We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
15
17
11
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
17
11
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamping safarisafari companylake natronswimming poolstayed herecleanedcampsiteaccommodationguidetentsmosquitoesngorongoro
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We stayed at Fanaka only one night after flying 38 hours from California to Kilomanjaro airport. Our room was nice and clean and the bed and pillow were a welcome sight after our long trip. The food was good and the beer was cold (nice combo). The staff was friendly and professional. This is a safe (but not luxury) place to stay in Tanzania. It is located just off the main artery to Ngorongoro and Serengeti. Options include real rooms and camping.

Room Tip: Our second floor hotel was a good quiet choice.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here the last night of our camping safari. Tents are very spacious and made out of heavy duty material.
Restrooms were sparkly clean with hot showers. There is a dining room and bar.
Kitchen smelled delicious. There is a pool as well.
Never saw the rooms but they should be pretty good.
They will set up your safari experience.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gatocanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I am experienced in organising charity visits to Tanzania and have been doing this for 10 years. I have stayed in other types of accommodation in the area including a visit to the Ngorongoro Crater Lodge. We have nothing but positive comments about our visit over 3 days. We were a large party of 14 people and booked safaris to Lake Manyara and Ngorongoro. We also asked them to arrange a 2 day trip to Lake Natron and Oldonyo Lengai. Everything went smoothly and was of a high standard - quality and cleanliness of rooms, food quality and quantity, cleanliness of swimming pool, hospitality and quality of service, time keeping, reliability of vehicles, enjoyment, helpfulness. Director Patrick was great as were his staff. We were made to feel warmly welcome and even felt honored. We agreed a price for the whole trip (which included pick up and drop-off in Arusha) which was a substantial saving on the best that we could find from Arusha safari companies. I would strongly recommend using Fanaka for accommodation and safari as they are capable of organizing you a value for money experience. Why spend considerably more money unless luxury is what you thirst for. Save the money and use it for something else.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Travelling with a group from UK, we had a very good experience. We stayed a few nights at Fanaka, visiting Lake Manyara, Ngorongoro, and Lake Natron (staying over at the Maasai Giraffe Ecolodge). Staff at Fanaka were exceptionally friendly and helpful, and our drivers were very accommodating. The food was good, including the packed lunches. Talk to Patrick, the delightful older gentleman who runs the place. There is a smallish swimming pool, enjoyed by some of the group. Remember that this is comparatively budget accommodation, not de luxe, and enjoy!

Room Tip: Probably avoid rooms next to the car park, which can be noisier.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

It was a good stop for our camping safari as the bathrooms were clean, fully stocked and we had semi-warm water. Didn't use the restaurant or other amenities but overall it was a good place. I would recommend to all those camping here but use bug spray many mosquitoes.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girbel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews