We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
USD 82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bingelela Lodge(Bergville)(Great Value!)
USD 83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Dalmore Farm Guest House(Bergville)(Great Value!)
USD 78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 85
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
290
133
22
12
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
133
22
12
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshappy returnsdining roomhorse ridingforest retreatwine cellarsuperior suitethe cave barduckstandard roomberg resorttable tennisunderfloor heatingfamily hotelour waitertennis courtsall agesplay area
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

We went to the cavern for my husbands 70 birthday... we had a wonderful time and with the help of the very helpful staff all went well... the kids and grandkids all had a great time. Lots to do from massages, pony rides for the little ones , horse riding , swimming and off course wonderful walk in the berg.... paintball down the road was great for the boys .. the food was very good and all and all the rooms was well equipped. With the usual coffee and tea.. so very little to complain about... we will be back.....
Thanx for a great weekend

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Moans11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Full holiday experience.
They offer everything you wish for:
The quality of the food is good, staff is friendly en helpful. Rooms are nice. We loved the swimming pool and the tennis lawns.

Room for improvement: there is no WiFi or tv in the rooms. I understand and appreciate the genuine intentions to this matter. However this is outdated (and brings also inconvenience for parents of young children who have to spend the evening in the room).

We really enjoyed the hiking trails. However the signs need to be updated, since we (experienced hikers) got lost several times).

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Carolien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltondavid, Owner at Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Carolien
Thank you for your kind review. I have noted your comments but glad you had a fantastic holiday.
Kind regards
Hilton and Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

The food is really great. The venue is spectacular with a lot of activities. Had a very pleasant stay with nice walks for parents (over 80's). Can highly recommend this for a quick breakaway from Joburg.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank santjied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltondavid, Owner at Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear Santjie
Thank you for your review. We are certainly a lovely spot for a quick break from JHB.
Kind regards
Hilton and Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

The Cavern was an absolute piece of heaven! Mpume, Pretty and Thandeka were fantastic with the kids and Andile was wonderful too. The hike Mike took us on was some of the best scenery I’ve ever seen! The Berg at its absolute best!

From the moment we arrived, everything exceeded our expectations. The location, staff, food, scenery, amenities (loved the pool with its slides!).

Our two year old had the best time exploring and left saying “I love the mountains!”

We did not want to leave, and hope to come here for many years to come.

Thank you for everything. Your resort is extraordinary!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Robs_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltondavid, Owner at Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Robs
Living here we tend to forget how beautiful this area is. Thank you for reminding us - it is a pleasure living and working here - glad you enjoyed it.
Kind regards
Hilton and Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Once again a delightful stay at this excellent hotel. Such a lovely place in which to take time out, enjoy the scenery and the luxury of the room over the river overlooking the Fern Forest. Good is scrumptious

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltondavid, Owner at Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Dear Brenda
What a delightful review. Good is scrumptious is as good as it gets!!
Kind regards
Hilton and Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews