We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
173
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdry river bedwelcome songgame drivesthe riverdry seasontsetse flieschef davidother campshis teamherd of elephantslong sleevesevery member of staffbeautiful wildernessremote placethree nightsan excellent guidehis knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2012

If you never knew, this is where the middle of nowhere is - no phones, no internet (although broadband was on the way) and an intoxicating mix of nature's sounds. The tents are big, well-appointed and have views of the river. The staff are excellent and are expertly managed by Molly (Andrew to his Mum) and Noelle, the managers of the camp. We went as a family and spent 4 days there and enjoyed every minute. Kim, our driver/guide, was exceptional and made every trip out (morning and afternoon) a new experience. His knowledge was second to none, and if he didn't know the answer there and then, would take the trouble to find out and then come and tell you. We were lucky and saw just about everything, including a pride of lions with very young cubs. The food was first class and they will cater for everyone, as long as you let them know. Be aware of one thing - on the safaris, the tse-tse flies are a nuisance (but not dangerous), so cover up and make sure you have industrial grade insect repellent. The camp does not have a problem with tse-tse. This is the only place to stay in Ruaha National Park and we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NRSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

If you are looking for total isolation, no other vehicles, a beautiful camp, a manager that is the complete encyclopaedia of the game and ways of Africa, then look no further. Molly and partner Noelle make first class and very informative hosts. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, the décor stunning. The only down side to the unit was the location of the WC within the tents, we think it would be better located anywhere other than its current spot which is in full view of the main tent area. We were led to believe that the camp location was such that seeing the various game would be difficult, this for us was certainly not the case. Our ranger, Modest was aptly named. His depth of knowledge was without parallel but in his quest to find the cats of the bush he would often forget that all the other animals provide an interest to those that are not frequent bush visitors. The one down side for us was when comparing eating with the other camps we had visited in Tanzania, the food was served in great locations but in a slightly school dinner style. The meat was with some surprise tough to say the least. All that said Jongomero is a great place to visit and see the Africa of old, the one not yet ruined by hoards of tourists.

Room Tip: Every room here is a joy and the rangers escort you to your tent after dinner, the camp being un-fenced and regularly visited by elephant, lion and hippo.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MalmesburyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Traveling to Tanzania was our 3rd Safari with kids. After visiting 6 different locations in Kenya we were looking for something unique, remote and wild. Jongomero is just that. By far the best location, bar far the most remote and truely wild place we have ever seen. And by far the most elegantly understated luxury camp. But here is the best part: The managers Molly and Noelle were absolutely fantastic. Molly being lightyears ahead of any guide in knowledge, interest and storytelling. Noelle being the most charming combination of host and open minded, world travelling bush girl. And our kids loved her and their games while me and my wife were bush walking with Molly. And what walks! We will for sure come back and we are already looking forward! Thanks to everybody at Jongomero! And the game? It's all there. Up close :-)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MortenChristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Jongomero Camp in Ruaha National Park was the fifth of six stops in our safari tour of Tanzania, and it was our favourite. That is saying a lot considering that we were absolutely enthralled with all of the other places. The camp itself is very luxurious. The tents were comfortable and it was quite wonderful to sit out on our veranda and watch Mother and Teresa (the two camp elephants) as they ate and wandered around on the dry riverbed in front of us. The tents are not only comfortable and spotless, they are individually situated so that you have the impression that you are alone in the wilderness. The food at this camp is quite delicious. Coffee or tea and a snack is always part of the wake-up call, then breakfast is served in the dining room. Lunch, after the morning game drive, is served family style around a large table over-looking the riverbed. This was enjoyable with lots of conversation among travelers from all over the world. Dinner was quite amazing and served by firelight on the dry riverbed in front of the camp.
Everything above sounds wonderful but honestly the basics could be used to describe any of the camps we stayed at in Tanzania. There are, however, three things that totally set this camp apart from all others and are the reasons why I would recommend a visit here above all others. Firstly, Ruaha National park where this camp is situated is true wilderness. The ONLY vehicle you will see on your safari is another one from Jongomero if you happen to be in the same area. It is, for instance, a two day journey for the camp staff to go by vehicle to the nearest village to shop for food. So when you go on a game drive you have the animals all to yourself. Secondly, the team of Molly and Noelle are absolutely the perfect hosts. Noelle is a transplanted California girl who is now the co-manager. She is the perfect hostess making everyone feel "at home" immediately. Finally there is Molly. My wife and I have been on many game drives in several different countries during our travels in Africa, so I think I can say with some level of authority that Molly is the finest guide we have ever encountered. We were lucky to have him as our guide! He is amazing! His knowledge of the animals is second to none. There are many well trained and hard working guides but Molly adds a university degree in zoology, a vast knowledge of local history and customs, and a talent as a story teller that is second to none. Not only is he a walking encyclopedia in the bush, but his obvious love and enthusiasm for nature and his job bubbles out whenever he talks. If you have a chance to do a walking tour with him by all means do it. My wife was shooting video during game drives and she often left the camera going just so that she could record Molly. I would also be remiss if I didn't mention our final game drive of the stay. Noelle decided to come along because she is Molly's good luck charm. It worked. In one evening drive we encountered four of the big five (There are no rhinos here so that's as many as you can get.), a pride of lions, surrounded by elephants, the road completely blocked by buffalo, and an amazing sighting of a female leopard in a tree.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Razzle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We had a fantastic 4 days here, it made a perfect contrast to Selous where we had just come from. Ruaha is beautiful with so much contrast in scenery from dry riverbed to forest to lush green areas around the remaining streams. We were made very welcome by Noelle, Molly and all the fantastic staff. Our room was lovely, we watched elephants in the riverbed from the verandah. The food is seriously delicious, loved the apricot fudge as a snack on the morning game drives!
We were very lucky to have Molly as our guide, he is fantastic, his knowledge is astounding but its the way he delivers it with humour and impressions that makes it quite something else. If he ever gets tired of the bush, which I doubt, he would be amazing on TV/nature films. We did a walk with him which I would highly recommend, very memorable.
We loved it here and would love to return in the green season to see how different it can look.
A wonderful place with great staff!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilacrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews