away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
347 reviews
0.5 km away
Greka Ionian Suites
Greka Ionian Suites
#2 of 6 in Agia Efimia
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 6 in Sami
214 reviews
22.9 km away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
5.1 km away
Green Bay Hotel
Green Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavomylos
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Bay Hotel

Address: Agia Efimia, Agia Efimia 280 81, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Agia Efimia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Agia Efimia
Price Range: $60 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Olive Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing