We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2017

My wife and I relaxed at the Protea for two days after a safari and before going to Chumbe. A great way to relax and rejuvenate. We took two dinners under the stars at the hotel. Service was slow, but the food was excellent and the setting was unbeatable. We felt that the staff really tried to do their best and provide great service.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which has a large balcony off it and was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ALRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is situated not far from the airport, is a great quiet location... no other hotels around. Situated partially in the mangroves. But still beautiful. It has a jetty out in to the sea with great views of the coastline. The restaurant is elevated amongst the trees with amazing views for dinner, breakfast and lunch .
I was there 3 nights and ate dinner there twice. First evening had the kingfish in a banana leave... gorgeous. The third night I had the seafood salad. It was ok but nothing amazing. In fact it took me a while to find the calamari... and probably only had 1/2 A prawn in total. It was topped with cubed fish... would have preferred much more calamari and prawn though.
Staff were lovely, room was nice, bed comfy with lovely views. Only downside was when AC was on cold. It leaked over the bed. But least the room was cool at night.
The hotel offers a shuttle 3 times a day in to town and pick up 2 times.... very handy

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank ChellyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We are extensive Marriott travelled and chose this place because it was associated with the marriott franchise. It is a marriott wannabe, not a marriott. The property has so much potential but the maintenance is lacking. We were placed in the "newly renovated" section. The shower tiles were mildewed, water leaked under the shower doors and doors were chipped. Once we complained the staff did "try"and attend to it but I feel they are not adequately resourced by the holding company. They are way understaffed.

The beach is not really a beach. Is a sand bank amongst mangroves and most of the time the tide is low so you end up walking over 1/4 km out to the water.

Internet is non existent most of the time.

Even though we are gold members (that's why we chose a marriott property) we still had to pay for breakfast. Marriott should look into this.

The restaurant staff is friendly and helpful but need more training.

I would rate this as a hotel itself with a big 0. The only reason it is a 3 is because I rate the staff as 5. They are trying their best under the circumstances to make amends for the lack of proper amenities. Despite their best attempts to take care of what is lacking, there is only so much they can do to put bandaids on.

The hotel provides a shuttle to stone town which is a nice plus.

I would not recommend this property if you are looking for a beach holiday. You can see the receded tide in the photos.

It is away from stone town but the shuttle is helpful and if shuttle doesn't run at the time you want to go, you can get a taxi for $10.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank arndtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, Group General Manager - Protea Hotels by Marriott(Dsm/Znz) at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear arndtheworld

Good day, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I assure you that enough financial resources have been allocated towards the renovation and upgrading of the property. We had identified a few issues with the renovated rooms and the contractor has been asked to finish all pending works & address the snags which will be done from the 20th September onwards as we are fully booked till then. We hope to finish all renovation works by January 2018 and I promise you that you will be able to notice the visibly positive changes. We have discussed your feedback quite seriously with the STAFF and necessary corrective actions (including retraining) will be taken. We look forward to host you again & offer you a 100% satisfactory stay. Kindly accept our sincere apologies once again.


Dinish Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

It was my first stay at this property and I didn't know what to expect!

At the end of our vacation in Zanzibar I decided with my wife to stay for a short period of time at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins. We could have chosen more days in this GEM as we had a wonderful time and we enjoyed everything in our experience: the breakfast, the view from our room and balcony, the beautiful beach as well as the service and the friendly staff.

The room was clean and beautiful and it was the closest to the beach (#11). The staff at the reception and the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. I've seen the Manager late in the evening as well as early in the morning talking to guests and liked how he approached us.

I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Beautiful room with a very nice balcony, so close to the beach that you could hear the sound of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moha-Brih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

My husband and I stayed at Protea Hotel by Marriott (Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins) for 6 nights in July. Even though a part of the resort was being renovated, it didn’t have any impact on our stay. We enjoyed walks by the beach, meals with a view of the sea and dates by the pier. The food was lovely and the staff was very warm and efficient. Over three time slots during the day, the hotel arranges drop-offs to, and pick-ups from Stone Town – which makes it very convenient to plan your itinerary. A special thanks to Shekhar, the manager. He always went the extra mile to ensure we had a great trip. He would not only guide us on the best things to do in Zanzibar he would also help with making arrangements. He helped us plan our trip from the minute we booked our stay at the hotel, even before we landed in Zanzibar. That made all the difference because after we landed all we did was execute our plans and soak in all the wonders of Zanzibar. It was my husband’s birthday on the last day of our trip in Zanzibar. Shekhar and the staff at the restaurant set up a romantic lunch date for us – one that we will never forget (the food was great too!). I hope to return to Protea some day.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anjali-Neeraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
55.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
5.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
34 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
562 reviews
5.6 km away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
17.8 km away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins

Address: Plot number 143/93, Mbweni Street | Kiembe Samakie, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $188 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Protea in the beautiful Zanzibar, Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins provides the perfect choice for both beach and Stone Town holidays in Zanzibar. We are located amidst Mbweni Ruins dating back to 1870s and a beautiful botanical garden. The hotel is ten minutes away from Stone Town, airport, ferry terminal and the CBD of Zanzibar. Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins is a cozy boutique hotel offering serene accommodations amidst a rare blend of history, greenery and ocean with a beautiful beach. Traditional Zanzibar hospitality at its best is offered at an affordable price. It's a hotel that complements your travel style. The site where the hotel is built was once an old Arab house, which was then bought by UMCA missionaries in 1871 to build a school for girls. The hotel makes a perfect base for exploring Stone Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mbweni Ruins
Protea Hotel By Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing