We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb camp experience”
Review of Jongomero

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruaha National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jongomero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Jongomero was everything you would want in a camp. Animals surround the tents night and day. The staff are all very friendly and efficient. There were so many elephants around the camp, and others pointed out to us in the evenings. The guides are excellent and will ensure that you get the most from the game drives. The safari walk early in the morning was definitely worth the extra dollars. A fabulous experience overall.

Room Tip: All the bandas are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabado113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Thank you Sabado113 for your review - sounds like you enjoyed both drives and walks in Ruaha and we would love to host you again - come abck and see us again soon!

SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Flying in from Siwandu we had high expectations of Ruaha and Jongomero from other travellers we'd met who'd been previously.
After the relentless heat of Siwandu the somewhat cooler altitude of Ruaha was a welcome change. Like Siwandu though, the welcome from Emiel, Aidan and team was marvellous. I won't spoil it for anyone thinking of going, but suffice to say you will start with a big smile.
Special thanks and mention to Kim (our friendly, professional field guide who shared so much knowledge with us), and Joseph and Shem in the hosting team whose diligent, friendly service at the bar and table was great. We enjoyed chatting with them both greatly.
The tented rooms are enormous and very well appointed with lovely handmade furniture, lovely toiletries and have fantastic views.
We particularly appreciated the little touches each day - hot/cold towels + snifters after the drives, the lovely snacks with coffee and sundowners - which I forgot to mention for Siwandu too, but for which both are worthy of praise.
The food at Jongomero was really outstanding, every dish and bread roll made freshly and with care. You can tell the chef and kitchen team really love food as what they send out for the guests is exceptional given their remote location.
Of course the safari experience is jaw-dropping, I never thought I'd get so close to big game and thanks to Kim we saw (almost) everything we'd hoped to (those damned elusive Leopard!).
One thing I will say is beware the Tsetse flies - Mosi Guard really helps, but you do need to apply regularly and choose your clothing colour carefully. Sitting in the back of the truck is the worst location, so make sure you grab a swisher for when you're in areas that they frequent (the guides will let you know).
Don't be put off though, Ruaha is a spectacular location with amazing wildlife and Jongomero's a top class place to stay to experience it from.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank TJF1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Thank you so much for your terrific review of Jongomero - we appreciate you taking the time to post - we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed all aspects of our camp, area of Ruaha and our staff in particular

Karibu tena
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

The nearest camp to Jongomero is over 50km away so we never saw another vehicle or person when out on game drives, The vegetation is denser here that many areas of Tanzania which means no Rhinos, no cheetahs or wildebeast. However, this just makes for a different experience with countless hippos, elephants, crocodiles, buffalo mammals and fantastic birds. Much of the wildlife was close to the river at this time of year so there are many tracks leading to stretches of river when the grass is green and spotting is excellent. One of our objectives was to see wild dog but they have not been seen here at all this year but that is nature! There was a den near the camp in 2013 when they saw them every day for 2 months but virtually nothing since. A pity but that didn't diminish the experience. If you want to try a lovely camp but in a remote area then try it (it even has its own airstrip). The tents are great (this is proper glamping) and each night we ate dinner in a different location including the middle of a dry river bed with oil lamps and candles.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peterindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Thank you Peter in Devon for your lovely review of the camp and of the remoteness of our wilderness - yes the endangered Wild Dog are tricky to see - with less that 7000 left in the whole world its wonderful to catch a glimpse. Jongomero's sister camp, Siwandu is the best place to see them as Selous Game Reserve has the globe's largest population of Wild Dog - visit soon!

Karibu tena
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

We had a 5 night stay here in this remote camp. It is small but big in terms of what you see. The bandas are well appointed and situated on the river bank with a herd of elephants often crossing to and fro right outside your banda. The guides, management and staff are excellent and there is good attention to detail. The guides are enthusiastic and share their expert knowledge with you. Fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AST203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review of Jongomero - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay

Karibu tena
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile

Just had the best time at Jongomero- couldn't rate it highly enough. Staff, food, environment, accommodation all absolutely perfect. Thanks to everyone- Chris, Sam
, Mashaka, Kim, Joseph, Christian, Shem and all the others who helped make our stay magical. I will never forget playing peek a boo with the baboons across the river whilst in the wonderful swimming pool or hearing the lions roar in the mornings. Just too many great experiences to list. Go whilst this Africa still exists. T and T x

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank LondonHappyBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey F, Public Relations Manager at Jongomero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Come back and hear them roar again LonfonHappyBunny! Thank you again for your review - thrilled you loved our camp and what we are about - about the real authentic Africa and safari experience

Karibu tena
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Jongomero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jongomero

Address: Jongomero, Ruaha National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Iringa Region > Ruaha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Ruaha National Park
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jongomero 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For anyone seeking a true African wilderness experience, a visit to Ruaha National Park is essential. One of Tanzania's wildest parks, Ruaha can only be described as a true unspoiled natural wilderness. Superbly isolated right in the heart of the Ruaha National Park lies Jongomero on the banks of a seasonal sand river which bears the same name. Blending in beautifully with its surroundings the camp is tucked away among some shady riverine vegetation not far from permanent water therefore attracting a large amount of animals into the camp area. Being the only camp situated in this area of the park ensures unmatched privacy and a true wilderness experience. The camp is made up of 8 stunning suites, spaced out along the Jongomero sandriver. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jongomero Camp Hotel Ruaha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing