We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
157
91
19
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
91
19
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild horses honesty bar dirt road stunning views off the beaten track hiking trails overlooking the valley relaxing stay his wife rooms are spacious stayed for nights home away from home excellent food get away breakfast and dinner gerry drakensberg
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Drakensberg mountain Retreat was amazing... The management, hosting, staff, food, rooms, hiking...everything there was the best...just wanted to stay longer...definitely booking for new years...see you soon...

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MichelleV2980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrakensbergRetreat, Trustee at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Michelle, we value and thank you for your complimentary review following a recent stay at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat. With the Lodge's location "off the beaten track" offering peace and tranquility, spectacular views of the Northern Drakensberg and surrounds, interesting hiking trails, friendly hospitality and wild horses too (!), our guests are able to enjoy a relaxing and memorable stay! Management and staff look forward to welcoming you back very soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

We returned to the UK from a trip to South Africa. We had planned to spend two days at the Draakensburg mountain retreat as part of our trip .After checking reviews and photographs thought it would be a good place to stay . The room was disappointing and in need of maintenance, both structurally and just cosmetically , from simple points like re-hanging of the curtains, hangers in the wardrobe to pipes sticking out the wall. Dinner was straight out of the freezer and tasted as such. It was totally overpriced . In fact we left after only one night . We have tried to raise concerns and feedback to the management but there is no response seemingly no interest.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank danielle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrakensbergRetreat, Trustee at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Danielle, the Trustees of Drakensberg Mountain Retreat value feedback of your family's recent stay at the Lodge prior to your return to the U.K..
Firstly, you have our assurance that concerns raised regarding the room will be brought to the attention of our Maintenance team as part of their ongoing maintenance programme. We take pride in our Lodge and strive to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible.
As far as dinner is concerned, you have our assurance that we have not, nor ever will, serve guests dinner directly out of a freezer! The very many reviews complimenting our home-cooked meals testify to this.
Lastly, we confirm that all feedback, whether positive or negative, is of vital importance to us as it is the aim of Management and staff to ensure that guests leave with pleasant memories of an enjoyable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

From making my booking to checking out Drakensberg Mountain Retreat was an amazing experience. This retreat truly has the most amazing view of "the berg". my only regret is that I only stayed for a short period but next time I will be sure to extend my sta to a couple of days. Another wonderful bonus point is that my Daisy was allowed to enjoy the facilities with me and for this, the lodge gets an A Plus for pet-friendly. Thank you for your kind, warm hospitality. Regards, Youlanda.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank youlandav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrakensbergRetreat, other at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Youlanda, we value and thank you for the complimentary review of your recent stay at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat, and must agree that the unique setting of the Lodge provides guests with spectacular views of "the Berg" and the necessary tranquility to provide "Food for one's Soul". Friendly hospitality, interesting hiking trails, a pet-friendly environment and wild horses too (!) ensure that our guests enjoy a relaxing and memorable stay. Management and staff look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

We stayed there for 3 nights with our 2 year old son.
Outstanding view with wild horses running around. The room was clean and service was great.
Food was also very good.Very kid fiendly atmosphere.
Very ideal for relaxing family holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 881yoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrakensbergRetreat, Trustee at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

We thank you for the complimentary review of your recent 3-night stay with us at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat. With its' location "off the beaten track" offering peace and tranquility, magnificent views, interesting hiking trails, friendly hospitality and wild horses too (!) our guests are able to enjoy a relaxing and memorable stay! Management and staff look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

The entrance road to the farm is a bit rough but we were warned on the website! Overall it was a lovely calming stay for us and the kids entertainment room was great for our daughter! The host was very informative and to the point which was great. Will defenitely visit again!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RuandaVenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrakensbergRetreat, Trustee at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for the complimentary review of your recent stay with us at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat. With its' location "off the beaten track", guests are able to enjoy peace and tranquility, spectacular views, interesting hiking trails and friendly hospitality all of which make the final stretch of gravel road worthwhile! Management and staff look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews