We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
266
24
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
24
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbattlefield tourgame walkgame reserveboer warother gueststhe main lodgewhite rhinonature reservewalking safarihorse ridingspion kopcommunal tablebattle fieldgreat danesgin and toniccommunal diningsouth african history
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2017

We spent 2 nights in this delightful lodge. Our hosts Cheryl and Simon couldn't have made us more welcome....the same can be said of all their staff. Our cottage was beautifully appointed.....bright and airy, and with all the comforts of home! The view from our decking was amazing.....we could easily see the animals roaming in the game reserve across the valley ! Communal eating was the order of the day and we had great craic gathered around the table!
A guided tour of the Spioenkop battlefield was well worth it and the reason for our visit.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We recently had a 2 night stay at this Lodge and what a fantastic stay is was. We stayed in room 6 and loved the room with its stunning view over the nature reserve and Skienkop mountain. We loved the very appropriate memorabilia in the communal dining room. Thanks to Ron we have a memorable battlefield tour, he brings the battle to life and it was fascinating and so informative. We also had a very exciting walk in the nature reserve with Cheryl, this was a great experience and were fortunate to see rhino, it's baby, zebra and other animals and birds. All the staff were so helpful and the food was delicious. The Lodge is quite isolated but lovely and peaceful. Our short visit was over too soon.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Had the most amazing stay at the New Churchill Cottage that sleeps 4 with friends we had so much fun and learned a lot from the most friendly and helpful staff. To think all three of the great men Churchill Gandhi and Botha were in the same place on the Hill. We will be back.

Room Tip: Churchill cottage beautiful
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 240jackie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

We stayed 2 nights - and thoroughly enjoyed Three Tree Hills. Our cabin was pretty ‘rustic’ but it had all the essentials and was very quiet and comfortable. The views from the cabin were wide-ranging and included part of the neighbouring reserve. Upon our arrival (lunch-time) we took up the offer of an ‘afternoon guided game walk’ around the reserve - complete with armed warden! We ended the game walk back at Three Tree Hill with a deckchair, drink and a beautiful sunset overlooking the reservoir. The game walk turned out to be the highlight of our stay - and we would really recommend it. The food was plentiful and varied, and the breakfast was specially cooked to our requirements. We also enjoyed the self-guided walks around the grounds.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank mwD3475UC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

We had a great two-night stay at Three Tree Hill. It's very friendly, relaxed and laid back. There are wonderful walks on the property with views across to the Tugela River and Spioenkop. Next door is a nature reserve with wildlife including rhinos, giraffe and zebra - we did a guided walk with Cheryl which was fascinating: you have a completely different perspective compared with a game drive sitting in a vehicle. The battlefield tour of Spioenkop with Ron is not to be missed. He is the font of all knowledge when it comes to the Boer - or South African war. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TimTamsinKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews