We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
57
82
76
40
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
82
76
40
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaverage hotelfresh fruitbar fridgeamazing viewsclose proximityworld heritage siteminute driveswimming poola lovely staybreakfast and dinnernational parkget awaymountainschessprosgmhiking
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Wonderful place - average experience ...could have been so different :(
We had to move two times from our allocated room. We booked in at room 404 - no aircon working, though we paid for it (a small portable aircon unit was hiding under the table...) so they knew upfront there was no proper aircon in the room. We moved to room 408...a bigger disaster awaiting! Next morning after breakfast could not access our room! Lock was broken...and had to wait for an hour after a window was forced open so that the door could be opened from inside?? Really...Good breakfast, beautiful view from the rooms. Lots of repairs needed in the resort itself. Must say the management was helpful to address all the issues - without the two people in front it could have been even worse. Come- on Orion Group - you have a gem here - attend to better the place!!

Room Tip: Room with balcony was good
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank petriebotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Marketing Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and are working very hard to make the improvements we can. The hotel is undergoing change in management and this change should also see a drastic improvement in the service and experience at the hotel. We sincerely apologize for your experience and we hope that should you return to the hotel in the near future that you will have a better time.

Warm greetings
Staff and management
Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

We recently spent four nights in one of the hotels chalets.

We loved our stay.

Pros:

Friendly and helpful staff
Beautiful grounds with stunning outlooks across to the mountains
Only 5 minutes to Royal Natal NP
Very comfortable cottages - good kitchens, nice outdoor setting with BBQ etc, bedrooms and bathrooms all good.
Great breakfast spread.
And a wonderful veranda where you can have an evening drink while looking out across to the mountains.
Tennis courts and lovely pool.
Reasonable price

Cons:

Nothing comes to mind - we loved our stay and will Returns again

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Marketing Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Jonathan

Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotels. We appreciate the positive feedback so much as it keeps the staff motivated knowing that the ongoing hard work does not go unnoticed.
We hope that you will return again in the near future and we welcome you with open arms
Until next time!

Warm greetings
Staff and management
Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

It is not easy to give this place a rating of poor because when one is there one is struck by the potential of the place. The sitting area out front offers a view of the berg that is quite spectacular and the food is definitely adequate. The staff are friendly enough if sometimes a little out of their depth, and a percentage of the rooms are very decent.
The problem with this place is, I believe, the management. If there are not enough resources to ensure that every room is in tip top condition then don't try to let out the room. It will only result in rock bottom reviews and scare potential travellers away. In the long run it works out worse.
Little things like ensuring that there are light bulbs in the bedside lights, and that sheets and covers are not stained would go along way to lifting this place out of the doldrums. In the breakfast room there was one tiny domestic coffee machine that kept running out of milk or water. This created a place where guests need to queue for their coffee and what do we talk about while we wait? We exchange stories on every little oversight and easy-to-fix but annoying little problem. The game room is a disgrace. It is nothing more than a shed with a table tennis table, a broken pool table a foosball table that probably gets cleaned once a week.
The accumulation of little annoyances make the overall experience below par. This is a real shame because as I said the location, the view, those rooms that are good and the perfectly adequate dining experience deserve better.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a refurbished room, the others could make you angry
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Marketing Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Trevor

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and we ensure that we take your comments very serious as we are constantly trying to improve the hotel where we can. We have been undergoing management change and we can ensure you that when this is complete even more changes will happen with regards to the concerns mentioned above. We apologize sincerely for the experience you had and we hope that if you decide to visit us again that you will have an improved experience.
Senior management has been made aware of all the issue raised in your review and serious actions are being taken to fix what needs fixing

Warm greetings
Staff and management
Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

If you're into being ambushed by bats, have your entire chalet attacked with more flies than a farmhouse, have toilets with cisterns less sophisticated than Victorian England and sheets with stains-that-make-you-wonder, then look no further than Mont Aux Sources resort. While hotel guests can enjoy a luxurious revamp, the self-catering chalets are dismal, to say the least. It's like you've entered an alternate reality after walking past the pool area into a forgotten land where matching curtains are merely a dream and asking for clean towels is like expecting snow at Christmas time.

The scariest thought is that for chalets with semi-carpeted rooms, they don't own a vacuum cleaner! Makes me shudder to think if they've ever been cleaned. The non-sleeper sleeper couches were also a bit of a mystery. So was the missing cutlery in one of the many chalets we had hired over the holidays.

The deplorable conditions surrounding this post-apocalyptic destination would all make sense if it was moderately priced, but for shelling out thousands of rands for a loathsome three-night stay - it was daylight robbery.

The only reason we booked our family reunion at the resort was that it was one of the only places in the Drakensberg that could accommodate so many of us outside timeshare schedules. Now we know why. Other holidaymakers obviously did their research before attempting to book this negative-integer lodge that is defiantly masquerading as a 3-star resort.

Well, you only learn through experience, and sadly, this was an appalling one. The only saving grace was being in the great company of family.

Save yourself and book the hotel over the self-catering chalets if you also find yourself in a desperately-seeking-accommodation situation. Until then we can only hope they do a roof-to-floor revamp.

Room Tip: Choose one of the revamped hotel rooms
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank frillsandthrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Marketing Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback as this gives us a good indication of where some of the problem areas lie and we can make improvements to the things you have mentioned as concerns.
We apologize sincerely for the experience you had and we have been working hard at making the improvements in service and in maintenance. We are aware that some of our chalets needed some TLC but we are working every day to ensure that the chalets and parts in the hotel get upgraded and improved. It is an ongoing process which we are open and honest about and we do hope that if you decide to visit us again that you will see there are improvements being made. We have also been going through a change of management but i am sure that with the new management being introduced, they will also take charge to ensure that Mont Aux Sources gets back to its beautiful self.
Once again please accept our apologies and please be rest assured that we are working very hard every day to improve, learn and be better

Warm greetings
Staff and management
Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We decided to make a stop at Mont-Aux-Sources as the last night of our road trip. It was a really good experience - having been here a number of months ago we can report that we saw huge general improvements in service levels. We did stay in the newly renovated side of the hotel - it was extremely comfortable and modern. The added benefit was a spectacular view of the Amphitheatre which made the stop that much more special. The hotel put on a really good buffet dinner on NYE for guests with a trip around 5 different countries. The choices were varied and there was so much we wanted to try but just could not eventually eat any more. The only small issue was the key we were given for the safe was not the correct one which meant we couldn't store any valuables. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona_and_Mark_RSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Marketing Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable New Year's party and we are very grateful for the wonderful comments.
We hope that you will join us again in the near future for another great experience and we welcome you back with open arms
Warm Greetings
Staff and management
Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews