We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Porto do Zimbo
Nearby Hotels
Villa dos Graffitis Pousada(Morro de Sao Paulo)
USD 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Catavento Praia Hotel(Morro de Sao Paulo)
USD 65
USD 59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Anima Hotel(Morro de Sao Paulo)
USD 91
USD 85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Patachocas(Morro de Sao Paulo)
USD 151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Portalo Boutique Hotel(Morro de Sao Paulo)
USD 99
USD 94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hi Hostel & Pousada Escorregue No Reggae(Morro de Sao Paulo)(Great Value!)
USD 40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Bahia Brasil(Morro de Sao Paulo)(Great Value!)
USD 39
USD 38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Vila dos Orixas(Morro de Sao Paulo)
USD 136
USD 133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Bahia Bella(Morro de Sao Paulo)
USD 80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Che Lagarto Hostels(Morro de Sao Paulo)(Great Value!)
USD 40
USD 27
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
53
35
12
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
35
12
6
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I want to start by saying that there is only one thing going for this place and that is the location.
It is at the end of the 4th beach on the island of Morro de Sao Paulo right on the beach where you have fantastic views especially when there is a full moon out BUT that is it.
I was so disgusted with the rooms that I don't even know where to begin. We have ended up booking this hotel because of the family we have travelled with who had stayed there 8 years ago
and recevied fantastic service!! They forgot that they were young and had no kids then :-))
In total, we had 4 adults and 4 young kids with ages 3, 6, 7 & 9 in our group. Each family paid $400 a night!!! In return we got toilets that were not flushing, shower that had only trickling water, flooded floors due to water leakage and stuff that was rusting away in the rooms!! The owner of this place is out there to rob people in broad daylight by offering a zero star service. We have ended up with a toilet that was NOT flushhing for the duration of our stay and all the owner could say was "I am sorry, I am doing the best I can and I can NOT give you any discount or refund but can offer you a dinner!! for your troubles". He was ONLY too happy to charge $400/night, take our money and basically tell us to get lost. Yet, the ECO resort, Patachocas, next to this place, where I've stayed 3 years ago and if it weren't for our neighbors' insistence we were going to stay again, was much cheaper then this place with better infrastructure, great swimming pool and fantastic service. Got to know the owner of the ECO resort and we have ended up using their facilities instead of staying at this nightmare of a place. This "Hotel" was the ONLY downside of our trip as the whole family have enjoyed the island and it's surroundings very much. My advise, never stay at this place until such time where the owner either invests in this "Hotel" to upgrade it or just shuts it down as it doesn't deserve to be where it is today. There are a lot of places on the island where you can pay $50/night and get a similar room. It still makes me feel sick to my stomach when I think about that we have paid $400/night to stay at this place. One VERY IMPORTANT note, if you book and end up staying at this place, DO NOT let the "Hotel" to charge you in advance when you arrive. This was our biggest mistake where we were asked to pay for the rooms in advance which WE DID pay and couldn't get up and leave. This was the very reason why we have ended up staying at this place as the owner doesn't refund your money. He knew that after finding out the conditions of the rooms we would have left after a night's stay. Ohh, the A/C unit works like a tractor!!

Room Tip: There are NO NICE rooms here. Very noisy A/C untis but if you want a nice view, stay on the 1st floor rooms with a sea view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EpicureanSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

Stayed at Porto do zimbo in the off- season. We were the only ones in the hotel, yet found it hard to get help by staff at times. Located on the fourth beach, it was a 2.5 km walk on the beach to the village, which was a relaxing and beautiful walk. After staying in Rio De Janeiro and Salvador this was our least favorite hotel. It was far more like a motel. There was only one person who barely spoke English, and he was unable to be found after we first checked in.

The accomodations seemed very dated and was more like a motel than a hotel. The breakfast was very disappointing as well. The water pressure in the shower was terrible, so bad that the sand never seemed to wash off your skin. But the island was great and we really enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Devorah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Eduardo C, Gerente at Hotel Porto do Zimbo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Eduardo C, Gerente at Hotel Porto do Zimbo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews