We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable and nicely furnished”
other travellers have booked this property
House is visible in upper right section of the photo near the Tower
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House is visible in upper right section of the photo near the Tower
Cosy kitchen and diner..or you can sit outside on the terrace Covered terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
House is visible in upper right section of the photo near the Tower
Cosy kitchen and diner..or you can sit outside on the terrace
Covered terrace
Kitchen and diner
lower bedroom
Lounge
Lower bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Lounge
KItchen and diner
First Floor
Ground Floor
Chateau du Cayrou
Puy L'Eveque
Pont, Cahors
Lot River Panorama
Chateau de Bar |
Eglise de Courbenac
Eglise de Issudel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Puy-l'Eveque, Lot, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Richjjohn
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 608 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and nicely furnished”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for about a week as we explored the Lot Department. The house had all the items necessary for a pleasant stay. While the house is very old, it has all the modern equipment. Easy parking at the Town Hall, several good bakeries for morning bread, easy grocery shopping and a fascinating town. Morning markets in nearby towns were great fun to experience. The owner and manager were easy to work with and we had no problems at all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern appliances and large rooms
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2015
It was a pleasure to receive our first guests from the USA. Thank you for your kind words - it was a pleasure to host you and we hope to see you again. Sincerely Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
go-gags
Manchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great accommodation in a beautiful location!...”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My husband and I spent several days here as we travelled down through France into Spain - and this accommodation was superb! It had lots of character and was very well presented and very comfortable.
It was set down a quiet side street but was still just a couple of minutes away from the shops, restaurants and amenities of the town.
The town itself is very pretty with some lovely walks along the side of the river Lot and there are many small towns and villages along the Lot valley which are well worth a visit.
A great base for a holiday! Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness
Liked least: No negatives!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2015
We're very happy that you enjoyed the house and Puy! We try to describe them accurately and really appreciate the thoughts of our guests. Hope to see you again, Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruffred
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Authentic , well located house , perfect for our needs”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Maisson du Fort in October 2014 , at the end of the season . The house itself , nestled in a tiny alleyway was one of the most "rustic" we have ever stayed in . All the comforts of a self contained rental , a nice little welcome package , clear instructions and recommendations for things to do and places to see , and a good collection of English language books . The place was as described or better .
The local area has an excellent selection of restaurants , boulangeries and charcuteries and supermarche al within easy walking . We were still discovering little alleyways on our last day . Cycling was high on our agenda and it did not disappoint , an easy ride to the southern side of the river opens up some great routes up or down the river . Go to the local tourism office and purchase the 2 or 3 velo maps for 1 euro each for a good overview of some good rides . Not to be missed and as per Ian's suggestion is a short walk to the village square with panoramic views over the beautiful Lot river and surrounds . One of the most enjoyable weeks and rental properties we have stayed in France
Steve , Sydney

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Centre Ville location , laid back nature of the village
Liked least: Outdoor living (due to central location) was limited
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Thanks, Steve, for your positive review. I'm pleased that your stay managed to combine cycling with a laid-back stay as we had discussed, and that the house and Puy met your expectations as a seasoned traveller.
Thank you for a great end to our first season, Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myffie201...
Bowraville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real village home away from home!”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A fantastic home away from home but with the experience of true french village life. Tucked away near the village square and a great base for exploring the Lot and Dordogne valleys markets etc The kitchen and fridge was stocked and a complimentary bottle of wine and biscuits! The owner Ian was so helpful by email with great ideas of things to do. Thanks Ian

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2014
I'm really happy that the reviewer had a great stay! She had researched her holiday carefully and enthusiastically and I enjoyed offering ideas and suggestions to help make the most of the holiday. It has been a pleasure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff B
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location in beautiful town”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

La Maison du Fort is a comfortable house in a great location in the beautiful medieval town. It is very close to the weekly market and most things are available nearby. We were there during the summer festival, and enjoyed the wine tastings, the music and atnosphere. The fireworks across the river at the foot of the town were absolutely breathtaking! The are some beautiful walks though wineyards and forests nearby. The house is well equiped and we enjoyed cooking the local produce, accompagnied by excellent Lot wine. The path down to the house is quite steep as the old village is built on a steep hillside, but did not present problems to us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review - we're pleased that you had a good holiday and enjoyed the local holiday festivities. August is a great time to be there!

Kind Regards

Ian B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing