We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tent with a view to Rufiji River”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Selous Impala Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selous Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Selous Impala Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Horgen
Level Contributor
149 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Tent with a view to Rufiji River”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Feb 2012 @ the Selous Impala Camp. We arrived from Dar es Salaam and have been picked up by Gerald, our guide for the next 3 days. He immediately offered us fresh towels and some juice.

The we drove to the camp and had our first small game drive.

Once arrived at the camp we checked in, got a first introduction and went to our tent. Selous Impala is a permanent camp, therefore there was alway hot water available.

The bedroom was nicely equipped and quite big. We had two sun chairs on the veranda.

Together with Gerald we did every morning a game drive. We got an wake up call @ 06:00. Wake up call means a waiter comes to your tent and brings coffee, tea and some cookies with him. So a quick shower and and the game drive started at 06:30. Game drive in Selous is different than in Serengeti. You are allowed to drive off-road. However it is more difficult to spot the animals because the territory is different. Not so flat and more trees. But Gerald did quite good in that.

At arround 10:00 we made a stop and had a bush breakfast. This means a table and two chairs in the wilderness and the we got tea, coffee, muesli, eggs, bacon, sausages, juice and fruits. Breakfast in the wilderness with view to the animals is a really different experience.

at around 13:00 we had been back in the camp for lunch. Delicious.

at 16:00 we started the afternoon activities. We normally went by boat to the Rufiji River. Hipos, Crocodiles and a lot of different birds - quite amazing. On day after the boat trip we enjoyed a sunset drink out in the wilderness.

Around 18:30 / 19:00 back to the camp. Before dinner we normally had a drink around an open fire.

For dinner we had always a different table at a different place. The most impressive one was the bush dinner at an open fire and a Genet cat around. Throughout the whole stay we had our own waiter. And after dinner or lunch we always drank a good Italian espresso

on the game drive we saw Elephants, Buffalos, Lions, Hunting Dogs, Giraffes and and and
On the boat we saw Hippos, Crocodiles, Kingfisher, Eagles, Bee Eaters, Fly Catchers and and and

Mille grazie to Andrea, Lorenzo and the whole team for a wonderful stay. Very well done.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
171
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nungwi, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Great camp, excellent service, impeccably clean, great food!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

i decided to suprise my girlfriend with a safari and having been on several myself before thought id try the selous. The selous impala immediately jumped out at me due to its idyllic position on the river banks. We were greeted by the whole team on arrival and immediately we just felt at home. The rooms were immaculate and i have no idea how the kitchen staff managed to produce such exquisite food in a makeshift hut! The safari tours were expertly led and the guides themselves had such a passion and it showed. I actually ended up proposing to my girlfriend here at a private table out in the bush arranged by the manager beforehand...and i cant imagine anywhere else id rather do it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank himle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headcorn, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had never been to Africa but knew we wanted to start our honeymoon with a safari. We had received lots of conflicting information and advice about the best places to go. In the end we went to a specialist travel agent who put together the holiday for us. The safari cost more than we anticipated but wow we were treated like royalty! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were so looked after. The tents were superb the food was wonderful and the staff really friendly. Our guide Gerard was so knowledgeable and a pleasure to spend four days with. The afternoon river safaris were relaxing after six hours of driving each day. The bush breakfasts were intimate and broke the morning up nicely. It was perfect and we got to see all the big game and were especially lucky to see a mother leopard and her two cubs. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skydivejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We spent the first four nights of our honeymoon at Impala Camp and could not find any fault at all. We received a warm welcome by the management team and our waiter, David. Everyone was so friendly and the service was extremely personalised. Our guide, Gerard, was fantastic. He shared his extensive knowledge and passion for the bush. His instinct to find the animals was superb and we saw everything we could have hoped for!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selous Game Reserve hotels
0.0 km away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
61 reviews
41.0 km away
Selous Serena Camp
Selous Serena Camp
#9 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
108 reviews
9.8 km away
Africa Safari Camp Selous
Africa Safari Camp Selous
#14 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.9 km away
Azura Selous Game Reserve
Azura Selous Game Reserve
#4 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
184 reviews
12.7 km away
Selous Wilderness Camp
Selous Wilderness Camp
#17 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
55 reviews
0.0 km away
Selous Kinga Lodge
Selous Kinga Lodge
#15 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selous Impala Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selous Impala Camp

Property: Selous Impala Camp
Address: Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Selous Game Reserve
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Selous Impala Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selous Impala Camp has just 8 en suite tents of which 2 are family tents with two tents on one platform, each with own bathroom. There are ceiling fans and power showers all run from solar energy. Game drives are in 4x4 vehicles with driver and guide, and we put max 4 people in a car. Boat safaris are on the Rufiji River and the lakes coming off it; walking safaris in season. The camp is closed from end March to end May each year for the long rains. There is a swimming pool and a shady lodge with dining and sitting rooms and a bar overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Selous Impala Camp Hotel Selous Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing