We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely time”
Review of Rodos Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodos Star Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Afandou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2017

11 days in Afandou! We had fun!
Thassos and his family ( sister and father) provided us with a lot of entertainment.
They are the nicest people ever. The people they employ are lovely too.
The hotel is great.
We stayed in a room with a mountain view ( and what a view!).
Afandou beach is twenty minutes down the hill. It is a pebbly beach. There are not many people there so if you look for privacy this is a place to go. The hill is not an obstacle unless you are lazy, unfit, overweight, old, disabled etc.
After so much drinking and eating I would recommend it to anyone.
Afandou town centre is ten minutes down the hill. Public transport from here will take you anywhere you want on the island and all for only a couple of quids. We visited the capital and Lindos.
If you like walking, this is the place to be. Many places for you to discover. We even came across a hippies, naturist village one day....
As far as food is concerned, hmm....more fresh fruits and vegs would be nice....all was on the cheap and frozen side.......which is slightly disappointing...
I always imagined Greece. to be somehow fresh and very far from a stinky, damp UK.
Our last meal was lovely though.....thank you Moss.and the lovely waitresses and chefs.....and barmen....
The room we stayed in was clean, spacious and breezy.
If you are a humanist and a vegetarian like we are, there are a lot of beautiful cats and dogs to feed in Afandou......wink, wink....
It is just a shame that only british guests stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank margotsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017

Parts of this hotel are quite new and we were fortunate to stay in one of the newer rooms, overlooking the village. However, there is an amazingly steep hill if you go into town, but it's okay if take your time. The food, well that's pretty much the same every day and not that much to choose from. The All Inclusive, that's not quite what it is to be honest, as when I go to the Caribbean, I get ALL INCLUSIVE, but here at the Rodos, it's from 10:00 to 23:00 and they rigorously stick to that, with the barman showing you his watch (Del Boy sold it to him) and I'm no expert when it comes to alcohol, but I'm pretty sure the larger was watered down, and my wife only got Malibu after 23:00, before that it was some cheap knock off!! Summing it up, Not a bad place to stay, but there are better hotels about and in other parts of the Island too. The village has some nice places to eat, and you get a much warmer welcome down there. If anyone from TUI reads this, sort it out, places like this are letting you down! Way too much money for what you actually get!!

Room Tip: If you do stay here, get one overlooking the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jonsie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Just arrived home after a week stay at the Rodos Star. Had a lovely relaxing stay, didn't really move from the pool! If you are looking for a hotel with alot to do around you may be better off looking at another hotel, this one is based in a small town with very little tourist activities. If you want a relaxing holiday then this is the perfect hotel for you. We stayed in the old block of the hotel, the room was a little small, and the shower was actually tiny! But it was comfortable enough for what we needed from the room. There is an extra cost of €25 for a safety deposit box and a charge for the air con, not sure on thw cost on this as the temperature was moderate and we didnt need it. We were some of the last visitors of the season, so we're not sure on the entertainment in the evenings. We had Karakoke, a singer and a greek night over the course of a week, would have liked to have seen some more, but as I said we were leaving on the last day of the season so this may have contributed to the lack of ebtertainment. Evening food was lovely, it would have been better if there were snacks available throughout the day, but there was very little available other than at meal times. The staff were lovely, very friendly. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday by the pool, and don't mind a bit of music, then I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two weeks and had an amazing time. The staff were friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. They would get cigarettes bought up from the village and even arranged a birthday cake for me. One bar man in the lobby bar could be a little rude but feel it was tiredness more than anything!! I stayed in the old block and had fab panoramic view of the sea and rhodes town in the distance. The room was basic but clean tidy quiet and comfortable. I would recommend taking a hair dryer as the one in the room was pretty pointless. The food was lovely always something to eat but like anywhere did get a bit repetitive towards the end of the two weeks. The poached eggs at breakfast were spot on every day!! The drinks are local brand drinks and so I didn’t like the coke but loved the lemon Fanta and the wine was lovely. I didn’t find the drinks watered down and got tipsy on a few occasions I don’t want to be surrounded by people getting smashed all day every day!! There is entertainment three nights a week but as the hotel is all British we made lots of lovely friends and we entertained ourselves and tassos even got us a guitar so we could have a sing song!! Yes the hotel is at the top of a hill but as long as your in ok health wise you can walk it but if not it’s only €5 Euro from the village back. Afandou is a working village and that needs to be remembered if you go there!! There are a few bars tavernas and restaurants but they are not commercial and you won’t find an Irish bar if your looking for that you need falaraki The one bar owner took us home three times for free and even got us supper from the bakery one night. There is a rock bar playing music and karaoke. There are a few shops and everything is reasonably priced.

I did not hire a car but with very little hassle was able to go to rhodes town kolymbia lindos tsambaki monastery falaraki and symi!! It is an ideal base to explore the beautiful island.

It is a 3star hotel and Greek hotels are not as advanced as Spain etc but the staff make you welcome and the guests were friendly too. There is ample choice of food and drink and there is a shop which even when looks closed is open for you to go in and get what you want and you can pay later same with the bar for drinks after 11 you can do a tab. I would not recommend the hotel for families with kids over 3 if you want your kid to be entertained for you as there is nothing there except a pool table but there is water parks and a small fair in the next resort kolymbia which is 7 Euro in a taxi or 1.80 on bus. There is also an aquarium in Rhodes town. I would definitely return and some of the people we met have already booked for next year!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

First of all we read most of the reviews as it's important as you know and they all seemed great along with the pictures too, we're also very experienced in All Inclusive and with the Greek hotels as well so we knew what to expect, we also expected to eat out on a couple of occasions hence the all inclusive as this is our 8th or 9th time back to Rhodes as we love it there, we also decided to hire a car as we're beach bums and we love Tsambika beach just down the road with it's golden sands with plenty to do and eat there during the day, just what you need to relax not having people so close to you being noisy

We have many Greek friends now especially in Afandou so this place looked the most convenient and best reviews so how wrong could we have been ??

Like some reviewers say this hotel has some good points but sadly we could only find these in the staff who were mostly great, always willing to help apart from the young bar attendant who certainly has a large chip on his shoulder for some reason ? the older barman was great smiley helpful and always willing to please the customers

Drinks
The beer was awful often smelling like it was off or it had the gone off twang ! i like my beer but this was really unpleasant unlike all the other beers I've tasted in Greece of the last 20 plus years also not very alcoholic as it's strength was week or none existent
My wife loves G&T's but again these tasted awful a bit like drain cleaner she mentioned not that shes tried this before of course but you know what she means hopefully ? Oh by the way for some reason they would only serve half pints so there was always large Que to get a drink for beer ? strange as you're making any savings only causing delays and upset customers

Room
Well we arrived later in the evening circa 10 pm, on arrival we were ushered around around to the side to talk with Tassos i think his name was, he's the son of the owner and Mosh is the daughter receptionist ( Hello my lovely as liked to say )
Anyway he showed us the new buildings where he offered us one of his special apartment with it's own pool which was really nice but more like the sort of room we'd have expected compared to our previous visits to Greece, he offered this at a special rate of 30eu per night ! ( we spoke to someone there later and the week before it was for 40eu per night ) this included the safe Air con free which of course in Oct you certainly don't need, he then showed us our room in the old building and I made a comment saying it was going to the worst room which he took offence to and on seeing it i wasn't far wrong, like the reviewer Trainsboatsandplanes said ! people we met showed us their room in the old block and the difference was startling !! look at the photo's I've put in here not impressive but as my wife said it was adequate as it was old tired and out dated
Also on several occasions we had to put a towel at the base of the door to stop the sewer smell coming into the room at night, god that really did stink and we must have been right next to the breather vent ! YUK !
We had a late check out as well for 25eu basically for 5 hours ! 5 euros an hour wan't worth 1eu !
The cleaners were pleasant helpful and always made the room up every day, generally i would have left a tip for them but as we'd eaten out and drawn out even more cash for this i didn't have enough spare to do this
I'll post a couple of pictures i took of the condition of the room later

Food
Well same old same old comes to mind and not as hot as it should be, oh i almost forgot on arrival we were offered a ham and cheese toasty which i'd forgotten that they like these with very little toast to it but hey it was food and it adequate again
The food had no real taste and often look warm most of the time and no real different choices unless of course it was Greek night ! then you had some traditional food
Talking about the Greek night well this was more like the Tassos Karaoke evening which he ruined for everyone ! don't let him near the microphone again as everyone was cringing even the staff ! i mentioned that he should be stopped but they said he's the boss so they wouldn't confront him and his sister Mosh had gone by then !

We expected to eat out only a couple of evenings visiting our friends hence the all inclusive trying to save money but it was that bad that we decided to eat out on 5 of the 9 evenings we stayed there, proper Greek food hot tasty and decent drinks

Malakas
If you don't know what Malakas means in Greek look it up as Tassos is very conversant at using this quite loudly to his other evening cleaning guy ! he shouted this at the poor guy who didn't know where to put himself let alone us as we understood what it means but i suppose it should have been the cleaner calling him this ! this sums him up though

Entertainment
They provided Karaoke and a singer on our trip plus the Tassos experience, then when this wasn't on it was the music from the bar
This being directly above the entrance and looking out onto the sofa area meant it was loud until midnight on these evenings hence the tip to get into the new block here

All inclusive ?
OK so being all inclusive you would expect to be but no it wasn't, you had to pay for the safe, air con, WiFi at 1eu per hr and at 11 pm in the evening the normal all inclusive drinks stopped ! you had to pay for alcohol after then which were not the local rubbish or some foreign crap that was being served ! all inclusive ???
What a waste of money and a rip off this place is and overall it wasn't the best experience for us and somewhere where we will avoid in the future when we go back to Afandou and if you're anything like us you'll do the same

Pool
Well we didn't look around the pool but we were told it was cold by a couple we met there ( Nikk & Mick from Nottingham ) as we took them to Tsambika beach which they also loved and wished they'd hired a car themselves
Talking about hire cars i was confronted by Tassos outside one afternoon on this questioning how much I paid for the one i organised at the Airport on arrival ! bloody cheek of the man but he was in shock when I did tell him as he'd never been as competitive as Rodos Cars and the service is great so don't get ripped off at the hotel

Ratings
I wasn't sure on whether this is a 1 or 2 star so I decided to go with 2 because of the staff as they really tried to a difference, if there was a half then that's where i would rate this place

Room Tip: Make sure you get put in the new block as the old block is poor and above the bar for the entertainm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kiingalfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afandou
4.5 km away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.7 km away
Oasis Hotel Bungalows Rhodes
12.8 km away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#17 of 20 in Kallithea
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Afandou Bay Resort Suites
0.3 km away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Afandou
383 reviews
14.6 km away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#26 of 126 in Rhodes Town
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodos Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodos Star Hotel

Address: Lindos Rhodes, Afandou 851 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Afandou
#2 Romantic Hotel in Afandou
Price Range: $40 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodos Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rodos Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodos Star Afandou
Hotel Rodos Star
Rodos Star Hotel Afandou, Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing