We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,089)
Filter reviews
1,089 results
Traveller rating
566
401
86
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
566
401
86
21
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,089 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2014

First, this is the Hotel Caldas da Imperatriz, not the Plaza Caldas Da Imperatriz Resort & Spa. The former is a historic hotel in an old hosptial building. The latter is a new chain-type resort with activities for kids, etc.
If you want to take some hot mineral baths, lounge in the smallish pool while being served caparinas, and eat, then this is your place. Lots of German-Portuguese here. Not much to do but it's really relaxing.

Room tip: rooms in back have no wifi
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 330MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Have stayed here on 2 occasions now. Lovely natural setting and good facilities so plenty of things to do. Full board buffet-style food and plenty of choice. Only negative that it is quite noisy in the corridoors at night and sound-proofing is not great - can make it difficult to sleep until well after midnight, especially if you are on a lower floor and facing the pool at the front.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPiggyMalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We are a family with 2 small kids and loved our week long stay in this resort, settled in the green hills around Florianopolis (less then 1 h drive from the airport). The reason we choose the resort was for its termal baths and SPA and the fact the hotel has kids animation while the parents can enjoy a relaxing holiday surrounded by nature. All our expactations were met! Our kids were entertained and had fun the whole day long while we could enjoy the nature and the termal baths and pools & sauna`s (not accesable for kids) and excellent SPA . There are also pools with termal water where the whole family can enter so we also had great family time together. Comfortable rooms with wireless access and jacuzzi with termal water in the bathroom! Very kind and professional staff. The hotel restaurant is excellent and during the entire week we enjoyed the best meals we had in this type of resort, and the fact that drinks are included is for sure a a plus! We were all sad to leave and recommend this hotel to every family looking forward to a relaxing family trip!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LetsGotoPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

as otherbtravellers have said, nature is magnificent, spring waters are delicious and the food is very good. odds are: 1. it's too noisy!!! around 6am people start turning on their jacuzzis, and you are to listen to every engine around. hallways are all made out of stone, so you listen to the kids screaming as if they are inside your room. 2. beds, pillows and robes have to be urgently replaced. all you need when in a resort is to have a good night of sleep, and that's not possible with the current structure. well, maybe the higher standard suites have better equipment, but the average room where I was staying was deceptive. 3. room service also needs improvement - we called the hotel confirming our reservation for one couple with two kids, and arrived at the hotel on a friday around midnight. when we got to our room, there was only one bed for the kids, and we had to wait for the other to be brought and set. then we asked cheeseburgers for a snack before sleeping, it took more than one hour to be delivered, and when arrived, was completely cold, my kids were already asleep.

Room tip: ask for a room facing the valley.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anapgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cláudia H, Gerente de relações públicas at Plaza Caldas Da Imperatriz Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013
Google Translation

Srª Ana, suas observações foram imediatamente repassadas para nossas equipes para verificações e análises. Nosso trabalho e nossas decisões são tomadas com o objetivo principal de acolher da melhor maneira nossos hóspedes, para que eles tenham momentos de relaxamento, diversão, conforto, qualidade e tranquilidade, por isso, retornos como o seu nos entristecem mas também nos mostram que temos que continuar perseguindo capacitações e atualizações que gerem excelentes resultados. Sentimos pelos desconfortos relatados. Esperamos poder recebê-los novamente, desta vez em uma suíte que melhor atenda suas expectativas. Carlos Higgie - Gerente-Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I have been many times in Plaza Hotel Ipanema but Hotel Caldas Da Empertriz is awesome. The cleansing, the vegetation, the personnel really deserve a visit. I only go when I want to loose weight and have relax and lot of training. The food even though is just 700/900 calories per day is delicious and the treatments and physical activities are so well organised that you forget the food.
The only drawback is that during the weekend the hotel received a lot of locals who are anxious to enjoy the benefit of the thermal waters so they are everywhere but even though I will come back!

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panther59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cláudia H, Gerente de relações públicas at Plaza Caldas Da Imperatriz Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013
Google Translation

Agradecemos sua gentil avaliação. Nossos SPAs possuem excelentes tratamentos e atividades que beneficiam corpo e mente. Para que possas continuar aproveitando e tendo ótimas impressões do Resort, sugerimos que aproveite nossas promoções e oportunidades para os dias de semana. Seja sempre bem-vinda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews