We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the negative reviews!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cabbana Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Jalandhar
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I went to India with my parents and came back last week after staying at the Cabbana for 11 nights. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We were given a warm welcome when we first arrived. The rooms were clean and spacious with no sign of mould anywhere! The restaurant had a wide range of dishes and the waiters did as much they could for you. I went to the beauty salon and recieved a great service from the staff there. Me and my mum fell ill for a couple of days and the room service we ordered was quick and just what we needed. The location of the hotel is in between Phagwara and Jalandar and was easy to drive to and from each city. I did find however that the wifi was weak but I did use the business centre a lot. The assistant manager especially was very friendly, helpful and did everything he could to make sure we were happy staying at the Hotel Cabbana. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mudster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 165 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2011

My colleagues and I from New Zealand stayed at the Hotel Cabbana in April 2011, as we were visiting LPU (Lovely Professional University) on business the following day. LPU is one of the largest universities in India, and Hotel Cabbana is only a 10 minute drive away. Otherwise it is pretty much in the middle of nowhere, 30 minutes out of Jalandhar on the Jalandhar-Phagwara Highway. There is nothing around it, no shops, restaurants or other facilities, although for my short stay I enjoyed the fact that my bedroom windows looked out at wheat fields instead of buildings.
The Hotel Cabbana's marketing material state that this hotel is part of Hyatt Resorts Pvt Ltd, although I saw no mention of the Hyatt lineage within the hotel, nor can I find reference to the Cabbana on the Hyatt India website, which is unusual.
The Hotel definitely attempts to live up to its 5 star billing, although there were many instances when it felt rural and isolated. Staff are only basically trained, coffee in the restaurant took ages to serve, signage in the hotel is non existant, even things like the elevator stopping on the third floor, but the sign on the wall of the hall outside the elevator stating "Second floor"... go figure.
Rooms are spacious, and I saw nothing in the way of mould or deterioration in my room, in fact I thought the room very comfortable. All of my colleagues agreed that the beds were very comfortable, and the pillows luxurious. Fittings in the bedroom are very modern, with full glass picture windows between the ensuite bathroom and the bedroom. Toiletries were reasonably basic. Wifi internet in the room was free, although strangely username and passwords only lasted for one hour at a time, and reception desk had to resort to giving handfuls of wifi login details to get people through the evening. In my room the wifi signal was very weak so an IT support person came promptly when I complained, and installed a LAN cable to get a better broadband signal.
The gym in the hotel looked large, and the outdoor garden pool looked inviting.
I didn't drink in the bar, but had dinner and breakfast in the main restaurant. There were no weddings on while we were there (although I gather that conferences and weddings are the hotel's stock business) so we had the restaurant pretty much to ourselves. The dinner buffet was substantial and delicious, and the breakfast did include continental as well as cooked selections. It took forever to get a coffee however.
Apart from conferences and weddings, I am not sure who this hotel would appeal to, as it is half an hour away from Jalandhar. It did make a very convenient location for us visiting the nearby LPU campus however.
While the hotel had some definite quirky shortcomings, it was unexpectedly upmarket in comparison to the usual hotels in the area, and we all thought it very comfortable for a short stay.

Room Tip: If your free wifi is too slow, ask for a LAN cable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Well, where do I begin with this particular hotel! firstly I will concentrate on the positives. We stayed at the Cabanna Orchid during Feburary 2011 for 1 week. our first impression, the hotel was great, very spacious and rooms beautifcally presented with good bathroom facilities. The only flaws I found in the bedrooms was that all the sockets were positioned very close to flat surfaces which meant we could not use a UK adaptor and plug for our appliances such as hair straighteners and mobile charges. The only socket available to fit a UK plug was the TV one, which was no good as it meant I could not use a mirror to straighten my hair whilst having the straighteners plugged in or the TV had to be switched off whilst we charged our mobiles. A small flaw but generally the rooms lived up to 5*. The hotel is also eco friendly which I am a great fan off, however the centrally controlled key pad unit situated beside the bed whcih controls the air con and lights in the room did become a little annoying after a while as the central switch at night switches off all the lights incluidng the bathroom ones so you have to constantly go back to the unit and reswitch it on as the lights dont automatically switch on when you press the light switches. Now onto the negatives which there are a few I am afraid. Firstly the weddings at the hotel. Between October and March, india's wedding season there is a wedding reception held at the hotel pretty much every other day. During our 7 day stay we had 3 weddings, the music was extremely loud and went on until 3am in the morning. If you are banking on a good nights rest and sleep, avoid this hotel altoghether. The complaints from guests also fell on deaf ears with the hotel staff avoiding the issue as best they can. Apparently wedding receptions is a huge income generator for the hotel at the expense of other paying guests. The other main disaapoint was that the location of the hotel which is strategically situated 5 kilometres from Phagwara town centre. There are no taxis, STDs or local shops in walking distance so you have to either use the hotel taxi, which costs R3000 for a day's hire or flag down a Auto off the main road, not really ideal but costs a mere R100 to get you into the town centre. The final part of my review and an important one was the restaurant and service. The food is not brilliant at this five star hotel and there was no continental breakfast available but instead curry based dishes in the morning. The waiters although very pleasant and always on hand to help, did nevertheless struggle to understand basic instructions and requests from us in English, like when I asked for a pot of boiling water for my tea bag it was brought luke warm and no milk or cup and saucer which i had to ask for. we asked for no chilli in our omlettes several times and they continued to add chillis much to our frustrations! The morning breakfast is a bit of a strange set up in that the tables have no napkins or cups and saucers for tea/coffee but wine glasses placed on them instead. The tea and coffee is made Indian style which doesnt taste pleasant at all, hence i used my own tea bags. If you plan to eat here at lunch or evenings be prepared to pay premium prices, the food is very expensive and an average meal with beer cost us around R2000 per seating, water is charged at more than a £1 per medium sized bottle with taxes and services, although there are 2 small complimentary bottles placed in the roooms each day. The food is very very rich to the point where it can be sickly as everything has butter and cream added to it and despite our requests not to add these items to the food, the waiters still did much to our dissapointment. So to sum up I have given this hotel a thee star rating as it didint quite measure up to our expectations in the restaurant services and in particular noise we had to put up with during the early hours.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank virky10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

I was attending a wedding for which a reservation was made and given the wrong room by reception. A suite had been booked but was given a standard room. Next day I was charged for a suite instead of the standard room I stayed in. The Manager Ashish Kaushal accepted not responsibility and basically said I was lying. Having a young family and needing to attend another function I had no option but to pay. Be very careful at this hotel they will rip you off given the opportunity and waste your time knowing you have to leave. No apology or compnwsatin offerred.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Hari100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This accomodation was from hell! The cleanliness in the bathroom was a disgrace, there were worms and centipedes mould and used toiletries. The guestroom doors didn't have hinges to prevent them from slamming and disturbing other guests. I was told by a member of staff during a buffet breakfast that I'd have to pay for orange juice, can you believe it? Out of courtesy the hotel management didn't have the sense to warn guests that the hotel holds weddings until early hours of the morning using applified music which caused disruption (2am). In the end I check out early for sanity. The staff only know two words sorry and thank you, but have no idea what they are sorry for. Their Taxi service is non existent so please do not use it! the hotel use an outside Taxi agency which are non reliable!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stunned077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jalandhar hotels
15.8 km away
Radisson Hotel Jalandhar
Radisson Hotel Jalandhar
#1 of 36 in Jalandhar
389 reviews
13.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jalandhar
15.5 km away
Ramada Jalandhar City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
The Maya Hotel
The Maya Hotel
#4 of 36 in Jalandhar
201 reviews
13.8 km away
Sarovar Portico Jalandhar
Sarovar Portico Jalandhar
#3 of 36 in Jalandhar
174 reviews
15.9 km away
Ramada Encore Jalandhar
Ramada Encore Jalandhar
#16 of 36 in Jalandhar
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabbana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabbana Resort & Spa

Address: NH-1 Jalandhar - Ludhiana Highway | Jalandhar, Jalandhar 144001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Jalandhar District > Jalandhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Jalandhar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jalandhar
Price Range: $105 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cabbana Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Cabbana Resort & Spa, is a five star eco-hotel brand offering exceptional value and attractive accommodation. Cabbana Resort & Spa, superior Value, convenience and home like comfort with quality and guest satisfaction. A place where luxury pampers you. A completely furbished resort & spa that surpasses every expectation. Spread over 17 acres lush greenery , Cabbana Resort & Spa is a perfect blend of scenic beauty, comfort, recreation and peace. For those who prefer living life king size, Cabbana resort offers a grand holistic holiday therapy. Cabbana Resort & Spa boasts of 47 elegantly appointed spacious rooms, including 4 Suites offering an exclusive experience with modern facilities and services. Located in outskirts of the Jalandhar city, Cabbana Resort & Spa is surrounded by the lush green gardens with an exotic views. The hotel is a perfect blend of utility, luxury and comfort hence catering to the needs of both business and leisure travelers. Here, the elegance is complimented with world class five star services. This centrally located hotel on the National Highway is just 15 min away from Jalandhar City Centre, 5 min from Phagwara Railway Station & Bus Stand. The hotel offers unique facilities like, Complimentary Coffee/Tea maker in room, Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all the rooms, Large bathtubs in all the rooms, Large cubical shower and vanity area in all the rooms, Hair dryers in all the rooms, Bathrooms with herbal toiletries , Complimentary usage of gymnasium and swimming pool. Packaged Mineral water in each room, Buffet Breakfast in the coffee shop, The Flavors, Daily Newspaper as per choice, Ironing board, Doctor on Call, Concierge Service, Valet Service, Business Centre, Electronic Safe, Round the Clock Room Service, Express laundry service, Diners at Hotel Cabbana have a plethora of options. Its features Flavors, The Coffee Shop ,Global Cuisine Restaurant., 888, The Bar,24x7 In Room Dining,Tea Lounge and Kitty Halls.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cabbana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cabbana Resort & Spa Jalandhar, Punjab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing