We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Lakeside Resort(Watkins Glen)(Great Value!)
USD 101*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Longhouse Lodge Motel(Watkins Glen)
USD 128*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Motor Inn(Watkins Glen)
USD 140*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chieftain Motel(Watkins Glen)
USD 88*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Budget Inn(Watkins Glen)
USD 106*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gorgeous View Motel(Watkins Glen)(Great Value!)
USD 118*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn And Marina(Watkins Glen)
USD 92*
USD 88*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 123*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Falls Motel(Montour Falls)(Great Value!)
USD 122*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 111*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,299)
Filter reviews
1,299 results
Traveller rating
1,011
232
38
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,011
232
38
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelturn down servicefinger lakeshotel restaurantlake viewblue pointewould highly recommend this hotelcoffee stationtiled showerhardwood floorsthe entire hotelfire pitbalcony roomwe ate breakfastsouthern tip of seneca lakeoff seasoncoffee and tea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,086 - 1,091 of 1,299 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This hotel looks brand new, yet it still looks like it belongs at the southern tip of Seneca lake. It truly is a perfect location. The views of the harbor are picturesque yet you are within walking distance of shops and restaurants in Watkins Glen. It is also directly on the wine trail, there are at least 10 wineries within 5 or 6 miles of the hotel. The room was spotless and very comfortable. They left a bottle of champagne in our room because we were celebrating our anniversary. Parking was free.We ate at the restaurant down stairs for dinner and it was delicious. Everything we had was fresh and tasty. Their concierge service was also outstanding when we came back from a wine tour they got us a luggage cart for our wine and when we asked about places to eat in the area they took the time to ask a few questions about what we like and then suggested a few places. Her suggestion was perfect and it was great service. There is only one negative thing I can say, I was disappointed that there was no gift shop.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the front that overlook the parking lot and Watkins Glen, I would suggest upgrading and getting a lake view, those are on the back and the view of the harbor is really nice. You can really upgrade to get a balcony. We couldn't on this trip but wish we had. Book early for the best rates and availability. I looked at the rooms early on in my planning but by the time I booked it was more money and the balcony rooms were gone.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbugsforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel the week of Thanksgiving 2011. Having never been to this area of New York, we were interested in the excellent wines and the scenery around the lakes. Not the best time of year to visit due to the cold and many of the trails in the state parks being closed, but we still had an enjoyable time.

The Harbor Hotel is a fairly new facility (opened in 2008) that sits right at the south end of Seneca Lake in Watkins Glen, NY. The hotel actually looks over the small harbor and then on up the lake. If you want this view however, you have to request a Lakeview or harbor side room. And if you want a balcony, make sure to request the Lakeview patio. Otherwise, there are less expensive rooms (called Village View) that look towards the parking lot and town of Watkins Glen as well as the cliff face that is a portion of the state park.

We stayed in a Lakeview King patio with a sofa/bed, as there were 3 of us. We were given a room on the top floor with a balcony. Although it was cold, the rain stayed away most of our stay so the balcony was a nice amenity. In the summer months, this balcony would be a great extra splurge for your room as the views are very nice. The rooms, being fairly new, were well maintained and comfortable. The maid service was very professional and it seemed that they kept a watch on our room so that they “knew” when we were gone and would quickly and efficiently make up our room before we returned. There was also turn down service every night as an added bonus.

The hotel has a small fitness room with elliptical machines and treadmills as well as a multi-purpose weight machine. This fitness room has a view of the harbor as you work out as well as TVs built into the machines. There is also an indoor pool that looked nice however we didn’t try it out. Outside, there is a nice patio that has a fire pit. I believe in the warmer months there are dining amenities out there and it is just off of the bar area.

There is a nice upscale restaurant in the hotel called Blue Pointe Grille as well as a nicely appointed adjacent bar. We ate at the restaurant one evening and the food was very good, although expensive. One plus to the restaurant was that we weren’t charged a corkage fee for a nice bottle of wine we had purchased at a Finger Lakes winery. I’m not sure if this is because we were staying at the hotel or that it was a slower weeknight but make sure to ask. There are so many great wineries in this region, you’ll want to bring some of your purchases to the local restaurants, corkage fee or not.

Except for Thanksgiving, we ate at various restaurants in Watkins Glen and the surrounding villages. We ate one night at Jerlando’s Ristorante in Watkins however we felt this was just an average Italian restaurant. Another night we ate at The Village Tavern in Hammondsport, which was unique and had very good reasonably priced food. Their selection of beers and wines was amazing if you are so inclined. We also ate in Ithaca one evening with friends who live there – I’d recommend searching on Trip Advisor or other restaurant recommendation sites as there seem to be many nice restaurants in this college town (home of Cornell University).

I mentioned Thanksgiving dinner. I had made reservations for us for the Thanksgiving buffet provided by the Blue Pointe Grille but set up in the large conference rooms at the hotel. If you happen to be in the area on Thanksgiving, I’d recommend this for your dinner, as the buffet was excellent. In addition to turkey, there were other well prepared meats and the side dishes were all very well done. And the dessert offerings were all worth sampling if you had the room after gorging on the large buffet. We again brought a bottle of Finger Lakes wine with us and this time were charged a nominal $10 corkage fee. I believe the buffet fee was $25.00 per person but it was worth every penny and judging from the crowded dining area, this is a highlight Thanksgiving buffet for this region so if you plan on this for next year, make your reservations early.

Don’t miss the Corning Glass Museum if you happen to be staying in the Finger Lakes area. Well worth a visit as this is a very unique and enjoyable museum. And lastly, do visit your share of wineries in the region. Having done many “winery trips” in the past, I would have to say that this region is one of my favorites and holds it’s own to any wine tasting trips anywhere in the U.S., including Napa!

Overall, our stay at The Harbor Hotel was very nice and the Finger Lakes region is an excellent vacation destination. Hopefully, we’ll be able to go back up there in the summer or fall at some time in the future.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, ask for a lake view patio. Also ask for a harbor view or you may end up on other side of hotel. Fourth floor is the highest.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Situated on Lake Seneca, this hotel is very well run, spotlessly clean, and the rooms are large and very comfortable. I stayed there for my birthday with my husband and my two adult children and their husbands. We had a wonderful time. The hotel staff made it a very special weekend for us. We found the food in the hotel restaurant to be delicious and Eric, our waiter was very attentive. We had the opportunity to use the pool and whirlpool, both of which were well maintained and very clean. All the staff were just wonderful. I would recommend this hotel to just about everyone, and I will definately stay there again.
Rosemary G

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozy8703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I stayed at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel during the Seneca Wine Trial Deck the Halls event in Dec 2011. There were 5 of us in a double queen with kitchenette. The room was spotless and spacious. One issue was that the air handling was LOUD. One the second night it didn't seem to run as much but the person on the air matress was in a strong air current when the heat was on and she was chilly as a result.
We forgot about coffee being down the hall but it was excellent and we didn't have to fuss with it in the room - no mess! We enjoyed walks on the docks and around the marina. Loved the firepit outside (would have been better if the smokers from the event inside would have kept their distance, however).
Watkins Glen is a warm and gracious town. We had great meals at places within walking distance. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel and Watkins Glen.

Room Tip: Spring for lake view - we used the little patio to watch fireworks.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The main street through downtown Watkins Glen NY ends at Seneca Lake, and the entrance to the lovely Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel. It feels new, crisp and well appointed. The inviting lobby was bright with tasteful holiday decor. The staff is ready and waiting- professional and genuinely happy to serve you, both in manner and appearance. Check in was efficient, fast, and our bags were immediately taken up to the room, even though it was a busy place on this particular weekend. Our attractive suite was large and immaculate with a gorgeous view of the lake and harbor. The bathroom has a walk in shower, jacuzzi tub, and a seperate toilet room. They permitted us to put 5 people in the suite and provided a queen sized air mattress, as tall as a normal bed, made up with high quality bedding as was the extremely comfortable sofa bed and king bed in the room. When our two nieces arrived the following day to use the air mattress it had lost some air and was somewhat deflated as we discovered at 8 PM that night. Not to worry, the staff replaced the mattress and bedding promptly so everyone was comfortable for the night. The room service and the Grille restaurant in the hotel were excellent-nice menu for dinner and breakfast the next morning and great atmosphere. I cannot compliment the staff enough- they go out of their way to be accommodating and courteous and they really "jumped through hoops" for us to get that replacement air mattress as the hotel was completely occupied that night. This is a five star operation on all levels. What a treat!

Room Tip: Discuss your specific needs with the staff ahead of time and they will make it happen for you.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews