We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place !”
Review of Oremiti Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oremiti Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Amazing lodge with view on the lake. The restaurant is spread with private table places for meals instead of having one big room for everyone. It really gave a feeling of living a really special moment in the nature and with your family or friends ! Service was perfect ! We loved this place !!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sabrina_devalck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2016

Apart from Lake Manyara which is a must-see destination, this lodge really does need to have a higher profile. It is located virtually on the edge of Lake Manyara itself with wonderful views, and occupies a site seemingly remote from everyone else. In the area there is much competition for lodges and tented camps, and my wife and I think that it must compare favourably with them all. Unfortunately we also think it does not do itself any favours; it is, as I say, well off the beaten track with no signage from the main road, but the main point with this establishment, and many others, is this confusing title 'Tented Lodge'. In truth, our tour operator offered this as an alternative to one of the more 'classy' hotels, and we were very sceptical when it was described as such. We, like a lot of tourists do not like creepy-crawlies, snakes, etc, and anything 'Tented' is dismissed out of hand........the accommodation at Oremiti is not Tented Lodges as such!
They are individual solid walled constructions with timber doors, metal fly screens, and a canvas inner lining to a proper banana-palm thatched roof. They are totally bug and snake proof. The owners maybe need to make this clear.
On to our actual stay..... we were welcomed and well looked after by the young manager, Boniface, and his staff. He is a delightful young man with an excellent grasp of English and always looking to improve. As it was not too busy, end of season, when we were there, we had individual treatment at breakfast and dinner. The chef, Hassani, cooked up some terrific dishes, particularly his stir fried beef was delicious. He would rank with many good chefs in the UK, particularly with limited ingredients and materials to work with. The tables were always laid like a 4* restaurant and the service to match.
The actual accommodation was very spacious, the bed coverings, curtains and drapes were all very ethnic and well designed. The adjoining bathroom and toilet spaces were again very spacious for 2/3 people, and super shower with hot water....not always the case in Tanzania. We noted that each lodge had its own solar power unit. The eating areas and bar have been well designed and planned, using simple materials, creating an atmosphere of peace and tranquillity. The swimming pool looked inviting, although we did not use, and the surrounding terraces again well planned and ideal for relaxing.
My wife and I are seasoned travellers, and wildlife specialists... we have been to Africa 3 times now and no doubt will return. Let us hope that Oremiti thrives as it will be high on our list for a return visit.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All lodges are similar and have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

We were a family of 15 spending Christmas in Tanzania and Oremiti was our first stop. The bungalows were comfortable, food was tasty and the overall service was great. I also liked the location with the view overlooking Lake Manyara.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

we had a couple of nights at Oremiti and were positively surprised: great view of Lake Manyara, excellent food and very nice staff. The rooms are spacious and bathrooms are more than you can expect in an african tented lodge, very large and clean and with hot water. This tented lodge is just on the way to the Ngorongoro crater and the Tarangire Park so you can easily take a night there without driving too far.
Eco friendly, all solar.

Room Tip: all rooms have private balcony and great views, if you are a family ask for the family suite, you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Philosophe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We stayed 3 nights at the Oremiti Tented Lodge. The tented lodge is actually composed a spacious bungalows, well equipped with hot water. There is electricity in the bungalow however for charging equipment, the hotel asked to do it at the restaurant. The view is amazing and the lodge is perfectly located to visit manyara and taranguire. The personnel was friendly and the food (starter, main, dessert) was really good. Swimming pool to refresh after a day of safari.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Titili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Manyara National Park
2.4 km away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
287 reviews
4.3 km away
Burudika Lodges
Burudika Lodges
#2 of 15 in Mto wa Mbu
32 reviews
40 km away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#17 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
149 reviews
9.6 km away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
785 reviews
10.5 km away
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
#3 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oremiti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oremiti Lodge

Address: Corto Camp Manyara, PO Box 12267 | Mto Wa Mbu area, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing