We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,188)
Filter reviews
1,188 results
Traveller rating
424
468
195
76
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
468
195
76
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no alcohol nice pool overlooking the beach swimming pool freddie mercury prison island fantastic location family room antique furniture the hotel manager old world charm indian ocean night market charming hotel central location double room forodhani gardens
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,188 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018

My boyfriend and I were travelling in Zanzibar for about 10 days at the end of September. We had read reviews of Tembo Hotel (mixed but mainly positive) so decided to book. On arrival, check in went as smoothly as can be (considering we arrived very early) and our room was early so no waiting around (hooray!). However, we did not realise that there was in fact a separate building across the road (down an alleyway) which is where we were staying. This was the 'apartment' building and was not as 'grand' as the main hotel. We had no idea that we would be staying in this section and for the price, I felt a little hard done by. The room was nice and bathroom clean, but in comparison to the main hotel - just a little bare.
The breakfast was good and having your meals overlooking the beach is very nice.
Overall I would recommend this hotel but be careful to check which building you are in!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sage16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights. We were there 1 week ago just for a drink and sunset. The stuff was so nice that we said we will stay at Tembo before we leave the island after our round trip. So we did and we are very happy about this decision. We stayed during our trip in 5 other hotels and at Tembo were the best food. Also they arrange me soyamilk. They are very friedly to the customer. I would stay there again. You have the beach, good food and you are central.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank verenad2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We were there for only one night but we really liked the hotel. The manager Mr. Yacoub upgraded our room and was very courteous to us. The breakfast was nice with a nice sea view. Only negative aspect is that the ships' noise is too loud if you are a light sleeper.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. The staff is very friendly and professional. We were upgraded and were very happy about that. I highly recommend this hotel. The view of the room 200 is just stunning! Thanks so much to make our stay as a dream.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mathougoub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing week at tembo hotel when we were on holiday.
We had our room in the annex of the hotel at the other side of the street (which was only a problem because i couldnt get to the pool in just a swimsuit) and we were surprised by that (which wasnt justified because it was mentioned in the confirmation we just didnt pay attention to it).
Anyway they picked us up from the airport with a little table with our names (felt like a superstar). The staff were really nice and helpful and everybody just smiled a lot. :)
Sometimes we didnt feel like going out fir dinner and ate at the place and the food there is really nice and they give big portions. They have a lot of options too.
The breakfast was also really nice and on sundays they have special zanzibar offer (can’t remember the name). They have an omlette and a pancake table where the chef is really nice.
When we checked out there was a slight mixup apparently the booking.com confirmation didnt match with their account but at the end it got sorted.
All in all, do recommend !!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 961j_liak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews